We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
45
51
25
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
51
25
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well stocked kitchen quiet location cathedral cove continental breakfast peaceful stay hot shower twin beds new owners short drive hot water beach washing machine new zealand darryl accommodation sink dryer host
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 129 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2018

Accommodation was out of the main area and so was super quiet. However, the town was dead anyway at this time so didnt really matter. Owner was nice, offered extra internet but had to wake him up to check out in the early morning

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Manager at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Hello Simon

Thanks for staying with our lodge.

I am deeply sorry about the inconvenience of your checking out.

We are fixing this issue in the future.

Many thanks

Aotearoa lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. Our second stopover having spent four nights in Paihia Quite a contrast in terms of style of accommodation and location.
We had a suite with two bedrooms, kitchen, living and dining area and bathroom which was very spacious.
Everything was spotlessly clean but basic. We had been spoilt I think by the modern appliances in the apartment at Paihia which included a dishwasher and a washing machine!! There is a laundry facility on site but we did not need to use it.
No balcony and sea view here as this is a couple of Kms from the beach in a rural setting, but a nice private garden area with seating and table. Really nice to have the space and if you are happy to drive into the town or beach the location is great.
The manager was very helpful and gave us some good advice about the area and tide times etc. He lent my oldest son a fishing rod and they went fishing off the pier on our second evening which was a great hit. The following day we borrowed spades from reception to go to the Hot Water Beach. Lots to do in and around Whitianga and our four nights was too short a visit.
If you are looking for a peaceful stay and do not want to be central to the town and beach this is a great choice. We would happily stay again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank chrisjcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette010, Manager at Aotearoa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

Hello

Thanks for staying with our lodge.

I am happy to hear you that you had enjoyed time in Whitianga.

I have also had a good time fishing with your family.

I hope to see you again.

Many thanks

Aotearoa lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2018

A little bit out of town but has the advantage of being quiet. Room was a good size with a larger than normal en suite (shower area a little small). No fly screens on the windows, so live with mossies and other bugs freely coming inside. As there is not a smoking prohibition outside the rooms, we had a person that wanted to smoke outside our window on the shared decking!! The photos of the inside of the room can be misleading as there appears to be a small air conditioner but it is only a pathetic fan. We would recommend spending a bit more on a quality non smoking hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the end of the deck where smokers aren't.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wahut54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2018 via mobile

We arrived and had to wake up the China man receptionist. There are only 4 tv channels so why bother with a tv? Room was very small and hot but a fan helped. Bathroom was minute and the area where you boiled a kettle was also the wardrobe. Communal sitting room/kitchen had a missing tv remote and the kettle was broken.
The place was clean but too far out of town to walk. Car parking ok as long as you are good at reversing!
Sorry we will not be returning.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Culture754123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

We were a little apprehensive about this accommodation booked for us in advance. Yes it is remote and is several minutes drive from the town, but for a short stay it suited all our needs. Room lovely, has its own terrace overlooking the garden, owners very friendly, continental breakfast perfect. Room basic but spacious, clean, kitchenette provided, all you could wish for. Easy drive to town, would recommend it to others.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank menors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews