We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wahoo in Todd on the New River is the best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wahoo's Adventures

Wahoo's Adventures
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: ACCEPT NO IMITATIONS! "2 Time Outfitter of the Year", 5 Time TripAdvisor "Peoples Choice Award". Now celebrating our 38th anniversary. Award winning service, with the highest quality outdoor adventures in the region, at the GUARANTEED LOWEST PRICES! Fantastic full service Outposts, located on or by the areas best rivers. Providing the ultimate in convenience with riverside parking, hot showers, store, catered meals(basic to gourmet), camping, treehouse cabins, and so much more. NO LONG BUS RIDES! We have adventures for the smallest of children "MILD", up to "WILD" World Class Extreme Rafting adventures. Our Guides are known as some of the "Finest Seasoned Outdoor Professionals", you will find in the World today. Many have been running rivers for over 10+ yrs, honing skills on rivers Worldwide and then sharing their skills with our younger Guides and YOU our GUEST to offer an amazing experience! Go with the PROS at WAHOOS, You will WITNESS and EXPERIENCE the DIFFERENCE!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wahoo in Todd on the New River is the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were tentative about taking our kids tubing for the first time. Wahoo made it easy. We were missing a life jacket and of course they took care of it. We offered to pay - and they said no. They said it was worth the piece of mind. They were great. Gave some history - gave some instruction - and kept it fun.

They even had cooler tubes. So funny to see a group of college kids get in with their precious cooler strapped to their tube.

We had a great day and would do an excurion with Wahoo again.

For $10 a person - you can tube all day if you bring your own tube. For $15 per person you can tube with their tubes all day. We showed up at 10:00 am and tubed until 3:00 or so. It was well worth the money to use their knowledge of the river to help us avoid some trouble spots. River was high when we went.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank momma_christa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    95
    27
    16
    51
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It was Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

First, let me clarify that I am only reviewing the Wahoo's Adventures in Todd, NC on the New River. My children and I went kayaking and tubing with Wahoo's in July 2013. For $35.00, you can kayak and tube for the day. The staff is very friendly, but appeared disorganized. When we first arrived, they couldn't figure out where the van driver was. He finally showed up, we were loaded in the van and taken to the drop off site. The gentlemen dropping us off the first time forgot to give us life vests. The vans we were transported in were pretty broken down and dirty. They have cloth seats and are soaking wet from the people tubing. One even has a cracked windshield and no rearview mirror. The river itself is flows pretty slowly. So, it is easy to kayak and canoe. The people tubing actually go REALLY slow. Overall, it was a nice day and we enjoyed ourselves, but I have been rafting, canoeing, and tubing with better, more professional outfitters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Avoid Like the Plague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

My family went kayaking with these nincompoops on Friday, July 12, 2013. When we paid at the main office, we were told that: (1) due to recent heavy rain, we'd have to get out of the river -with our kayaks- to bypass some bridges; but (2) their staff would help us do this. This was a multifold lie, one part of which was that there was no one to help us at what they called a "private bridge." While waiting for my daughter & me (we were in a 2-person kayak) to maneuver our way out of the river before this bridge, my wife's kayak was sucked under said bridge (there was less than 1 foot between the bottom of bridge and the surface of the water) and tipped over; kayak lost; paddle lost; wife almost drowned. It was downhill from there. Don't believe a word their New River outpost staffer named Evette says; his advice is lethal; run for the hills if he hasn't been sacked yet.

When I spoke to some manager type later, he offered a free river trip the next day. It's a good sign of his cluelessness that he didn't refund our money for this near-death experience. Accepting that free trip would have been like taking another trip on the Titanic.

Only recommend this place to your worst enemies. Wahoo's is a sitting duck for trial lawyers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
14 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeffstanley, Owner at Wahoo's Adventures, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Kayaking is an active sport, don't paddle your boat your at the mercy of the river. You must paddle to be in control. On a bike, peddle to move forward - same premise. As you stated-"while waiting for you and your daughter"- sitting in the water not paddling, not in control, not active or exiting the river where instructed, the river currents will eventually float you downstream. In this case into the bridge. We can't peddle that bike or paddle that kayak for you it is your responsibility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Day on the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I had a great time with the professional and fun group that run the Wahoo Adventures! Comedians from the first briefing to the bus ride over...and skilled guides that made us feel safe at all times. We were in good hands and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Our guide Bert was great and knew how to quiet a talkative passenger with a friendly splash! :) Of course the scenery was amazing as well. I would highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST White Water Trip Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We completed our trip today with Wahoo's and Will. He has to be the greatest guide you can imagine. He was very thorough with pre-instructions, very cautious due to the fact we had a small child with us, and he really knew the river the Watauga ... thank you so much Will and Burt for a GREAT time today and Thank you Jeff for recommending this trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancymccallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wahoo's Adventures also viewed

Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
Boone, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wahoo's Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing