We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Squids Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
tauranga
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Nice to see crayfish on the menu (just the legal size!) and a reasonable wine list. The staff were very pleasant and attentive.
The steak was cooked as requested and the salads all fresh.
Good value for money.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcalpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    201
    55
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We did not have a reservation but weresoon accommodated on a very busy Sat. evening.This is a small restaurant with a dedicated staff and excellent food.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank colsolare02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Although on the night of our visit the restaurant was extremely busy and we had no booking the friendly staff managed to slot us in,possibly because there were only two of us, and believe me they did us a favour as the seafood was as fresh and tasty as you would expect in there location.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnboy060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You MUST eat here :)”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband and I had a deliious meal at Squids at the end of January. We were welcomed by the very friendly staff and given a table immediately. The food here is absolutely delicious (you must try the green lipped mussels). My husband is not a seafood fan but he was recommended some (seafood) dishes, which he thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were great, the food was delicious and the restaurant has a very comfortable atmosphere. We will DEFINITELY eat at Squids when we visit NZ again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGirlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good tasty food.”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I really enjoyed my meal here, and found the quantity to be perfect; however some of the other members of our party found the servings of fish to be on the small side.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank PPSAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Squids Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Squids Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing