We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (924)
Filter reviews
924 results
Traveller rating
745
101
34
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
745
101
34
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews herons restaurant four seasons turn down service lake view umstead state park steam room soaking tub small lake room service sas campus bar lounge north carolina rooms are beautiful five star hotel in room dining bottled water pleasure of staying
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 924 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our group of seven arrived via local shuttle service and we were greeted by the friendly door staff. Front desk and Concierge shared checking us in so it was expeditious. They also reserved us a shuttle to dinner that night and looked up the weather for us. The room was beautiful! The bed is incredibly comfortable, so are the pillows! The bathroom is very spacious with a separate section for shower stall and toilet, with double doors to close it off from rest of the room. The tub is super deep and luxurious and the shower stall doesn't leak onto the floor ... which often happens at other hotels. Very spacious and beautiful. Room was very quiet and dark. Had a great sleep, which often doesn't happen at hotels. Turn-down service was a nice treat. We didn't use the spa but I'd go back even if it didn't have a spa. Only drawback to this hotel is that it's a bit remote so there isn't much within walking distance. I highly recommend staying here and hope to do so again some day!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VacaLover2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All food excellent. Room comfy. Kristin at the bar extraordinary service!!!
The espresso machines in the room are great.

One complaint. Decaf coffee is not really decaf, I stayed there five days, three of which had one cup of their “decaf” nesspresso coffe and felt really bad because it was not decaf

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Jmvillafana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Everything was excellent. The staff in every part of the hotel was exceptional. We made full use of the hotel, the spa, the grounds, the staff, the restaurants and the room. The suite we had was spacious,,always clean and very comfortable. The concierge's were very helpful and provided all the great offsite car services and or reservations. The Spa was awesome! Dinner at Heron's was a wonderful dining experience. We really enjoyed this short stay at the Umstead.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank 3browndogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

I was recommended by employees of SAS and some business associates that this is the best place for spa. It says recommended 48 hours advance notice is required. The day I wanted was th 3rd of November and the reservation associate tells me that he can't provide me a guarantee that the day and time is goo because the guest who are staying at the hotel get first pick of time slots on any spa package they offer. So, basically, if you ONLY want spa and not staying3 you have to wait the day before because that's when the remaining time slots are available. Nowhere on their site does it saying anything about guest get first selection. That over rides their 48 hour advance notice policy!!!!! It's to bad be an SAS manager was the one who referred me to their spa.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
Thank Yardmon_arold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline J, Manager at The Umstead Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Harold,

Thank you for your feedback. Due to an increase in spa activity, we do prioritize our weekend appointments for in house guests only, releasing any remaining available appointments the Thursday prior. Our Spa parameters can be found under the Spa Information tab located on our website and has been in place for several years now. If you could, please let us know where you saw a 48-hour advance notice policy so we can ensure that is corrected. We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your understanding.

Warmest Regards,
The Umstead Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018

We came back for our 2nd visit, after leaving Asheville, as it is halfway to our home. Always greeted warmly, Valet, front desk, servers. Great lunch in the lounge, we needed after driving thru Mickael's 50 mph winds, driving rain, that chased us all the way from Asheville. We celebrated our 49th anniversary; last year it was my birthday. My only dig, is the dinner menu in the lounge, not a large choice, or options. we had eaten in Herrons before, it is over the top. A must stay for Cary, near the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews