We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You will never want to leave!”
GUEST PHOTO FROM FIRE PIT: JUNE 2015
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
GUEST PHOTO FROM FIRE PIT: JUNE 2015
UPPER RIDGE AT KILKELLYS WEST WING ATTACHED TO MAIN HOUSE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
GUEST PHOTO FROM FIRE PIT: JUNE 2015
UPPER RIDGE AT KILKELLYS
WEST WING ATTACHED TO MAIN HOUSE
PRIVATE CONDO
MAGNIFICENCE
INSPIRING SUNRISES
SURREAL SUNSETS
FRONT PORCH
REAR DECK AND HOT TUB
PRIVATE & PEACFUL
OVERLOOK THE GORGE
MAIN ROOM
DINING FOR UP TO SIX
DIRECT VENT STONE STOVE
UPPER KING SUITE
LOWER KING SUITE
AWESOME GAME ROOM
PRIVATE JACUZZI
LOTS OF RAINBOWS
MORNING DEW
LARGE FIRE PIT
CANTILEVERED DECK
RELAXING SWINGS
LOTS FOR CHILDREN
JOANIE'S GARDEN
EARLY HUMMINGBIRDS
BETWEEN THE CLOUDS
SUNSETS OVER BEECH MOUNTAIN
CLOUDS DANCE BELOW
SNOW BLANKETS
GLISTENING
WINTER PARADISE
BE PART OF IT
AND STAY WARM
'WELCOME'
Joanie & Gary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boone, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MJan1
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will never want to leave!”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Blowing Rock is one of our favorite vacation spots. We usually go 2 or 3 times per year and usually stay in different locations. The Kilkelly's condo has, by far, the best view of any of the other places we have stayed.

We were a bit reluctant to book the condo when we saw that it was part of their primary residence. We were concerned about privacy, but the condo is on the far side of their house with a completely separate entrance. There was no issue with privacy at all.

The Kilkelly's were very welcoming and encouraged us to explore their property and take advantage of all it had to offer. They've done such a great job with the property. They have lots of bird houses, feeders and baths and it was so nice watching the birds each morning. We also saw bunnies and our son fell in love with their dog.

Unfortunately we were only booked for two nights. I was not ready to return to daily life. The view is so fantastic and it's so relaxing there. I think the only problem with this rental is that it seems to be quite popular. Their calendar seems to be pretty booked. We hope to return in May or June when the flowers are in bloom - I'm sure it is even more gorgeous then.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: We were really pleased with everything about the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASCorbett
Wilson, North Carolina
1 review
“Pure genuine hospitality at its finest”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

There are not enough adjectives to describe our stay at the Kilkelly's West Wing Condo. We would not change a single thing. The Kilkelly's have thought of everything, and didn't leave a single thing out. This place is suitable for couples, or people traveling with kids. We absolutely enjoyed it and can't wait to go back next year. The views are astounding. Gary and Joanie are very welcoming and friendly. It is easy to tell that they love what they do. Their hospitality beats any 5 star resort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wandafla
Safety Harbor, Florida
1 review
“beyond what nature has to offer”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent 4 nights in the West Wing and enjoyed every minute. Views are to die for and you can't help but feel relaxed. The owners have thought of every possible convenience and then some. Loved watching the hummingbirds and rabbits. Would return in a heart beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy, views, lovely rooms, many extra's like books, DVDs, games, etc
Liked least: absolutely nothing!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
We will look forward to your returning any time!! We will keep the feeders filled! :-) Thanks for being such wonderful guests and for taking the time to write a review. Much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rookietra...
Charlotte, N.C.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you only stay in places at least as nice as home, this is the place to stay.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My only hesitation in writing this review is that we'd hate for too many people find out about this absolute gem of a place to stay. The photos of the condo and the views are absolutely accurate but don't give you the feel of being there and seeing it yourself. The view from inside and from the deck are beautiful and amazingly relaxing. We spent hours just looking out over the mountains and watching the birds of all kinds that came right up to our deck to their feeder. There's really no need to go anywhere, but Boone, Blowing Rock and other places to visit are just a short distance away and are easy to get to. I'd have to say that our favorite things were our hosts and the views. Gary and Joanie really go out of their way to make everything as perfect as they can make it for their guests. We will absolutely be back. There was nothing that was a problem for us, and I'm sure that if there had been, they'd have figured out a way to make the problem go away. Very relaxing week in a perfect location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing location/view.
Liked least: There were no problems so nothing fits this category.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mdorsey
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations, private, gorgeous, amenities that make you feel like royalty!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Simply stated, we will never stay anywhere else when visiting the area. The write-up, reviews, and photos don't do it justice. I can't imagine a better location on the top of a mountain w/360 degree views. The West Wing is impeccably decorated and furnished, with very fine amenities. Even in the dead of winter, it was superb! Beautiful, peaceful, comfortable....an amazing house.
They even have a cabin of the property which is gorgeous as well. Joanie and Gary were the perfect hosts...they offer to have a homemade pizza and wine waiting for you. If you don't request it, there is still plenty of wine, beer, popcorn... with the offer to have your favorites as well. Otherwise, there were 2 breakfast casseroles in the frig for the next day's breakfast and freshly baked cookies were waiting.
There are menus which cover the 40+ nearby restaurants that will deliver to your door. The pool table was the finest I've ever played on, etc. Just when you think they have thought of everything, you'll notice another surprise touch.
I have paid more (and less) for lodging but have never seen a place like this nor felt more comfortable. Did I mention the 22 acres, professionally kept landscaping, and easy access to Blowing Rock, Boone, and the High Country? :-) 5 nights wasn't near enough....We felt spoiled rotten and loved ever second!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, impeccable home, amenities, privacy
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb2756
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable place with unbelievable views”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The Kilkelly’s are a great couple with an unbelievable place. It’s not often that a place meets expectations, but this one exceeded expectations. Everything was first class including the hosts. The attention detail, the views, even information about the area and site seeing, so your visit they was enjoyable. We’ve rented cabins for years in various areas, and by far this one was the best. Thank you for sharing your place and may God Bless you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake
Reviewed November 15, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing