We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Cherokee
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Years ago we stayed at an Econolodge in another State and it was so pitiful, we vowed never to stay at another one. Times have changed and this particular property was nothing like the dump we stayed at in the past. We frequent Harrahs and when they are booked we get comped rooms at local hotels. This one here was far better than either the Quality Inn or the Seven Clans. Nice carpet, not trodden all down and the room and bathroom were basic but clean, comfortable and roomy enough with no overpowering stench of air freshener that you get at some hotels. We gave the mattress 5 stars....very comfortable.
Really the only negative was the wall unit that doubles as a heater and AC. It's one of the older types that lacks a thermostat that shuts it off so it runs continuously at a preset temperature and was a little noisy. It's about 2 miles or so away from the Casino and sort of off the main drag so to speak but it's QUIET and that's a definite plus.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gccsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    86
    39
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
110
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I was a little hesitant about staying at this motel. The room was free through the casino so I wasn't going to be picky. Overall the room was nice and clean. The only issue I had with the room was that the carpet felt dirty to bare feet. My feet didn't stay bare for long! The motel is right beside the river. It's convenient to the shops and the small river park across the street.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbryan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

The Econo Lodge is a simple Motel just on the edge of the center of town. This makes you near a nice simple walk along a trout stream. Along this walk way are several shops and eateries. A Pizza restaurant, a cafe, and an ice cream shop. In this area are also many tourist shops and a fountain. The motel itself is along the other side of the same stream. Directly in front of the motel is a small Baptist church. Thus--the motel is nestled away in a quite corner--yet many things are near by. There is a multi-plex across the street and a small hospital is 300 yards to the left of the movies. Breakfast is simple but free. But there is Grandmas Pankake house across the street......along with a Kentucky Fried Chicken. Also--across from the motel and across from the pankake house is that stream I mentioed--but on that side of the street is a very nice park-with pic-nic tables--also wading is invited--you can even rent inner-tubes---this Econo lodge is just the right speed in just the right spot---The National Park is three lights away.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PETE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

My husband and I were travelling with our small dog . It is hard to find places open in Cherokee in March. We chose this motel because they accept pets. My husband had phoned directly to the motel several weeks prior and reserved a quiet pet room on the main level, to be able to easily take out the dog. He was assured they had such a room, and that they had reserved our room as requested. Despite having phoned ahead for a pet room on the lower level, when we arrived we were told that all the pet rooms were on the second level and there are no elevators! We were then offered a pet room on a lower level at their sister facility, The Rivers Edge Motel, and a higher price. We had few options and had to accept. Luckily the Rivers Edge proved to be adequate for our needs. However, this is questionable treatment of customers.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
We are so sorry you felt this way. Our pet policy has always offered pet rooms that are upstairs with 2 double beds non-smoking. Upon arriving this guest wanted a downstairs room. The only way we could accomodate this special request and also include the pet was to move the
guest to another property. Same rate was honored at a property only one mile away. This motel was very nice, clean, with a private balcony on the river. We also told the guest they were welcome to still enjoy our complimentary breakfast in the morning. TIP: when traveling
with a pet always call the property direct and be sure all pet standards are met so the property
can accomodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2009

I stayed for one night. This is your average motel: exterior corridors, basic breakfast, basic cable TV, free wi-fi with good reception.
The room and bathroom were quite clean, but the blankets were dirty and sticky.
Doable for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

it a quiete econolodge, very clean and with helpfull staff. the breakfast was very basic nut the place is ok . - free wifi-

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco.to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Will never stay in any of “Econo Lodge” hotels ever again!!

Our trip was scheduled for Dec. 24/2008, also my wife’s Birth Day. Due to unexpected financial changes we had to forget about our trip to “Econo Lodge” Cherokee, NC. And because it was creasy time around Christmas holidays I forgot to cancel our reservation with “Econo Lodge” in Cherokee, NC.

Was not surprised to see that my credit card was billed for the service I didn’t use but what really upsets and angers me is the hotels management un-wiliness to do the right thing for the customers. Even after several phone calls to the hotel and conversation with hotel’s manager Susan, explaining that my wife lost her job and we had to cancel our trip, I was unable to get any money back or a hotel credit.

Instead I received a letter from hotel manager Susan saying that they cannot find my cancelation number and can’t help me. How lame is that! I have never said I canceled it. Just was hoping they would be human and understand why I failed to cancel and give me a refund. But who was I kidding.
They all just money hungry, heartless individuals.

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank msivyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
We are sorry this guest did not understand the motel's holiday cancellation policy. Had the guests taken a second to cancel this reservation in advance of the arrival day we would have been happy to cancel for them. However, on a busy holiday weekend when we actually held the room and did not therefore have the opportunity to rent the room we would loose revenue by cancelling the room after the fact. No business could function if this were the common practice. TIP: when needing to cancel a reservation most motels are happy to do so even if
it is in violation of the cancel policy. If the guest is responsible by taking a moment by calling the motel to make the cancellation so the room can be released back into inventory to be rented. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
1.1 km away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
120 reviews
2.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
1.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 28 in Cherokee
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
2.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 28 in Cherokee
276 reviews
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Cherokee

Property: Econo Lodge Cherokee
Address: 20 River Rd, US Hwy 19, Cherokee, NC 28719-9771
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#5 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Cherokee 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge nestled in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains is a conveniently located hotel in the downtown area on the Cherokee Indian Reservation adjacent to the Oconaluftee River and is minutes from most of the areas popular attractions like Harrahs Casino, Paula Deen's resturant, The Cherokee Indian Museum, Oconaluftee Indian Village, Unto These Hills a powerful outdoor drama that brings to life the tragic history of the Cherokee people, Oconaluftee Island Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Other points of interest include: Santa's Land. Cherokee Bear Zoo. Cherokee Fun Park Tubing on the River. Fontana Dam, Deals Gap (Tail of the Dragon), Cataloochee Ski Area, Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge, Great Smoky Mountain Railway. Come stay with us and enjoy being in walking distance to restaurants and many shops with a theater complex just across the street from the Econo Lodge. Activities include tubing, world class trout fishing, bonfires and picnicking on the river. The Econo Lodge is also just 30 minutes away from Western Carolina University. Guests of this Cherokee, NC hotel are invited to enjoy many great amenities like free fresh coffee, free wifi, free local calls and a free deluxe continental breakfast. Business travelers will appreciate the access to copy/fax services and free wifi. Traveling families will enjoy our larger family suites. All of our spacious guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, cable television with free Showtime and refrigerators. Handicapped accessible, smoking and non smoking rooms are available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure the Econo Lodge hotel offers a convenient location, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Cherokee area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Choice Hotels, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing