We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Heavenly!"”
Review of Homestead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homestead Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Blowing Rock B&B and Inns
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Heavenly!"”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We will never stay anywhere else again other than the Homestead Inn while in the Blowing Rock/Boone area!! My family and I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. We have stayed at the H.I. numerous times in the past seven years. Each spring and fall, we return to the Homestead Inn, often bringing with us family and friends. No one has been ever disappointed. After the first nights stay, our friends thank us for referring & introducing them to this beautiful inn. A few things that you will immediately notice are the quiet rooms which are immaculately cleaned and tastefully decorated - I feel like I am in my own little mountain cabin. The beds are extremely comfortable. We met the innkeepers, Caroline & Rob, and instantly fell in love with them! Whether it's the gorgeous flowers that surround the inn or the outdoor "water fall" that is the back drop to the picnic tables and swings........You too will think you have found a piece of heaven while staying at the Homestead Inn!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    50
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
90
179
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I've booked the Homestead Inn twice in two months. The first was for a family wedding. At the last minute we decided to stay in Blowing Rock rather than impose on the family cabin that was being used by my nephew, the groom. We were so thrilled with this little place that before I left I asked if they had availability for Columbus Day weekend, which would be an extra day off for me and the start of the fall color season. I waited until almost too late to book for the October stay, wanting to be sure both the weather and the finances would work out. The owners were able to give me and my son the same room we had the first time, which was perfect with 2 double beds, a fireplace and a jacuzzi. The beauty of this little hotel is it's mountain ambience, walking convenience, and spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms. The love the owners have for this place is apparent in the care taken to both the inside and outside. Yes, we could have paid less and stayed in a chain hotel on 221 or in Boone. But we would have missed the memories of being able to walk home from a fun-filled pub night the night after the wedding in August, walking to Kilwyn's on a sunny afternoon for a scoop of praline ice cream on a homemade waffle cone, and best of all spending quality time with my grown son exploring back roads and hidden trails, hiking waterfalls and walking to Roca for the absolute best steak and egg brunch in the world. The memories are priceless, and staying in an idyllic setting at the Homestead helped to make it so. Will return. Again and again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the same room both times because we needed the double beds. My brother and his wife st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

On Sept. 28, 2011, we stayed at the Homestead Inn as part of a short, "regain our sanity" trip up to the mountains of NC. We knew we wanted to visit Grandfather Mountain, so in looking for a place to stay in fairly close proximity, my research led us to Blowing Rock. What a beautiful town! And, thanks to great reviews on Trip Advisor, we made a reservation at the Homestead Inn. The first thing that struck us when we arrived was the profusion of flowers. From the lovely gazebo near the front entrance, to the double swings by a small waterfall, to beautiful trees and hanging baskets of blooming geraniums, it was obvious that the owners had poured much work and much love into the landscaping. The room was beautifully decorated and included a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub which we really enjoyed. Even the towels and bed linens were luxurious and comfortable. We not only felt like honored guests -- we felt like family. You won't be disappointed in the Homestead Inn!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My wife Sue and I trailered our motorcycle up to ride the Parkway for four days and were lucky enough to find the Homestead Inn. When we pulled in the driveway, Rob immediately started helping me take the bike off the trailer while Caroline was showing Sue all the best places to eat and shop. They were so friendly we felt like we had known them forever. Then to find that the rooms were more reasonable than most downtown motels made the stay even better. We were impressed with the comfortable room, the fireplace, and the jacuzzi. We will definitely stay there when we return to ride. Ron Allbee, Longwood, Fl

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilmer, Tx
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Wife and I took a little "get away" in September to North Carolina. I had heard that Blowing Rock was a beautiful town, and we decided to stay there for several nights. While searching for lodging I ran across the Homestead Inn and read the good reviews. The reviews are to be believed. This is a quaint little family run inn located just 100 yards from Main Street. It reminded me of 1940's motels with about 12 units arranged in a U around a beautiful, flower decorated court. The room was tastefully decorated in an egletic style and was very neat and clean. Morning coffee is available in the room and at the office counter. Several restaurants are within close walking distance. We totally enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giltex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My family and I stayed at the Homestead for nearly a week prior to leaving our son in nearby Boone for his freshman year at Appalachian State University. Blowing Rock is a charming little town, right on the Blue Ridge Parkway, and we wanted to stay here rather than busier Boone, so I did my research earlier in the summer. We chose the Homestead based on its Tripadvisor reviews, and I was very glad we did. Innkeeper Caroline was very helpful and responsive as we made our plans, and was just as nice in person. As others have described, the inn is small and rustic, beautifully landscaped and carefully tended. Caroline's husband and fellow innkeeper, Rob, is visible on the grounds all day, working and chatting with guests. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable -- the beds are especially so. Loved the two rockers outside each room's door -- great for sitting with morning coffee or relaxing at the end of a busy day. When we left, after making our reservations to return for Family Weekend at App State next month, Rob gave my son Sam his business card and encouraged Sam to call if he needed anything. I was touched and grateful. This is a very nice place to stay, run by wonderful people.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneInDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We are so happy we chose to stay here! The rooms are small but very comfortable, the innkeepers were friendly, and for $70 a night, we can't find one complaint! The grounds are flooded with beautiful flowers, and although the buildings are old, they are kept up nicely! And BONUS: the beds are VERY comfortable (we are very picky). We will definitely return if we pass through Blowing Rock!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blowing Rock hotels
2.1 km away
The Green Park Inn
The Green Park Inn
#3 of 15 in Blowing Rock
454 reviews
0.5 km away
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
Village Inn of Blowing Rock
#8 of 15 in Blowing Rock
282 reviews
0.3 km away
Meadowbrook Inn
Meadowbrook Inn
#7 of 15 in Blowing Rock
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
0.4 km away
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
Blowing Rock Inn and Villas
#5 of 15 in Blowing Rock
116 reviews
0.4 km away
Ridgeway Inn
Ridgeway Inn
#11 of 15 in Blowing Rock
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 153 Morris St, PO Box 1030, Blowing Rock, NC 28605-9026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Blowing Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Blowing Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homestead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestead Inn is awesome! Rooms are quaint, cozy, and immaculate! Rooms include Highspeed internet fridge, micro, coffee pot,flat screen tv with DVD players, hairdryer. Some rooms have fireplace, and or jacuzzi, efficiency. All newly remodeled rooms for 2011. We are located in a beautiful setting in walking distance to downtown. minutes from the ski slopes and all other Blowing Rock attractions,including the Blue Ridge Parkway We provide a swing, gazebo, picnic table and grill area.We are known for our award winning gardens and flowers. Come stay at the Homestead, your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Homestead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Blowing Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing