We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and very accomodating Bed & Breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Langdon House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My husband and I just got back from our trip to Beaufort, NC. We stayed at the Langdon House and it was so wonderful. We just had a baby 11 weeks ago and this was our first solo trip together since the baby. The inkeeper, Lizette, was so accomodating and gave us a more private room towards the back of the house. Her breakfasts were unreal, so delicous. We sat on the front porch, rocked in the rocking chairs, read and had wine, along with riding bikes through town, it was so wonderful and relaxing. We ate at Beaufort Grocery, Front Street Grill and had drinks at the Rhum Bar, all were amazing! For a nice, relaxing mini getaway I would highly recommend visit Lizette and the Langdon House in Beaufort, NC. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandkwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Langdon House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2010

You can park your car here and not have to move it until you leave. Everything in this charming city is within walking distance. Be sure to ask hostess Lizzet for her special Mexican breakfast--so authentic and delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rychencop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

By chance we made reservations at the Langdon B&B for our anniversary weekend. From the conversation my husband had on the phone and subsequent warm welcome and tour of the home, to the lovely room and FABULOUS breakfast - Langdon House has it all. This historic home has been a B&B for more than 20 years, begun by innkeeper Lizzet Prest's late husband Jimm. Lizzet continues his legendary gracious hospitality by taking great care of her guests. Warmed coffee cups are a very nice touch in the morning. We had requested the 'traditional' breakfast which to our minds was in no way traditional! We enjoyed scrambled eggs with tarragon and cream, alongside a tender ham slice, hash browns, strawberry and mango fruit salad, and a creatively-presented pineapple slice - plus homemade biscuits. Lizzet's family history includes chefs from different areas of Mexico, and a guesthouse/B&B owner way back, as well. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice, and will highly recommend Langdon House to friends. Our lovely large room had only 2 minor detractions - it was a bit airless, though cool enough for the hot night; and our pillows were a bit on the thin side. Other than that - PERFECT!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaleighGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed here for our 3rd time over the last 6 years. The Langdon House is still the best of Beaufort!

We were there for 3 nights and found everything perfect. Lizette does a wonderful job of making you feel at home. Each morning breakfast was something new and special. Everything, including the sauces were homemade and fresh. Tell her what you want and she will make every effort to make it happen. There is no other place we want to stay in Beaufort!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biztravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We were planning a weekend trip and were lucky to find this place. The owner, Lizzet Prest, had a cancellation at the last minute and took our reservation. She was very helpful and informative while we made our reservation. This helpfulness continued when we arrived and throughout our stay.

We stayed in the Constantino Room, right next to the front door. However, the hotel is very quiet as is the surrounding neighborhood. We were able to sit on the front porch with our laptop and books and just relax and watch the occasional passerbys. Breakfast was served as ordered (don't settle for the standard breakfast--try the Mexican breakfast if you can!). We had the standard breakfast--fruits, scrambled eggs, biscuits, sausages, and a few other things all served freshly made and all piled on a large plate. Excellent! However, some others had arranged to have Lizzet make them a Mexican breakfast--we're planning to return to Beaufort and this is one of the reasons why! Someone else had french toast stuffed with ricotta cheese--this also looked great!

Lizzet offered us bikes to tour the town--we didn't have time to take her up on the offer. We walked all over town--never needed the car. The B&B is very centrally located. She also made some great dining recommendations, one of which we tried--excellent choice.

Make your reservation well in advance, as this place fills up quickly (for good reason). The room upstairs has a hammock and rocking chair on the balcony.

Overall, no complaints at all! Excellent choice in Beaufort!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gelf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This is our second stay at the house, and Lizzet is a perfect host. When I go to a B&B I am looking for someone to treat me like family, and she does just that. She helps us with places to go, and adventures to try. If you are looking for a relaxed place to spend with your special someone, this is the house. Also, come with an appetite, Lizzet will make sure you have enough fuel to get your through your day, eggs, fresh fruit, a meat, and hash browns, and who can forget the amazing home made biscuits! The second floor room has access to a private porch, and has a 2 person tub with jets (it is HUGE). Features like water filling from the ceiling, full body massage setup in the shower, make this room a win in every way. We will come back to visit our "family" in Beaufort soon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omteixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

i've got to give lizzet prest a 10 on this one. a vintage 1730's b&b; tastefully restored and decorated; 1/2 block from front street--not more than 3 blocks from any of beaufort's attractions. ......and best of all, lizzet treated us like family! we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fletchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
4.6 km away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
205 reviews
10.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
9.5 km away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
754 reviews
16.8 km away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
421 reviews
7.3 km away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 135 Craven St, Beaufort, NC 28516-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Beaufort
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Price Range: $146 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine southern hospitality with 5 guest rooms with private bath, shower and queen size bed. Starting at $155 Dlls per night + TAXES. Just one short block away from the water front. Serving our Traditional and Hallmark breakfast every morning,prepared to order, free Wi-Fi and free use of bikes for guests. Coffee Only rates available during the week only. PLEASE ADD TAXES. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing