We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved being on the river”
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River's Edge Motel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Really loved, loved being on the river like this. Sat on my balcony and just drank it in.
Other great things: Their great staff, newly updated rooms, everything clean, the room was nice and dark at night (there is a night light in the bathroom if you need some light at night.) Convenient to everything and there were great places to eat nearby.
Things to consider if it matters to you: You can hear loud noises in adjoining rooms; backing out onto the road can be difficult if there is a truck or other vehicle parked next to you such that your view of oncoming traffic is blocked.
I would personally return in a minute. Really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveLife75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

We thought this place was perfect. The covered patio sits right out over the beautiful view of the river. It was very clean, and the people there were great. Yes, it sits right on the road,(barely room to park your car), but there is no night traffic, hence no noise. Not fancy, but I didn't want it to be. I wanted a nice, clean, relaxing place to stay. And this is definitely it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lucyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

My family has stayed at this motel several times and we have NEVER been disappointed. The staff is always very friendly and the rooms are always extremley clean. The view from the patio is quite nice looking right over the river. At night you can close the screen patio door and sleep with the door open listening to the river go by. It's like tent camping but far, far more comfortable. The beds are amazingly comfy and even with being so close to the road there is virtually no noise inside the room. It is not a luxury motel but it is very nice and I have no problem recommending it to anyone. The only issue is the parking, being a motor lodge it's right on the road which is kind of tricky at times. Particularly on the weekends. Other than that its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: However tempting it is don't fish from the balcony. I've seen it done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelingredheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel is well located in the downtown area - the rooms appear to have been recently updated - basic rooms but they were clean, confortable bedm lovely linens, wonderful river view. Decent TV, bathroom and coffee maker. Be aware it is a "basic motel" so don't expect a breakfast area, pool or other amenities. Reception staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: I would say upstairs rooms are bettter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdeleG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Enjoyed our stay! The room was on second floor with a private balcony! The beds were very comfortable. They have recently updated the carpets, lighting, drapes, and bedding. My only suggestion would be, to get screen doors for the balconies!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We were in Cherokee for the Ultimate Elvis Tribute Artist Contest at Harrah's. I chose this motel based on other reviews that I read. I knew that my husband would love the balcony and I was right. The beds were very comfortable which was a big plus for us. My husband works out of town a lot so he spends a lot of time in motels and he always complains about the beds. The view from the balcony was gorgeous! While I was at the contest, my husband stayed at the motel and sat outside on the balcony and watched people tubing down the river. We are planning a trip back on Labor Day weekend for the Travis Tritt concert. We will definitely stay here any time we are in Cherokee.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Pros: location, price, clean, decent overall look (not overly 'motel-ish'), nice deck on river, walking distance to shops and restaurants.

Cons: not the 'I'm on vacation' feel that a hotel has, no pool, river in front not good swimming/wading, parking is right ON the road (about an inch or two from end of car to road).

For one night, it worked for us. Not sure if we would do a full week.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countess24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
2.5 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.5 km away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
287 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 28 in Cherokee
287 reviews
2.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 1026 Tsali Blvd, Cherokee, NC 28719-9217
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#3 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range: $110 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River's Edge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled and located on the Cherokee Indian Reservation in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains, River's Edge has everything to offer. You can sit on your own private balcony overlooking the Oconaluftee River, or just step out the door to choose from convenient restaurants, stores, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing