We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean retro motel. Basic accomodations.”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Clean retro motel. Basic accomodations.”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We would stay again. Had a fridge and good hot showers.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daleandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    78
    36
    7
    6
See reviews for
74
129
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lady Lake, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at the Sunset Motel not expecting much, but were surprised by the clean room and
new large flat screen TV in the bedroom.
The hotel was booked, so we stayed above the office in the efficiency.
Our room had a coffee maker and also had wireless internet.
The bathroom was new and the kitchen-living room is being updated.
In the morning we walked down the block to the local bakery near the hotel.
This is a good bargain and will be a really nice hotel once all the renovations are finished.
We will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room with a new TV!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Clean, older motel. Very nice owner. Convenient to the music center. No automatic daily towel changes, only by request. Good price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My family came to visit us last week from Missouri and we had a full house . . .so rented two rooms at the Sunset Motel in Brevard. My family loved the old style motor lodge feel. They said it gave them a real small town nostolgic feeling. Also enjoyed eating at the Cardinal Drive In and seeing the old timey car show. At the hotel they enjoyed meeting all the mtn bikers. Thanks to the Sunset Motel staff for being so friendly! My family will be back . . .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 831thop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This is an older property that new owners are slowly renovating. It served its purpose but I guess our biggest gripe is what you get for the money compared to other hotels. The room was clean. But the rooms two biggest weaknesses were the road noise and the lack of places to set anything. There is not a single horizontal surface in the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your review! We are listening. Because of your review, we added "flat surfaces".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

This place definitely served our purposes--my boyfriend and I stayed here a couple times during the Brevard Music Center Festival to have some alone time. It worked perfectly for that! But I'm pretty sure that, the second time we came, the lady at the desk thought we were having an affair, because she asked if we had been there before, and was then very rude. The rooms are dated and the beds aren't comfortable, but it was cheap!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ediblesprysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chimney Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.The Sunset Motel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly.I like the motel for the price and good location off highway.It was a cute mom and pop place. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
27.4 km away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
28.2 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
29.6 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Property: Sunset Motel
Address: 523 S Broad St, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brevard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 2 with kitchens, 3 with kitchenettes.Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing