We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
970 Lonely Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grumpy's Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Beachfront
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (131)
    Filter reviews
    131 results
    Traveller rating
    125
    6
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    125
    6
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscooks beachhoneymoon suiteestuary suitenew zealandfrench doorscoromandel peninsulaoffered teasunny morningbeautiful lodgeb bentire houseluxury accommodationopportunity to meetbeyond the call of dutydinner reservationsgreat location for exploringlovely accommodation
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 131 reviews
    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    The house was gorgeous and Denise was a fabulous host. We couldn't have felt more welcomed. We stayed there for a night to explore Cathedral Cove, and the house was only about 15 minutes away (driving).

    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Andrew P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    We stayed two nights here and would highly recommend this high end individual business. It is an expensive option but we could not have asked for more.

    The public spaces are beautifully arranged and furnished and extremely comfortable to relax in. The gardens are very well tended and offer a short walk through to a public pathway to the beach only a few minutes walk away.

    We were welcomed by the Manager, Kim, who immediately made us a cup of tea and gave us lots of information about the area, where to eat and what not to miss, including a local walk that was lovely.

    Our room was very spacious and comfortable. There is also free washing facilities available.

    My husband was poorly during our stay and Kim arranged for a colleague to bring in an electrolyte drink for him, which we were given and for which no payment was accepted. Real care and concern was showed to us and all the staff where extremely pleasant and helpful.

    The breakfasts were truly outstanding, the quality of the ingredients and personal service could not be bettered.

    We loved the area, Hahei and Hot Water Beach are a must.

    If you are in this area and want somewhere special to stay make sure you book Lonely Bay Lodge.

    Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank Suzanne W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

    Enjoyed a fabulous 3 nights here as we neared the close of our month long tour. Our hosts, Denise and Kim were so welcoming and helpful with advice on places to visit and where to eat. Lovely rooms and superb breakfasts. Plenty of space indoors and out if you just want to sit and relax.
    An easy 5 min walk to a lovely, near deserted beach. Very handy for the ferry into Whitianga town too.
    Can’t recommend it highly enough. One of the highlights of our holiday.

    Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank nvmurray
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 March 2018

    We loved this house, it's beautiful and you are made to feel so at home. Our room was downstairs, so had access to laundry, kitchen, all rooms in fact and you are encouraged to use it all if you wish. Kim is a wonderful manager, makes you feel right at home along with Denise too.
    Lovely linens, great breakfasts and even with others staying you don't feel it's necessary to mingle, there is enough room to do your own thing!
    Highly recommend.

    Room Tip: Three upstairs probably have better views but downstairs is fine too
    Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    Thank WatfordLizzie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 March 2018

    In the words of my kids: OMG. Lonely Bay Lodge is what a homey but upscale lodge would look like if Martha Stewart designed it, but with better ambiance, service and food. (Speaking of which, the croissants they serve at breakfast are the best I've ever had, and even the drinks in the mini bar are complimentary.) The staff—Kym, Denise and Cassie—couldn't have been more accommodating. We just spent 17 days in New Zealand and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Please...put the gorgeous Whitianga area on the North Island on your itinerary, and treat yourselves to a couple of nights at Lonely Bay Lodge. The area is idyllic and the Lodge would make even the most jaded traveler swoon.

    • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank bfromlosangeles
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews