We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Otter Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Otter Chalet
Otter Chalet Otter Chalet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Otter Chalet
Otter Chalet
Otter Chalet
Hot tub & Whiteface Mtn view
Living Room
Living & Dining area
Dining area
Cedar log sauna
Lake Everest & the Wilmington Range
Wildlife Refuge next door
At the Adirondack Wildlife Refuge.
At the Adirondack Wildlife Refuge.
At the Adirondack Wildlife Refuge.
At the Adirondack Wildlife Refuge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wilmington, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vacation7...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Otter Chalet was beautiful and the hosts were very accommodating. Did not expect the breathtaking view right in the backyard! Definitely recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather D
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most amazing place to stay.”
Reviewed December 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I try to visit the Adirondacks once a year. Eventually I would love to move there. This is the second time I have stayed within the Adirondack Wildlife Refuge. This year my father and I chose an off-time (around Halloween) to visit. Just as the leaves were falling and off peak season hit, Placid and the surrounding area was really quiet. Even for hockey season.

This place is simply stunning. Breath-taking views, the sounds of the wildlife in the background. I hope to go again very soon and enjoy another season (generally trip in the fall). This cabin is not only stunning on the inside, the view from the kitchen looks right on Little Whiteface and Whiteface itself. There is an area for a bonfire and a walkway to the water for fishing or canoeing. A huge plus is being able to bring my dog with me to stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharzom
Williamsville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special memories at Otter Chalet”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Otter Chalet was such a treat! The place was lovely and quite comfy. I love that there was a complete bathroom on each level of the chalet, with the loft bedroom having its own En suite! The frig was new and huge; accommodating all our food. We took full advantage of the hot tub, kayaked/canoed every day and enjoyed a couple evening campfires. It was also very convenient they had a full size washer/dryer with detergent, provided the paper towels/toilet paper and had nice supply of clean sheets/pillow cases.
The view of White Face Mountain seen from the front of the chalet is quite cool and there is also very nice scenery off to the right and left of the floating dock. Then there is the Adirondack Wildlife Refuge that is basically adjacent to the chalet. It is a nifty place and we visited it at least once a day to see the animals (they had variety of owls, hawks, ospreys, 2 eagles, foxes, coyote, baby deer, bobcats, hens, chickens, roosters, geese, an adorable porcupine and wolves!) and walk along the mile long path that went around part of the rehabilitation property.
We were fortunate guests to also have one of the rehab residents as a regular visitor to our chalet; a wacky juvenile crow we named Joe Crow (aka Russell Crow). He would come by at least once a day and hang out with us for a while; entertaining us with his antics and attitude. He would fly right up and sit on your arm, shoulder and even your head if you let him. He liked to be stroked/petted and when he had enough of that he’d let you know with a scratchy “awwww’ sound. He particularly took great pleasure in playing around with plastic cups and liked shiny things (I ended up giving him one of my beaded bracelets and he took off with it as if he won the lottery!). He made us laugh so much and we were sad when it was time to leave him and the other animals we came to know (most of which were caged for their safety).
There were a couple minor things that could have been improved upon but nothing worth noting here as to deter from our overall wonderful experience ( nothing is perfect!). Otter Chalet had some very nice features, was quite comfortable, included many amenities, had a lovely landscape with gardens of wildflowers and was private enough even with the rehab center nearby. Thank you for a wonderful stay and special memories!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald C
Rochester
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Deceiving but Good”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a very good week. The pictures and description on the website were deceiving to us as it appeared much larger than it actually is. The 7 acres must include the Adirondack Wildlife Refuge next door as the property that the Chalet is on is probably about 1/2 acre including the parking, Chalet and back yard. Their were two outlets in the kitchen that did not work and the main floor and upstairs bedrooms were NOT large. The sleeping loft was not good for sleeping as it is right above the living room & dining area so unless everyone else was asleep it was quite open to noise. The refrigerator is not in good shape (tape on two door shelves and a broken shelf above the bins). There was no small beach area as the pictures led us to believe. The bottom of the shower curtains were covered in what appeared to be black mold that we could not clean off and were told to just set them aside in the utility room. How would anyone then shower? Thus we had to use them.
That being said, the fire pit was wonderful. We had a fire almost every night and even one morning for breakfast sandwiches. Ten of our twelve enjoyed the hot tub almost daily. Those few that used the sauna enjoyed it. There are several sites to visit in the area such as Lake Placid and all the Olympic sites and Ausable Chasm. There were actually 4 kayaks and a canoe at our dock. We all used them daily. The Ausable River was relatively shallow and slow moving which made for good (although very refreshing) swimming. We enjoyed watching and listening to the local beavers swimming and diving near our dock. We also enjoyed the howling of the wolves next door as well as all the other wildlife. It was back about 1/4 mile from the highway on a very rough dirt 2 way 1 lane drive, so very little if any road noise.
It is yet to be determined if we would return, at least with the 12 people we had. A smaller group may be better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to many local activity sites, firepit, hot tub, Ausable River, wildlife
Liked least: Chalet was not what was represented
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
Deceiving? Must include...? I'll be happy to show the tax map to anyone who is interested, which shows that Otter Chalet is indeed on 7.5 private acres, while the Wildlife Refuge is 50 acres. There is a sandy beach, which you may drive or paddle to, and as this guest indicated, you can swim from the dock. There were a few electrical outlets out during this guest's stay, which were fixed by the electrician on the day they departed. It would have been nice if the guest mentioned that his family got to walk with wolves, and meet many of the animals at the Wildlife Refuge, a very enriching experience for kids. Talk about a glass half empty.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing