We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Relaxing way to view the countryside

Booked a mid-October trip to see the fall foliage in the Smokey Mountains. The ride was enjoyable... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Chris E
,
Greenville, South Carolina
The adult in you? It's okay. The child in you? Wonderful!

Riding the Polar Express with the Great Smoky Mtn. Railroad is a two-fold experience. Get your... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
doublegdawg
,
Winder, GA
Read all 2,793 reviews
  
Reviews (2,793)
Filter reviews
2,793 results
Traveller rating
1,464
644
342
204
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,464
644
342
204
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open air first class nantahala gorge train ride crown class the polar express tote bag open car dining car steam engine pulled pork switch sides north pole return trip coach class carolina shine moonshine experience
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 2,793 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

We went on GSMR today, we were in the Nantahala car which is an open air car. Nancy was our server, she did a fantastic job! The views were amazing to see. Nancy did a great job giving us information as we passed sites, which kept it interesting. The food and drinks served on the train were a very pleasant surprise. We will be visiting GSMR again soon.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank chassybaby1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our Nantahala Gorge train ride. Our "tour guide", Steve Becker, was great -- funny and informative! Full service hot lunch was delicious, as was our specialty coffee drink in the take-home Smoky Mountain Railroad coffee mug. Learned of many historical facts along the way, points of interest being mentioned. Loved our stop at Nantahala Outdoor Center, where, among other things, you can walk across the Appalachian Trail! Very relaxing trip. Leave some time to enjoy the lovely town of Bryson City. Would go again.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2018

This was an awesome experience from get go. Parking and ticket pick up was so easy as well as boarding. Choosing Premium Gondola seating everything we needed for the day was provided. Views on our side going out were beautiful however on the way back we were ask to switch sides so the rest could enjoy as well which was a great idea. This way everyone on board could enjoy the scenery without having to go from side to side. Our car server was the best, Renee kept everyone's cup filled with liquid as well as any other need along with lots of information. Lunch was out of this world delicious. What a great day with our Grandson and his wife.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank spsretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018

Our family had a wonderful day on our train Ride. Wonderful views, and lunch was great! Our server was Nancy and she was very friendly and attentive.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank wwhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018

I had the pleasure of enjoying a steam train excursion through the Nantahala Gorge for my birthday. My husband and I enjoyed the first class dining and travel commentary, but next time I would prefer being in a car that is out in the open to really enjoy the steam train experience. There is also a gift shop and museum at the depot if you would like to take home a souvenir.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews