We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
125
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooks beach estuary suite new zealand beautiful lodge coromandel peninsula french doors entire house opportunity to meet dinner reservations great location for exploring two nights common areas other guests memorable stay couple of nights hot water beach breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 131 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

The house was gorgeous and Denise was a fabulous host. We couldn't have felt more welcomed. We stayed there for a night to explore Cathedral Cove, and the house was only about 15 minutes away (driving).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
970LonelyBayLodge, Manager at 970 Lonely Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Thank you Andrew for your lovely review. I'm sorry I didn't get to meet you. Denise thoroughly enjoyed your company and wished your stay was longer. We hope to see you on your next visit to NZ. Kym

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights here and would highly recommend this high end individual business. It is an expensive option but we could not have asked for more.

The public spaces are beautifully arranged and furnished and extremely comfortable to relax in. The gardens are very well tended and offer a short walk through to a public pathway to the beach only a few minutes walk away.

We were welcomed by the Manager, Kim, who immediately made us a cup of tea and gave us lots of information about the area, where to eat and what not to miss, including a local walk that was lovely.

Our room was very spacious and comfortable. There is also free washing facilities available.

My husband was poorly during our stay and Kim arranged for a colleague to bring in an electrolyte drink for him, which we were given and for which no payment was accepted. Real care and concern was showed to us and all the staff where extremely pleasant and helpful.

The breakfasts were truly outstanding, the quality of the ingredients and personal service could not be bettered.

We loved the area, Hahei and Hot Water Beach are a must.

If you are in this area and want somewhere special to stay make sure you book Lonely Bay Lodge.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
970LonelyBayLodge, Manager at 970 Lonely Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Thank you so much Suzanne, we really appreciate such a lovely review. It was our pleasure to look after you both. We're thrilled you enjoyed the breakfasts, we source our supplies as locally as possible. This is such a fantastic area to explore, and 3 nights is the perfect amount of time to do so. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to our gardener Adam. Kym

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a fabulous 3 nights here as we neared the close of our month long tour. Our hosts, Denise and Kim were so welcoming and helpful with advice on places to visit and where to eat. Lovely rooms and superb breakfasts. Plenty of space indoors and out if you just want to sit and relax.
An easy 5 min walk to a lovely, near deserted beach. Very handy for the ferry into Whitianga town too.
Can’t recommend it highly enough. One of the highlights of our holiday.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nvmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
970LonelyBayLodge, Manager at 970 Lonely Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

It was our pleasure to host your group. Wonderful to have friends meet at the Lodge and enjoy our relaxed in-house dinging option. We thoroughly enjoyed all your company. Hopefully your 'lost property' made it back to the UK. :-) Kym

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

We loved this house, it's beautiful and you are made to feel so at home. Our room was downstairs, so had access to laundry, kitchen, all rooms in fact and you are encouraged to use it all if you wish. Kim is a wonderful manager, makes you feel right at home along with Denise too.
Lovely linens, great breakfasts and even with others staying you don't feel it's necessary to mingle, there is enough room to do your own thing!
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Three upstairs probably have better views but downstairs is fine too
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank WatfordLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
970LonelyBayLodge, Manager at 970 Lonely Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. A bonus with the Lodge is the separate shared areas for socialising and mingling. We appreciate many guests enjoy their privacy, so the upstairs rooms offer private balconies to relax after the days activities. We love that you felt at home, as this is out intention. Kym.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2018

In the words of my kids: OMG. Lonely Bay Lodge is what a homey but upscale lodge would look like if Martha Stewart designed it, but with better ambiance, service and food. (Speaking of which, the croissants they serve at breakfast are the best I've ever had, and even the drinks in the mini bar are complimentary.) The staff—Kym, Denise and Cassie—couldn't have been more accommodating. We just spent 17 days in New Zealand and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Please...put the gorgeous Whitianga area on the North Island on your itinerary, and treat yourselves to a couple of nights at Lonely Bay Lodge. The area is idyllic and the Lodge would make even the most jaded traveler swoon.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bfromlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
970LonelyBayLodge, Manager at 970 Lonely Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2018

Thank you, we absolutely loved your visit, and couldn't be more thrilled with this review. Although we try and source our products locally, our french croissants certainly are a breakfast hit. We have a great team at the Lodge, and Denise and Cassy and I love to make our guest welcome. Hopefully we'll see you again. We really hope your surgery went well. Thanks again. Kym

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews