We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful to see!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Hatteras Lighthouse

Cape Hatteras Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The nation's tallest lighthouse was moved to a different location to preserve it.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful to see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Park Ranger Lady in the store was very helpful in filling us in on the details. Stairs were closed, so we did nt get to climb it. Next time!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank OakIslandKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,343
    367
    51
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“This is one of the best lighthouses on the east coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This lighthouse is one of the biggest in the United States. The fact that it was moved in 1999 from it original location a little over half a mile to it's location now, makes it even more impressive. This is a not to miss stop

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank teddybr218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Julie, Quebec
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the climb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse was definately a highlight of our trip to the Outer Banks. The view from the top is amazing, and if you are into engineering feats, the story of how they moved the lighthouse while upright it is very impressive (you can watch the videos at the site). There are several buildings with great displays around the lighthouse too, some explaining why the Outer Banks is considered the Graveyard of the Atlantic.

Only one piece of information that may be helpful to some: I wanted to climb with our 5 month old in a baby carrier and we were not allowed. I can understand, and it was OK because we were told before we bought tickets. But unfortunately, it meant that my husband didn't get to see the great view from the top.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Impressive - Not as Enjoyable on Busy Summer Days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I have visited the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse in each of the four seasons during the past 20 years. The most recent visit was in June 2011. The park service staff was attentive in spite of the large crowds and visitors were surprisingly patient in waiting their turn to ask questions.

The setting is large enough to allow good diagonal vistas from the parking lot and the lightkeepers museum, which is housed in the Assistant Lightkeepers Quarters. This museum is one of the larger museums at a Park Service site. It includes artifacts from WW II submarines that patrolled the Atlantic Coast. The view of the top of the lighthouse from the beach is nice.

One of the most impressive views is from the monument at the base of the lighthouse's original location. It gives you the full perspective of how far inland this structure was moved. The monument has stones from the original foundations in a circle. The names of the lightkeepers and their years of service are engraved on the stones. I rarely see people at this monument, but it is one of my favorite sites.

There is a small British Cemetery off the main road into the park. The displays are informative.

My preferred times to visit are in April and September when the lighthouse is still open for climbing but is less crowded. There is a fee to climb the lighthouse, but no fee to access the grounds. If your schedule only allows a summer visit, I would still recommend that you visit this site.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank scott185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

One of the most amazing sights along the coast. Amazing.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Hatteras Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Cape Hatteras Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing