We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,462)
Filter reviews
1,462 results
Traveller rating
941
374
101
34
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
941
374
101
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingomelet stationspectrum centeromelet barfull kitchengreat hotelmade to order omeletshornets gamecomplimentary breakfastvalet staffrooftop poolwalking distancesmall kitchencorner roomking suiteliving areaa great stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,357 - 1,362 of 1,462 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Its unfortunate that Hyatt has classified this Hyatt as a Hyatt House and not a Hyatt Regency, but they had to classify all Sierra's to Hyatt Houses. This is a nicer hotel than a lot of regular Hyatts out there. I was in a king corner suite, that although oddly situated in the conference and excersize floor (noisy in the morning when the meetings start) was very nice, large, comfortable and full of technology, have of which I could not figure out (including the Roku and the Keurig (broken I believe) machine). My room even had an outside balcony with recliners and other chairs to enjoy the outside, although the view is of a parking lot. The large shower in the room even has a sitting area, but I did not like the gym style pump soap and shampoo dispenser. This is a major departure from other Hyatt properties and one that I don't particularly like because the dispensers are tiny and hard to get any amount out of. Also despite the large suite, the closet was very small and hidden behind the bathroom door, so you could either have the bathroom door open or the closet open, but not both.
My room because it was a corner room in a low floor was very noisy all night long, there must be a police station or other all night activity location next door because the traffic noise was high and given the all glass building the sound insulation is poor.
The parking at $22 per night as mentioned many times in other reviews is just absurd considering all the $5 parking lots around and the fact that even the Westin down the street only charges $18 per night for their valet. For this category hotel the parking should be half that at best.
The staff is very friendly and again, the breakfast as described in many reviews is tops for an inclusive hotel.
The workout facility is rather small and has basic equipment, and was not very crowded very early in the morning when I went, but I could see when I was leaving around 8:30 that it was very crowded. If the hotel is full, you can expect to wait for equipment.
Overall a pleasent stay, not very sure its worth the price.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for a high floor not facing the street. If you want to make sure you get excersize equiment, go early. And as mentioned multiple times, park accross the street for $5 instead of paying the $22
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank epg_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The minute I walked into the Hotel Sierra I was struck with the clean, modern, trendy decor. Front desk staff were cordial. My room was enormous, comfortable, and classy. Amenities are first class. Hotel is located within a block of the transportation center so hopping on the metro or getting a bus is super convenient. The Arena is next door. Breakfast buffet was outstanding, complete with a staffed omelet station and excellent employees abounded. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyrev484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is a great place to stay in downtown Charlotte. Large, comfortable room, very comfortable bed, granite counters in the kitchen, full-size fridge, and a good breakfast... and very clean and modern. All in all one of the nicest stays I've had in recent years.

Parking was $22/night, and the elevator was a pain (you have to swipe your room key and it still sometimes "forgets" which button you pushed), but other than that an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mandor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2012

The rooms are very clean, spacious, and modern. I appreciated their English shampoos and lotion, and very clean bathroom and spacious shower area. A big plus is having a kitchenette for late night munchies. Definitely enjoy their complimentary breakfast. Great coffee and tea selection, the omelet bar was a big plus and they even had waffles one day. Also, bring your gym shoes and swimsuit! The workroom was decent sized and the pool looked clean and inviting.

Location:The hotel is located just beyond the bus stop terminal, next to the Arena, and about a block away from the Epicenter (restaurants, CVS, and the ATM of course- you are located in the banking meca!).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornwithPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Hotel Sierra has just joined the Hyatt chain and this one (which I got from Hotwire at a an astounding rate) was one of the very coolest hotels I have ever been in. Spacious, well-appointed rooms with full refrigerators and a small kitchen. Free wi-fi throughout (plus a business center with a bank of computers, printers, etc.) and a great breakfast, included in the price (with an omelette station, bacon, potatos, yellow corn grits, fresh fruit, pastries, yogurts, etc.). I avoided the valet parking, having read that it was pricey ($20 for overnight, $10 for pop-in) and parked at the outdoor lot next door ($10 for 24 hrs - $5 for overnight). The location is very good (about 1 block from the Ritz-Carlton), close to all the attractions of downtown and the restaurants, and the lobby and bar were really oh, so chic! Random people on the elevator commented to me (unsolicited) on how cool the hotel was - and they had to be staying there, since the elevator only works with a room key (which I thought a plus). The pool is too small to do laps, but is billed as a "lounge pool" outside, in an inviting area. I heard corridor noise from boisterous folks the first night, but used extra pillows to block the gap under the door the second, and it wasn't a problem. Lots of TV channels, but no pay-per-view movies. The room service menu looked very good also. Overall, despite this being a semi-business trip, I was glad to be staying 2 nights!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enghien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews