We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”
Review of Monte Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monte Vista Hotel
Asheville, NC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The 3 of us were well-pleased with lunch today. The fried green tomato sandwich and 3 Onion soup was well balanced with freshness. The marinated steak with salad looked divine. And the tempura chicken with 3 sauces was a winner. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mikemarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    40
    19
    13
    5
See reviews for
40
103
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My family and I were in Black Mountain over the 4th of July. We had already made plans to rent a house in town so we did not have the opportunity to stay at the Monte Vista on this visit but did stop by for a visit and to see how the renovation was shaking up. Sue and Barney are doing an amazing job transforming this hotel. The first vast improvement was that they found a little loop-hole to the “dry town law” and are able to serve yummy cocktails at the new bar overlooking the interior patio. I would have loved to have had cocktails outside but the patio and fountain are currently under construction - very close to being finished. After cocktails my husband and I enjoyed a fabulous dinner with four friends. We were sad to see that we were the only dinners that night (we were there late 9:00) but the kitchen and our waiter did not disappoint. The food came out hot and tasty and our server was exceptional. I wish everyone at the Monte Vista great luck in turning around this Black Mountain landmark. Looking forward to my next visit and I will definitely stay in one of those newly renovated rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lal1larson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Pat and I spent the week of the 4th of July in Black Mountain at this historic hotel which is being renovated by Sue and Barney, two energetic people who made our stay special. Our newly renovated room was spacious and comfortable and came with breakfast served in The first class 'Palate Restaurant'. Service was excellent as were the guests whom we joined on the veranda mornings and enjoyed coffee with. This is the hotel we will use when we are in Black Mountain.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stopped by this beautiful landmark hotel and witnessed a rebirth in process. This hotel is coming to life under new ownership and is quickly becoming the icon it should be.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Innseeker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

The historic and formerly run-down Monte Vista has been renovated and revitalized! No longer the "Moldy Vista". We had a great stay, breakfast was wonderful. Walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. We had hoped to be at an outside event but a huge storm forced us to spend a lot of time in the lobby area, and the new owners really want to make this a place for visitors and the community to meet. The lobby bar and restaurant are excellent, great porch and patio, and they are renovating rooms as fast as they can to get all 30 ready to rent. The only place to get a mixed drink in Black Mountain! The beds are comfortable, service is good. Still some little details to finish and correct, but the folks are so nice it's worth a visit. We'll return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlueDevil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Mountain
0.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
127 reviews
1.0 km away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
516 reviews
13.1 km away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Days Inn Asheville/Tunnel Road & I-40
13.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Biltmore East
0.5 km away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Vista Hotel

Property: Monte Vista Hotel
Address: 308 W State St, Black Mountain, NC 28711-3411
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Black Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Black Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Black Mountain icon. Experience this delightful town in an atmosphere of local art, history and the pure love of the mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Monte Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing