We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
94
115
84
35
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
115
84
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free breakfast room was clean directly across the street cherokee casino hot breakfast would stay again nice stay yogurt great place to stay get away bryson city gravy fall
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 347 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express when we went to Harrah's. It is just across the street from the casino. So we were able to walk there each day. The hotel was clean and had a free breakfast. We would definitely stay there again. Friendly staff too.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018

We were in Cherokee one night for the Rick Springfield concert at Harrah's. Harrah's showed no availability online. When I called they said I could book a room for $400 since it was Memorial Day weekend. We decided to stay across the street at the Holiday Inn Express instead. We're very glad we did.

All three members of the front desk staff that we encountered during our stay were extremely nice and helpful. The parking was great, and the rooms very very nice, comfortable, and clean. The hotel was also quiet which was a huge plus.

The hotel is across the street from Harrah's. We could have walked, but Casino Drive is very busy, so we were worried about crossing the street after dark. The lady at the front desk let us know that the casino had free self park, so we decided to drive over.

Overall, it is a very nice hotel, and was a fraction of the cost of Harrah's. We would stay again if we ever go back to the casino.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Megan_Masters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018

With my family, we stayed one night because of the Western Carolina University graduation. The room was one of the suites that had two queens and a sofa/sleeper. It was a large room with plenty of area to move around. It had two TVs, a desk, mini-fridge, and closet space. The room smelled a little musty, but the HVAC took care of that. Being on the 3rd floor (top) and in the corner, we didn't hear any of the other guests. We were in the front of the hotel and could hear the occasional traffic (loud mufflers, sirens, etc), but it wasn't too bad for one night.

Brad, the front desk clerk, was very welcoming and provided ample help to my family. The ladies wanted to get to the casino for some fun and he told us it was a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Brad wasn't wrong! His warm greeting and help were appreciated for our stay.

Breakfast, in the morning, was the typical HIE menu and everybody got their fill for a long day ahead. It was worth the money for my family to get close to the WCU campus for our daughter's graduation.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ratboy859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018

A very nice motel. Quiet rooms, with convenient ice maker and supplies. Staff helpful and breakfast was above average to very good for a free hotel breakfast. Try their biscuits and gravey. Location also great.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2018

We have stayed at many HIE's across the country and this property is not up to brand standards.

We stayed here for one night during a recent 10 day drive trip through 3 States.

The hotel is easy to find in the small town of Cherokee, and there is no issue with parking. It is somewhat across the street from the large casino complex. We walked to the casino. You have to cross a relatively busy street without aid of a light, but it is relatively safe.

We always book online, and check in was memorable only because the desk agents mostly talked to themselves (not about hotel stuff) rather than us.

This HIE is showing signs of wear, but the public areas were clean. Unfortunately, our room was not. It clearly had not been vacuumed except in the immediate entry. The tub was not clean. The table-top around the TV was stained and had not been wiped down.

Other things... The tissue box was empty, and there was no backup box in the room. Unless we left the TV on, we could hear the entire conversation in the room next door. And most problematic was that the door latch had no plate (it had been removed), so not only was it not secure, but the door was extremely difficult to shut--and only could shut if it was pulled with much force (my spouse couldn't shut it).

Breakfast the next morning was the normal HIE food, and the eating area was pleasant, but the breakfast staff (2 people) never looked at us, let alone said good morning or smiled. We also saw the staff reload plastic silverware holders with bare hands.

We alerted the front desk staffer at check about the unsafe door latch and she apologized. We had thought about requesting another room, but it was late, we were tired, and the bed/bedding was clean.

Not a great overall experience, and not typical of the HIE brand.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewStart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2018

Hi NewStart78,

I realize that you have many options when it comes to lodging, and I appreciate you choosing our property.

I am sorry for falling short of expectations in terms of the cleanliness and poor sound insulation of the room received. I also understand that you find our check-in experience not up to par. We welcome and take feedback seriously because giving you the comfort whenever you travel has been our goal. Your comments will definitely reach the general management, housekeeping along with other departments of the property for actions to be taken to improve guests' satisfaction. To make sure that nothing will be missed, I have properly logged your feedback in our corporate offices. This becomes a permanent record in our IHG Service files for continuous monitoring of the property's performance. Still, I am glad that you liked the parking situation and your dining experience during breakfast.

Your loyalty matters, and we would love to continuously serve you in your future travel plans.

Many thanks,

Anne A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews