We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Place for Deli Food”
Review of Phil's Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Phil's Deli
Ranked #770 of 2,730 Restaurants in Charlotte
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery
Reviewed May 10, 2017

I have been going to Phil's for years and have always found the food, as well as service to be consistently first class. Phil, Denise, Leslie, and all the other staff do a wonderful job of bringing you good food, making you feel welcome, and giving you good service. I would always recommend Phil's as a first choice for breakfast or lunch.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2017

My last visit the Ruben caught my eye. It was very good with all ingredients being just right. Quick service too.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank K6855ZPjohnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2016 via mobile

Our family with two teenagers have tried Phil's Deli several times and as recent as yesterday we dropped in for lunch after leaving Fresh Market next door. We ordered the turkey rueben, roast beef with au jus and warm roast sandwich. All of which were just average. They were out of tea which I thought was odd. The Cole slaw and potato salad served as sides were no better than the grocery deli however the waitress bragged they were homemade.
When the decor is so plain and outdated and the food is just average, we won't be back.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Scarlette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2016

Phil's has been around for a long time and is the only "Jewish" Deli around Charlotte. (Not kosher, but still falls into the category of a N.Y. Jewish Deli). My only wish is that they would update the interior a bit -- not critical, but it would make the experience a bit nicer. Also, if they want to really hit the Jewish Deli experience, they should put free pickles in a bowl on the table for everyone vs. just putting them on the side of the plate.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GingerCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

It's nothing to look at decor wise inside(though the outside patio is lovely) but you won't care. The sandwiches are delicious and I highly recommend the homemade chicken salad which is superb. Leave room for a piece of their famous homemade pound cake.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank DebRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Phil's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing