We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Suprised”
Review of Cherokee Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cherokee Lodge
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Reviewed 20 March 2010

After reading the reviews online I was really worried about how my stay at Cherokee Lodge would turn out. I had recieved free acomodations from Harrahs and had decided I would only stay one night if it was as bad as the reviews. I loved it the rooms are nice and spacious. They were also clean. You can walk to a little shopping area and there are lots of resturants nearby. Oh and by the way I am sending this from the lodges free wi-fi which I had read they didn't have. I will definatly return here even when I don't have a complimentary room. The staff were really nice and helpful and the stay was a great experince.,

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthCarolinaHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

I made reservations on a Thursday for a Saturday. I asked," if I need to cancel how far in advance would I need to call?" I was told I could call the morning of..."no problem". I did have to cancel, Friday, due to a virus/blood pressure problems, per my Doctor. I called on Tuesday to find out how soon I would receive a refund because they debited my account, even though I wanted to pay cash when I got there. I thought they were like all the other hotels...they take you card number just to "hold the room". She informed me there would be no refund because I did not cancel at least 7 days in advance. I asked for clarification of their policy. I was upset, but not ugly, the "manager" hung up on me. I called back and asked for the owners name or coprorates number, she refused. She then told me "the policy is on their website". I tried to tell her that I didn't book through the website, nor was I told anything about charges when I cancelled. I asked to speak to the girl who made the reservation, she said "the girl" that took my reservation didn't work there anymore, and who would she believe anyway?? The lady hung up on me again. I called back several times and as soon as she heard it was me she hung up on me. The last time I called back, she told me she was going to call the police. I said, "You are going to call the police just because I am trying to resolve a problem/complaint." I have stayed here before, it wasn't a great place but it was okay and I would have stayed there again. I will NEVER, EVER stay here again. The manager was rude and VERY unprofessional, if she really was the manager, because I can't imagine a manager treating a customer like she treated me.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daboyznme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My family just returned from a 3 day stay in Cherokee, where Harrah's booked us into the Cherokee Lodge. It was clean, comfortable, conveniently located, and the staff was very nice. No, it's not a 4 star hotel, but I don't think that you really need one in Cherokee--who goes there to stay in their hotel room? We will gladly return to Cherokee Lodge anytime we can.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank janmybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We booked this hotel through Harrah casino web site. Harrah's hotel didn't have available rooms, and they recommended this hotel as their "partner". We checked the tripadvisor before booking and didn't find any negative comments about this place. So, we decided to go on with our reservation. For the price of $ 60 dollars we requested two queen beds and non-smoking room. When we arrived, clerk at the front desk informed us that the hotel is full and they have only the smoking room with one king bed for us. Given that there were four of us with two kids of 11 and 5 years old, this option was completely unacceptable. We wanted to check the options of other hotels around. We had the laptop with us but there were no Internet connection available even in the lobby. (Later on we found out that Baymont hotel accross the street had plenty of rooms for $ 70 with breakfast and the wireless Internet.) We asked to "free us" from the prior reservation but clerk at the front desk was very reluctant. At this moment the manager showed up who suggested that for additional $ 40 they will place us in the "suite". "You'll love the suite"-she said-"it has the balcony and the refrigerator." Given the circumstances, we were happy to get the suite. However, another disappointment awaited us when we entered the room. It was not a "suite" in the traditional sense of word. It was just a bigger room (which seemed even bigger because of the lack of furniture) with the minimal amount of very old furniture and the balcony facing the busy road. This room definitely was not worth $ 100 dollars that we paid for it as a result but we were too tired to argue at this stage. Overall, we felt like we were basically "ripped off". This is a typical motel which should not cost more than $ 50 (breakfast is not included in this price). There is a gas station accross it as well as couple of "budget hotels" nearby but all the major Cherokee attractions are far from it. I will never stay there again. I was surprised that the hotel was really "booked" on that night. There are plenty of other lodging options nearby. So, I assume that many people were also mislead by the lack of prior honest assessment of this place on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalia05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

My two night stay at cherokee lodge was one I do not want to repeat. The cleaning lady did not leave no towels,coffee,or toliet tissue.The day we headed home I accidentally left my jacket,I contacted the motel several times,the manger never return my call. so I assume an employee wanted to keep my jacket.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babs020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We stayed there to celebrate my Mom's 80th birthday. The staff bent over backwards for us. The rooms have been redecorated and are very nice. The towels are of a better quality than you would expect for that rate. The overall stay was exceptional. The rate was very good! While in Cherokee we will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Stayed at this place for two nights in October 2008. Had a wonderful time.. Was plenty clean, very quiet, decent location. Hardees is located just next door, along with a gas station. Best Western is across the road, and have a wonderful little resturant inside.. Try the Chicken Fried Chicken. It rocks.. Shuttle to Harrahs is scheduled at the front desk. It was $1 each way per person.. Make sure you catch the shuttle back before 11 pm if you don't take money for a taxi, as 11 pm is the last run for the shuttle service.

Cherokee Lodge was a great price, great location, great stay....

To view pictures from my stay here, you can check out my myspace..

myspace.com/cancun2005wv

They are under Smoky Mountains

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ggmay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.1 km away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#5 of 28 in Cherokee
238 reviews
3.2 km away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#23 of 28 in Cherokee
288 reviews
3.1 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
0.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
3.6 km away
Smoky Mountain Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherokee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Lodge

Address: 1593 Acquoni Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-6477
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range: $82 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherokee Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cherokee Lodge is located on the Cherokee Reservation less than two miles from the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.We are only 2.5 Miles to Harrah's Cherokee. It is within walking distance to area shopping and restaurants. All rooms have a refrigerator for your convenience. Smoking,Non-Smoking and Handicap accessible rooms are available. Standard rooms are available with either 1 King size bed or 2 Queen size beds. Some Pet Friendly rooms are available. We have Deluxe rooms available that are twice the size of our Standard rooms, with 2 Queen size beds, your own Private Balcony, Refrigerator, Microwave and expanded seating area. Tubing and fishing are allowed on our property! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Cherokee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Hotel Cherokee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing