We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
100
109
33
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
109
33
22
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lavender cottage main street wine and cheese yogurt mellow mushroom full kitchen within walking distance shops and restaurants ceiling fan cute place would stay again park your car whirlpool tub called the front desk comfortable room complimentary breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 284 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2018

Blowing Rock is all about slowing down and taking it easy. Ridgeway Inn fits that to the letter. Let me begin by saying that if you're a traveler who calls out every flaw, then this may not be the place for you. The rooms are comfortable and have updates. But you will see some maintenance issues that come with a small, independent property. The staff is very friendly and the property is just off Main Street and all of its shops and restaurants. We stayed in a simple room, but more elaborate and roomy cottages are available. And you still get an actual room key, again, nothing fancy. The evening wine reception is nice, though understated. Complimentary breakfast is sufficient for one morning, but those staying longer may want to consider going out for breakfast to gain more options. Sit in a swing among the grapevines and just relax. It's a small property so get to know other guests at the evening reception. Park your car and don't move it again.

Room tip: Considering upgrading to a cottage and the added space it would provide.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnMgmt, General Manager at The Village Inns Of Blowing Rock: The Ridgeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Hello DBourne,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant TripAdvisor Review for us and our future guest! You are absolutely right about taking it easy here in Blowing Rock. Our garden is the perfect place for that! I apologize if you had any issues with parking. We are right in the center of town, so everything is a little tight. On your next visit if you should have any issues parking check with the front desk and we can offer you a map for alternative parking or gladly give you our spot! But hopefully you should not need it! Thanks again! We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Suite was big and comfortable. king size bed was one of the best ever slept on. Close to downtown shops and dinning. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast limited to high carb options, wine and snacks in the evening is a nice touch and lets guests get to know each other. Staff could be more interactive with guests.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnMgmt, General Manager at The Village Inns Of Blowing Rock: The Ridgeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Hello Ron C,
Thank you for your lovely response. I have taken your suggestions and shared them with management and staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

The room was cute when we first walked in. Bathroom small, no shelves or vanity. Bed was soft and lumpy. It was clean. We thought we were to have a view ponds which advertisements kept popping up after I booked. Parking lot very very small. Nice & fresh continental breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lorio647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageInnMgmt, General Manager at The Village Inns Of Blowing Rock: The Ridgeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hello Lori O,
I am not sure what website you were on but we are one of three properties. I think you may have seen some photos of The Village Inn. There is a pond in the front of that property and a creek out back. Our parking lot isn't the biggest due to our location being right in the heart of the downtown area but we do have enough space to accommodate all of our guest. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Very cute little motel in the mountains. Very clean comfortable rooms. This is our second time staying here. It's a great value for the price. My only complaint is that on both of our visits they have had trouble with housekeeping and had to call them back to do our room. We were gone all day and returned at 4:30 pm only to find they never did made up our room. They called back the housekeepers who rushed through cleaning the room. They missed cleaning out the ice bucket, replacing the coffee, and never swept the floor since all the crumbs were still there.

It's a nice place - I just wish they would better manage their housekeeping service.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank luiscA3158OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

They include breakfast but we did not partake. Between 4:30-5:30 wine and cheese. Enjoyed but don’t expect anything fancy. Everyday there was a new person at the front desk. And they all acted like it was there first time there when putting out the wine, cheese, utensils, plastic glasses. There are 3 motel under the same ownership, so there is always someone new. Also someone is always hauling clean towels or sheets from another location. I really don’t understand that. Ridgeway Inn is small enough they could handle their own laundry.
The rooms aren’t as quaint as they use to be. And the beds were just ok. The bathroom needs serious cleaning on the grout. We’ve always stayed here even before the present owners took over, but not every year. We made our reservation way in advance. Not to happy that we were paying way more than our friends who joined us there at the last minute. Our friends stayed one night we stayed three. And last I wish they would refinish the wooden floors in there lobby/breakfast area. They really do need it.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mawwilson1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews