We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love this Place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cashiers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Hampton Inn & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I have spent a long weekend the last two Octobers at this resort. We love the simple, rustic accommodations. We love the fact that there is no TV in our room. We love the fantastic hiking trails, the clay tennis courts, the lakeside setting, the evening entertainment and the bfast/lunch/dinner buffets. And we love meeting the other guests.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowdy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Thank you for your recent note regarding High Hampton Inn. We look forward to your visit in October which should be beautiful. October is a special time of year with fall colors, Oktoberfest and many other family activities.
Thank you again
Respectfully
Clifford Meads
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Last week, we returned to High Hampton for our second visit. Travelling with my wife and I were our two children - seven and five.

We had a truly wonderful 5 days.

I used the Inn as a fitness "bootcamp" : I signed up for 1:1 fitness lessons with the trainer at the health club plus with Marianna the tennis pro. They were excellent.

My children begged to be enrolled in Noah's Ark which is the kids Club.

My wife worked on the Inn's front porch.

We spent our afternoon's together as a family --the kids Club closes at 2:00 pm --relaxing at the Lake.

So many positives, most of all the friendly staff especially at the restaurant.

Truly a wonderful place.

That said, it is woth setting expectations: The rooms are adequate and charming. They are not luxorious and I hope will never be.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeandeMontebello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

We want to thank you for your review and the fact that you used so many facets of the property. We truly believe we have a lot of activity choices for families that have a variety of needs. You certainly have seemed to capture the essence of whom and what we are. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to providing your family with memories for years to come.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This is a PRETENCIOUS DUMP! What a joke! COMPLETELY OVERPRICED and NOT SAFE! This "lost in the woods" resort is a want to be and I have vacationed at the likes of The Homestead Spa & Resort, Nemacolin and the Greenbrier. What a joke! No elevator and we had many elderly and disabled individuals in our party, no phones in the rooms, no AC, dead bugs were in the room, there is a foot gap between the floor and the door so that rodents, bugs, etc....can enter your room. NO HAND RAILS in the bathroom for those that assistance when bathing and the fire exits in the event that the popsicle structure went up in to flames was frightening to say the least. THE ONLY redeeming quality of this resort is the picturesque view of a rock face overlooking a murky and nasty pond and the food. The food was pretty good and the young staff was polite. Save the money and RENT an RV if you want to go camping instead of staying at this dive. We left a family wedding and opted for the HAMPTON INN in Cashiers and it was LOVELY!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank smoothieqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Once in a while get do get guests who are not in tune with who we are and what we offer. Sadly, this appears to be in case in this instance. When we discover this we hopefully can resolve the apparent discomfort while they are on property but even that cannot always be done. High Hampton goes to great length to describe who we are even by posting this statement in all of our literature and web site content. “Over the years we've found that not everyone likes it here. Those who don't like it usually want more plush accommodations - ours are simple and rustic. While there are many planned daytime and evening activities, there are no neon lights or crowded casinos. Commercialism is not part of High Hampton's beauty. But fortunately, most people do like it and come back season after season”.
This review in our estimation clouds the joy and memories that High Hampton Inn is known to produce. We wish there was a re-do for this family so that we could have them depart on a very different note and submit a very different message. Our invitation to them stands open.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights with my husband and 2 kids ages 8 and 12. The property is beautiful and well maintained. Our room (Appletree 204) was very spacious. We loved the rustic feeling and the fact there were no tv's. It allowed us some quality family time. There were tons of other kids here and they all play together by the lake or on the open lawn spaces in front or on the side of the inn. We saw many extended families that have been coming for years. The activity options were great... Hiking, boating, volleyball, horseshoes, playground, board games in the lobby, and family evening activities in the inn. We did not take advantage of the supervised kids
club but they looked like they were having fun. Tennis and golf are
available too but we did not do those either. Meals were buffet and
quite good. They seemed to have a theme every meal (seafood night,
itialian night, Mexican lunch, etc. We appreciated the variety and the fact that the kids could try lots of new things. It is like going back in time when you stay here. Most buildings were built around the turn if the century. We only had 2 negative issues during our stay. Housekeeping dud not come one day and it took 2 walks up to the lobby (remember no phones!) to even get someone to exchange our towels at 5pm. Also, during one lunch we did not gave a waiter and had to pour our own drinks and clear our own dishes. Overall a GREAT family place! Would love to come again if our budget allows!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridabeachbum11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you very much for your remarks and we are glad you enjoyed this beautiful spot in the mountains. Yes, families are very important to our heritage and we look forward to your return year after year.
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

First trip to High Hampton Inn and it was wonderful. We stayed in Cabin #90 and while there was not A/C we sleep with the windows and door open and we cool. Meals in the dining room are buffet and were also quite good. Lovely salads and entrees. The staff was the best! Very friendly and helpful. My son loved playing bingo and other activities in the lobby following dinner nightly. There is not TV or telephones in the rooms, just old fashioned fun. Lovely grounds and mountain landscape. We especially loved swimming in the lake and hiking the trails. This is a great resort if your family likes to be together, outdoor and active.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subwayangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience. Your last line is so correct. We help bond families with healthy activities, food and scenery. We very much look forward to your return and hope that it occurs very soon.
Thank you again,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We came to the Inn for a family gathering and it was a complete nightmare. First off, there are NO ELEVATORS, so for someone who has mobility issues or a hard time getting around... good luck, you have to have someone bring your luggage up. Then to find out that there's no AC, no TV, no PHONES in any of the rooms to call the front desk, and NO CELL PHONE SIGNAL. In order to call my husband, I had to stand on a balcony outside in the rain to try and call him. Also, there are no handbars on any of the bathrooms/showers for people who need help getting in and out to shower. Oh, and if you stay in one of the cottages, you have to pay extra to rent a golf cart to get your luggage to and from the cottage, plus any guests that may have mobility issues because the cottages are down a steep hill. To boot, the front desk staff is completely clueless. I wound up standing at the front desk for 5 minutes until one of the two clerks, who were just aimlessly chatted away finally noticed me. All this from a overpriced dump that INSISTS that guests "dress up" for dinner and wear a coat and tie. Um, Okay. The only plus is that the food is pretty good and the view of the mountain is nice, but besides that it was not worth it.

Needless to say I won't be venturing back there ever again. Save your money and stay in the 21st Century by going to another hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank peep_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

High Hampton Inn appreciates the opportunity to respond to each review it receives. “An ADA nightmare and a total complete rip off” is particularly troublesome in several areas. To begin, we are listed on the National Register of Historic Places and as such, items like an elevator will not be seen in the Inn. We believe that we are very up front with our guests in that regard as well as alerting our new guests that we do not have TV’s or phones in the rooms which is in every piece of literature we produce. The majority of our client base rejects the notion of TV’s and phones because they want to reconnect with their family, friends and (for a short period of time) unplug. We do however offer internet in the Inn, pro shop, spa, meeting rooms and tavern so emails and communication can still flow for those who need to check in periodically. The assumption that there are no hand bars on any bathrooms/showers is simply not true. It is true that we do not have them in every room, but when the reservation is taken and it is noted that mobility may be an issue we certainly accommodate those who have special needs. Our clientele is older and we believe we are very sensitive to match up rooms/cottages with the needs of our guests based on the information we obtain from them. For clarification, no one is required to pay for a golf cart to obtain their luggage. We have a full time bellmen staff ready to assist and carry luggage. If a guest wants a golf cart for the convenience of getting around the estate there is a daily charge that is assessed. That is an option that the guests elect to take not dictated by the resort. In closing, we are disappointed that this guest had a less than pleasant experience. Fortunately, the vast majority of our guests appreciates the rustic nature of this resort and chooses to return for generations.
Respectfully and thank you
Clifford Meads
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my wife & two kids for 3 nights in August 2010 & totally enjoyed every minute of our stay. After spending 10 days in Virginia Beach we decided to cool down in the mountings: High Hampton Inn is the perfect place for it! Working in hotel industry for many years, I believe HH is the best family oriented place in North America. We drove about 1500 km / 810 miles from Toronto & it was more than worth it! Staff performance exceeded any high expectations as well as hotel’s food: gourmet breakfast, lunch & dinner plus tea-time in the lobby. This is truly five-star / four diamond property with extreme focus on guest satisfaction. We are definitely coming back this year, possibly with couple of other Canadian families!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VH-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
targmarket, General Manager at High Hampton Inn & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Do not understand how in the world we missed your posting but THANK YOU!
Respectfully,
Clifford Meads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashiers
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
12.0 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
219 reviews
11.7 km away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
12.4 km away
Mitchell's Lodge & Cottages, Inc.
11.9 km away
200 Main
200 Main
#3 of 7 in Highlands
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Hampton Inn & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Hampton Inn & Country Club

Address: 1525 Highway 107 S, Cashiers, NC 28717-4518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Cashiers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cashiers
Price Range: $120 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A southern version of the famous Great Camps of the Adirondacks, historic High Hampton Inn is located on a 1,400-acre estate in Cashiers, NC. This full-service resort has a focus on the great outdoors and takes advantage of the natural setting. A sumptuous Spa, 18-hole George W. Cobb-designed golf course, miles of hiking trails and a 35-acre lake for canoeing, kayaking, swimming and fishing make it easy to take in all that this scenic area offers. The historic inn exudes a rustic mountain atmosphere with cedar shingles, stone fireplaces and handmade twig and mountain-crafted furnishings. Meals are events in themselves with three bountiful buffets served daily featuring high-country favorites like Fried Chicken, Mountain Trout and local produce. A choice of lodge rooms, cottages, and cabins (all with private bath) make High Hampton the perfect place for individuals or groups of friends and family to gather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Hampton Inn And Country Club
High Hampton Inn & Country Club Hotel Cashiers
Hampton Inn Cashiers
Cashiers Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing