We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
9
14
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
14
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt beds were comfortable proximity art weekend hunter slopes ny
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 29 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2016

I like to ski both Windham and Hunter, mostly on successive days and then I always stay at the Cave Mountain. It is only a mile or so from Windham and 9 miles from Hunter. It is easy to get a room mid-week with no prior reservation; so, if the weather is great, I stay over; if not, I just go home. The rooms are very clean, and the Continental BF is perfect for me! Inexpensive restaurants are nearby. I usually stay alone, but If a friend joins me, we can share the room; there are two beds in each room. TV and Wi-Fi work great; the shower is a little cramped, but OK.

Room tip: Rooms closet to the office get hot water quicker.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASRA-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2016

We were headed back home on Route 23 and decided we didn't want to drive through the night. After passing a few motels that didn't look like we'd be comfortable, we came to the Cave Mountain Motel, and were tickled to discover a great spot with a lovely view and a very reasonable rate. There are about 8 rooms in this strip motel next door to the owner's house. Each room has a couple of chairs and a small table outside for casual sitting. The landscaping shows that somebody cares -- there are well tended shrubs and flowers dotting the area. Our room was quite comfortable, with two double beds, a TV, and wifi. The room and bath were both immaculately clean. Too tired to do much else, we didn't get to see anything til morning. There is a lovely sitting area alongside the motel, with comfy outdoor furniture. The breakfast room (breakfast is included in the room rate) is next door, attached to the owner's house. There were fresh pastries, cereal, yogurt and great coffee - more than enough to start the day. The breakfast room is also equipped with games and amusements, if you find yourself there for a bit of time, or looking for something outside your room. The view of Windham Mountain on a spring morning was just glorious, and I can imagine that in autumn it's spectacular. We definitely came away feeling like we'd had a good B&B experience, and would without question stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2016

Very nice place to stay. The owners are pleasant to talk to. The rooms and breakfast area are warm & cozy. It was perfect for our stay for the weekend to visit family. Priced right too. I'm glad to have another place we are happy to stay at while in Windham NY.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LilMugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

It had been about 3 years since we last visited this motel. My children and grandchildren were with us twice before and loved the their experience and wanted to go back. The owners, Jean and Art, had not changed and neither had the feeling of the place. The view from the motel is the Windham mountain- this year brown except for the man-made snow, but still beautiful, there are 8 rooms and we took 4 of them. The breakfast/lounge nook was still welcoming. Breakfast, included in the price of the room, was hot and cold cereal, juice, coffee cake and Danish, and lots of good coffee. Evenings we sat in the nook and played the board games stacked in a corner of the room, warmed by the wood burning stove. Who would want more- sitting in a cozy room with your nearest and dearest. We will be back again.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank amezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile

Owned and run by a very nice and respectful couple. More like a motel mixed with house part of a bed & breakfast. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Storm knocked out our heat and hot water. It was fixed the next day after informing an owner. Breakfast is muffins and crumb cake with some cereals. We would come back again.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Chez_Rubenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews