We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Good Day Out

Really enjoyable afternoon out riding the GSMR. We travelled in the open carriage to Nantahala... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
mandjsande
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fun Excursion, Friendly Folks!

For years we have wanted to ride the train and we were excited to finally get the chance. We rode... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
MSLuv2travel10
,
Jackson, Mississippi
via mobile
Read all 2,768 reviews
  
Reviews (2,768)
Filter reviews
2,759 results
Traveller rating
1,447
639
334
201
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,447
639
334
201
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open air first class nantahala gorge train ride the polar express crown class tote bag steam engine open car dining car pulled pork north pole switch sides return trip coach class the nantahala outdoor center carolina shine
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,759 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We took the moonshine steam train to see the Smokeies Fall color. You get 7-8 half shots of flavored moonshine in the Moonshine car with a great dinner. Great fun!

Thank Cal and Irma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

Fall vacation with another couple. All 4 of us were excited about the train ride into the Smokies. Our excitement soon left when we couldn’t see much... because of the Kudzu! Should be called the “Kudzu Express.” We went first class, the meal was ok. Met some nice people. The host of our car needed to be more personable and knowledgeable of the area.

Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

We rode the to Dillsboro and back again. I will have to say I would not waste my time nor money to do it again. Don't get me wrong the fall colors were gorgeous as was the river views. The staff not great. No one told you what to do, greeted you, acted like it was a chore to get you a drink. We received the cup for supposedly unlimited refills, we only received one refill. We rode inside the crescent car, the attendant was not friendly. They seemed to be invisible just about the whole trip. She would say something about the area a time or two, but you could never hear her, she talked so low and on the front of the car, where the people in the back could not hear.
The seats were comfortable, most of them sit facing another couple, we were lucky and got only 2 seats facing the back of another seat, so had plenty of leg room. The other people I felt sorry for they could not stretch out without being in someone's personal bubble. We had to pay for parking which was just silly, considering as much as a ticket is. There is a lot of trash and stuff on the railways and beside them, who owns this, can we not get it cleaned up. Dillsboro was a quaint little town to visit the layover was perfect about an hour and a half. The people sitting in front of us made the whole experience miserable, but that is no fault of the GSMR, they yelled at the top of their voices the whole way there and back and talked nonstop, one of the ladies also smelled really bad. Everyone on this car kept sighing and staring at them hoping they would shush.
I read reviews and it said on the return trip you get to change sides, we were never asked to change sides or anything. The windows were so filthy, they were hard to see out of. Instead of all the workers standing around talking, why are they not cleaning the windows before each departure? I have to say I was very disappointed in the GSMR, it was not what we were expecting, nor what we thought we were paying for. I would not go on the railroad again, even on a different excursion, I was glad to see the fall foliage, we timed that perfect, but everything else was a wash.

1  Thank lovetravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

This was truly a fun experience. There’s no hurrying just a lovely couple of hours to enjoy beautiful scenery. At lunch I had the eggplant which was certainly more than passable. Being in first class there was continuous coffee and tea available.

Thank vickie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Really enjoyed our train ride and seeing the sites and hearing the history of the route. Beer tastin at the station was an awesome addition!!!! Next trip though, would definitely be in the adults only car - we were traveling as a couples trip and too many kids and talking and entertaining of the children was disturbing the relaxing ride.

1  Thank NICOLE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The train was kinda nice but very cramped. The scenery was not so great because we passed alot of campgrounds,businesses and scrap yards. I was looking for more of a mountain scenery. I guess I came at the wrong time of the year.

Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Really enjoyable afternoon out riding the GSMR. We travelled in the open carriage to Nantahala Gorge and visitor centre. We chose the open carriage as we felt it would offer the best views and photo opportunities and were not disappointed. Yes you see more one side than the other but all were happy to swap on the way back so everyone had the chance to see best views. Stopped for 50mins at the outdoor centre. Not too much to see there in the time available but at least a chance to stretch your legs. Overall enjoyed the trip.

Thank mandjsande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

For years we have wanted to ride the train and we were excited to finally get the chance. We rode Crown Level which included refillable mugs. An attendant made rounds to fill your mug with soft drinks, sweet tea and lemonade or you could go to the cafe car and fill your own. It’s great having a usable souvenir! Our seats were comfortable and the large picture windows are great for viewing the beautiful passing scenery! The seats face each other so as a couple we enjoyed visiting our co-travelers. The biggest disappointment was the return trip we remained in our same seats. From the way the website read, we understood it as the crew would encourage everyone to switch sides. This did not occur so we missed some great views of the opposite side - although we did experience some from the tiny windows in the cafe car.

Our trip took us to Dillsboro which is a very cute town. There are many stores including some nice antique stores. Several restaurants are also available with varied options for all tastes. I do recommend going straight to your dining location if this is on your agenda since the restaurants can fill quickly. We had a nice leisurely lunch at Kosta’s and still had time to browse many stores and grab ice cream before reboarding the train.

Next time I hope we can go on the Nantahala route, so yes, we will do this again!

Thank MSLuv2travel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

1st Class is the way to go on any of these excursions. Staff very helpful & knowledgeable. Great food, excellent wine, terrific service. Well worth the price. An experience you will never forget.

Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We caught the train in Dillsboro, NC not Bryson City ... one of several special outings that leave from Dillsboro. About a 4 hour, 40 mile trip. Was hoping to see some fall foliage, but looks like we missed it by a week or so. Nice SLOW trip along the Natahalia River ... relaxing but nothing outstanding. Nice to have actually traveled on the train in the original passenger cars ... seats were comfortable. A little pricey but nice.

Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews