We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint and inviting”

The Artisan Gourmet Market
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Soups
Description: The Artisan, where shopping is a sensory experience! From the smell of freshly brewed coffee and the visual appeal of local artwork on the walls, to the excitement of shopping for gourmet foods or relaxing by the fireplace with a glass of wine. What our customers come for:- Friendly staff- Great breakfast omelettes, pastries, lunch options- Sandwiches, soups, desserts- Espresso based drinks by trained baristas made with locally roasted beans. 100% fruit smoothies made to order. Fresh meats and seafood, deli with prepared foods to go, extensive wine department and local products. Free wine tasting Thursday evenings from 5-7- Free wifi. A great place to meet friends.
Restaurant details
Description: The Artisan, where shopping is a sensory experience! From the smell of freshly brewed coffee and the visual appeal of local artwork on the walls, to the excitement of shopping for gourmet foods or relaxing by the fireplace with a glass of wine. What our customers come for:- Friendly staff- Great breakfast omelettes, pastries, lunch options- Sandwiches, soups, desserts- Espresso based drinks by trained baristas made with locally roasted beans. 100% fruit smoothies made to order. Fresh meats and seafood, deli with prepared foods to go, extensive wine department and local products. Free wine tasting Thursday evenings from 5-7- Free wifi. A great place to meet friends.
Reviewed April 12, 2017

The owners, Jimmy and Denise are friendly and knowledgable about their products. Nice selection of boutique wines and prime meats. Great coffee and lunch menu.

Thank jjmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Owner at The Artisan Gourmet Market, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Thank you so much for your great review of our Gourmet Market and Cafe! We are so pleased to hear that you are enjoying what we have here. The best quality meats and seafood in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2017

We had lunch at this lovely market and were able to eat outside with our dog, Sid. Our lunch was truly delicious. Fresh and tasteful! We later stopped for a wine tasting, which lead to enjoying the wine seated outdoors again on a beautiful night. The owners, Jimmy and Denise, were both so down to earth and easy to talk with. Their hard work is paying off. We would highly recommend a visit here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2NeenahTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2017

Back Mountain is fortunate to have a chef who can offer outstanding wine pairing dinners at The Artisan Gourmet Market. Located in this beautiful, small town close to Asheville, out-of-towners and locals should look at their calendar to make a note of these special occasions. We felt the price was very reasonable.
From appetizer to dessert, each course suited our palate and the wine pairings were 'spot on.' My favorite was the eggplant stuffed with in-house ground sausage... delicious! Each course and the accompanying wine was detailed. The wines could be purchased.
The group was limited to 18. As out-of-towners, we didn't know anyone but by the time we left, we felt that we had made new friends. It was a special evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roebuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Owner at The Artisan Gourmet Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2017

Maralyce,
Thank you for the thoughtful review of your evening at the Artisan Gourmet. It was a pleasure to meet you and your husband, David, and we are happy to hear that you so enjoyed the Italian Wine Dinner. Please be sure to stop in to say hello next time you are in Black Mountain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

We live about 30 minutes from the Artisan coffee and wine bar. This is our go to store for Grass fed beef, home made sausages, local trout, organic chicken, fresh seafood and yummy gourmet items. In addition there's a cozy café that serves coffee, breakfast and lunch items and casual dinner. The owner and staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. A real small town find!

Thank 871peggyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise S, Owner at The Artisan Gourmet Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2016

Thank you for the nice review, Peggy! We are so glad that you enjoy our cafe and market. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016

We have visited the (vastly improved) Artisan several times, most recently for one of their excellent Thursday night dinners. Beautifully prepared and thoughtfully presented by Jimmy and Denise (the owners) and their team. An innovative and extensive selection of interesting bottles of wine are available to enjoy with your meal for just a small surcharge over the retail prices. We sat outside on a lovely September evening, but the inside seating area is cozy and inviting, perfect for enjoying a sandwich or anything you might pick from an extensive cafe menu.
The market side is impressive! Others have noted the delicious homemade sausages, and they have incredible flavor! Ask Jimmy for his favorite - he makes them right there in the store. There's an over-the-top selection of groceries and gourmet foods...all kinds of good things for your own pantry, and perfect for gift giving to your foodie friends.
There were lots of people running in for something quick, but Artisan deserves a much more in depth look. Have fun perusing the shelves and refrigerated cases...if you're lucky you will get to chat with the very personable owners. They made our visits memorable!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ktip99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Artisan Gourmet Market also viewed

Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
Black Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Artisan Gourmet Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing