We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, affordable, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Lane Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carolina Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphin Lane Motel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
2 reviews
“Clean, affordable, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Very clean and basic family run motel. Very affordable and right on the beach!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpio31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    12
    13
    23
See reviews for
38
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

The customer service at the Dolphin Lane was fantastic. Everyone was super friendly and very helpful before and during our visit.

The beds were a little hard, the linens a bit dated, and the housekeeping lacked a little. Our room had a kitchen that we made great use of for breakfast and luch. The balcony from the first floor is obstructed by the dunes but that did not stop use from fully enjoying it. The pool was great and very well maintained. Parking is limited but there is additonal parking across the road which we had no problem with.

Overall for a girls trip to the beach, great review from us. We spent the majority of out time on the beach, however the Dolphin Lane Motel is a good value for the price with GREAT customer serivce. Thanks!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bass1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

This place is affordable, the staff was friendly and in a great location on the beach close to the board walk. However, the rooms could use an overhaul. They are extremely out dated, uncomfortable and DIRTY! The beds were like sleeping on plywood boards. There was blood in our bathroom from previous occupants and the towels were showing a lot of wear. Our sheets were changed and our carpet was vaccumed a few times throughout the week but our bathroom and kitchen were never cleaned. I think i did more cleaning in our room than the staff! This would be an excellent place to vacation if the owners would address the cleaning issues. There was free wi-fi that only worked if we would sit on the balacony outside of our room. I would recommend my friends and family try a different place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megs4620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carolina Beach hotels

Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

We had a great time, staff was fantastic and I called every motel in the area, they were the cheapest.
Con: Room could use a better cleaning. Ceiling fans were filthy, hood over oven was discusting, mirrors didn't appear they were cleaned in weeks, and TV screen looked like some baby threw hit drink on it and tub appeared cleaning until you looked at it in another light, bathroom floor was dirty in corners, and toilet paper holder was broke. I might look a bit harder at the cleaning issues because that is what I do for a living, the attendents should be looking closer at these issues as well because they pay the cleaning ladies to clean. Sheets were fresh and clean. overall.. would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drivinmebonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

The best part was the private balcony that looked right at the beach. The room was clean, there was plenty of parking and we could walk to local restaurants (Britts donuts is on the boardwalk).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetogoplaces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

I was a little worried when we booked for the first time at Dolphin Lane after reading the reviews but let me tell you no one could find a more beautiful place. The view from our 2nd floor kitchenette was outstanding! You couldn't ask for nicer people!!!!!!! It is a mom and pop, a little worn about the edges but extremely clean. We found the beds comfortable and slept like babies with the door open on the spacious balcony, listening to the waves roll in! People have complained about musty smells and bugs, but we had no problem with either. Come on, its the coast and North Carolina, what do you expect?If you're looking for resort, go somewhere else and leave this great place, with the nicest peple in the world for us !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onieNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viriginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Yes, Dolphin Lane Motel is older and the parking lot is very tight but our room was clean and has great easy access to the beach. The beds are hard and we brougt our own pillows. We stayed in room 104 which is on the side with a kitchenette that was more spacious than I expected. The staff was very friendly. I would stay again, we had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0vemyhusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
1.9 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
0.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
0.2 km away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#12 of 19 in Carolina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Lane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Lane Motel

Property: Dolphin Lane Motel
Address: 318 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428-6113
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Carolina Beach
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Dolphin Lane Hotel Carolina Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing