We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility at it's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windmills Break

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windmills Break
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yallingup
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquility at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed at the Windmills break for 3 days and nights. The site is very well presented, with a great pool and beautiful and peaceful gardens. The room and facilities were modern and spotless, and the breakfasts were first class.

The service provided by John, Sean and the team was welcoming and friendly at all times, and they deserve full credit for making our stay so enjoyable.

A must for all adults wanting a quiet and rewarding getaway.

Zerophitus

Room Tip: The spa baths are great at the end of a long day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zerophitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    67
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
245
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Sean and the team at Windmills Break run an excellent retreat which is set in beautiful grounds close to the vineyards of Margaret River and the outstanding beaches of this part of Western Australia
Lovely gardens, excellent pool and good quality food are all part of the Windmills experience. The rooms are very well appointed and have their own patio/garden areas which are peaceful and havens for the local wildlife.
Areas where minor improvements could be made - outdoor furnture should be cleaned daily and the pillows were exceptionally uncomfortable
In summary this was a relaxing 4 night stay that passed by far too quickly - a lovely break we will return

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at Windmills Break last week for four nights, and loved every moment of it. The room was very comfortable, modern, clean and had a large outdoor area. The facilities are excellent - the pool is divine and has comfortable lounges and the setting is so peaceful and relaxing; the gardens are beautiful with all lawns as soft as golf greens; and the restaurant / bar area is a great setting. Breakfast is delicious and the dinners we had at the restaurant were comparable to the best restaurants / wineries in the region.

A very special part of our stay was the warm hospitality we enjoyed from Sean (GM) and Geoff (the owner) - they gave us all the tips in the area as well as making sure everything was perfect during our stay. We also had one fun night at the intimate bar where we chatted to other guests at the hotel, something that only happens at small, boutique places like Windmills.

The location is also excellent, only a 3 minute drive to Yallingup and a 5 minute drive to Dunsborough, so very centrally located to tour the wineries and beaches in the region.

We would not hestitate in recommending Windmills - we absolutely loved it and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline_705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

It's a perfect place you can stay and enjoy 'me' , 'our' time! You can get lost in the idea of hearing birds, no cars , no traffic - its you and the beautiful Australian bush!!! A must of your in the area!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chante_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The service was great and personal. My only negative feedback was that the rooms were on the small side.

Other than that, great value! Worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora_explorer_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is the third time we have been to Windmills and it seems to get better each time. We came for an anniversary celebration and for a short break. Looked forward to it too as children are not catered for! This time we didn't venture too far away from the resort as everything we wanted was there. Perfect weather for lounging around the pool and spa, and having breakfast outdoors.
We booked a massage through Windmills and this was so relaxing.
Had tapas there on Friday night and food and presentation was great. Entertainment thru live music on Friday and Sat... easy listening. Staff always attentive and more than happy to help with whatever. We loved our Spa Suite.
The only thing (and very minor) was that the pillows were immediately discarded after the first night.. we slept on the bed cushions instead. Pillows uncomfortable and gave sore neck. I'm sure they would have been changed had we requested change, but it was so minor, and probably a personal preference about pillows.
Have recommended Windmills to others and they have loved it too. Treat yourself if you have a special occasion coming up. Bottle of wine as we left was a lovely touch!

Room Tip: Check rates on wotif / expedia / hotels.com too for a better rate at times. Seclusion of Spa Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvKatJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Lovely boutique style hotel ! Friendly helpful staff , and the food was fantastic along with the gourmet breakfast. The only thing missing was a lovely cappuccino or flat white , need to upgrade the coffee percolators to maybe a nespresso machine.
LOOK forward to returning again soon for another relaxing few days !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yallingup
10.4 km away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
35.5 km away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
4.8 km away
Smiths Beach Resort
Smiths Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
2.8 km away
Seashells Yallingup
Seashells Yallingup
#2 of 13 in Yallingup
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
40.0 km away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmills Break? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmills Break

Property: Windmills Break
Address: 2024 Caves Rd | PO Box 126, Yallingup, Western Australia 6281, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Yallingup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yallingup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windmills Break 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmills Break is a luxury 5 star resort located in Yallingup Western Australia - part of the Margaret River Wine Region. A Full Gourmet Breakfast is usually included in your tariff. With swimming pool, spa, gymnasium, tennis court and luxury furnishings in all rooms - Windmills Break is a small luxury resort. The property is fully licensed and has two 2 bars with food available most evenings. Room service is available. Windmills is a perfect romantic getaway destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Windmills Break reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmills Break Hotel Yallingup
Windmills Break Yallingup, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing