We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of the Best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boone
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Boone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
nc coast
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn's but this is the best one by far! The management and staff are always very helpful, they go out of their way to insure that you have a good stay! The place is always very clean and the beds comfortable!

The breakfast is normally included in the price and it is very good! I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express to everyone!

Room Tip: Higher floors always have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NcHarleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    125
    48
    16
    14
See reviews for
113
94
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express with my husband for our honeymoon. The hotel looked beautiful from the outside and I was excited because it was in a good location to shops and restaurants and even a Walmart. The rooms were very nice and clean, did appear that one of the pillows in the room was already used, pillowcase did not appear to be crisp and fresh. The room was equipped with everything we needed to that we would not have to leave the room being that it was our honeymoon, Jacuzzi tub, refrigerator, microwave, and wifi. The complimentary breakfast was ok, just think some items should change when people stay there for more than one day, although the gravy biscuits were very good, after three days it got old. But overall, this was a very nice stay, I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here just the other night. Property is fairly up to date and clean. I'll echo the mattress lament of a few others; it seemed to slump in toward the middle which is a weird & uncomfortable feeling. Had this same experience at another HI property recently in SC, BTW. Other than that...the room was nicely sized. I liked the bathroom layout. WiFi connection is good and painless. Breakfast is continental and mediocre.

If you're in town for work, as I was, the location is good; if you're there for vacation or an ASU event you might want to consider another property.

Overall, my stay was okay but I will try another property the next time that I'm in town.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daddyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed at this Holiday Inn Express with my son while on a weekend ski trip. The exterior of the hotel appears nice but the inside is in need of some updating. The interior is very hospital like. The rooms are equip with old non flat screen televisions. The wall mounted airconditioners blowing supper cold air or supper hot dry air. Staff was nice. Next trip I'll stay some where else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dinogt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is clean and inexpensive for a nights stay. I think I paid about 72 dollars for a two queen room. The room was clean, the breakfast was nice for the maybe three guests there on our sunday night.
I paid an extra 5 dollars for a room with a balcony. Not to burst the bubble, but the balcony overlooks a Lowes parking lot and highway. The room had no way of setting a temperature. The heat on low was too hot and on just fan, too cold. A thermostat would help control it.

There is a nice steakhouse across the street called The Peddler.

Room Tip: fifth floor end room was very quiet. The extra five dollars for balcony did not improve our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here for two nights to go skiing up the road at Beech Mountain. I would put the hotel at the upper end of the Holiday Inn Expresses I have stayed at. For under $100 a night I don't think you can beat it. I am a platinum priority club member and request a room upgrade every time I stay at a hotel. The hotel originally gave us a great suite (I think it was room 300). Equipped with a separate living room, bar and kitchen. Stand up shower, whirlpool and double sinks. Unfortunately, I was traveling with a friend and not my wife and after debating who got the pull out couch we decided to down grade to a standard room (Suites only have king beds). The standard room was still a step above most Holiday Inn Expresses. It had a small, but nice balcony with a door and the typical layout. Bed and restroom were standard for Holiday Inn Expresses. We slept great. The room was up to my standards of cleanliness nothing stood out as dirty.

We could not use the pool because it is outdoor. That was one draw back as a hot tub would have been nice after skiing. The lobby/breakfast area were nice and large. Plenty of seating and some couches with a TV to watch. Ample free parking and free WIFI. The location is great with easy access to dining and the University Area "downtown". We drove one night and then chose to take a taxi the second night so we could have a few more drinks. We used Boone Taxi which appeared to be a college student trying to make some extra bucks. There weren't a lot of options in Boone. Nonetheless, the rates were flat around town and she was punctual/responsive.

Room Tip: Ask for room 300
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdvisorBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We are currently in the middle of a 3 day stay at this hotel. We have stayed here before and thought we knew what we were getting. Unfortunately, that is not the case. The other reviews stating the mattresses and pillows are in dire need of replacing are right! Definite hole in the middle of the bed. With two people in a bed, it is very uncomfortable. Pillows feel as if there are just shredded pieces of foam in them. It even seems as though they are skimping on the breakfast compared to our last stay. Very disappointing compared to the experience we are used to getting from other Holiday Inn Express hotels. My next trip to Boone, I will stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NavyMomNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boone hotels
2.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Boone
1.5 km away
Courtyard Boone
Courtyard Boone
#4 of 20 in Boone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.2 km away
LaQuinta Inn & Suites Boone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 20 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boone
2.2 km away
Sleep Inn Boone
Sleep Inn Boone
#5 of 20 in Boone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boone

Property: Holiday Inn Express Boone
Address: 1943 Blowing Rock Road, Hwy 321 South, Boone, NC 28607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Boone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Boone
#7 Family Hotel in Boone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Video Tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Boone was recipient of the 2003 Development Award as well as the 2004 and 2006 Quality Excellence Award. We are a five story, 129 room hotel offering: two room suites with fireplaces, a jacuzzi and a balcony; King rooms with jacuzzi and standard rooms with Queen beds. All guest rooms have complimentary high speed wireless internet service. This Boone hotel also features a free hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Boone, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Boone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boone Hotel Boone
Holiday Inn Boone
Boone Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing