We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
53
19
6
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
19
6
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews primitive camping flush toilets no electricity hot shower saw elk tent campers clean restrooms get away fire pit maggie valley firewood generator gsmnp bathhouse elevation fog hosts
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 85 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

We absolutely LOVE coming to this campground. We get a tent site that doesn't have a spectacular view but is nicely tucked away and private. Decent bathrooms and sinks are available within short walking distance, showers are longer walk from the site we chose but still not a bad walk. Beautiful location and always cool at night.
Husband says the bathrooms and showers could use a little improvement that wouldn't cost much.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank LizardMogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2016

If you are looking for an RV Resort this is not the place for you! But if you are looking for primitive camping with beautiful mountain views, cool air and a wonderful time enjoying nature then you will love it. Our campsite was spacious, had an amazing view of the smoky mountains and the temperature was at least 20 degrees cooler. We saw several elk and the sunsets were breathtaking. Lynn and the rest of the staff were wonderful. They gave us advise on places to go and things to do, gave us weather advisories and checked on us after a storm and again just to see if we needing anything during our stay. There is no electricity (primitive camping), but there are clean hot showers, and flush toilets with sinks to wash hands and dishes. This was our first visit; we loved it and have already booked another stay.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank BertieH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016

We stayed in a cabin on property. We were told the cabins are primitive which was fine with me but, at night the rats came out of the walls and walked in the ceiling all night. I thought they were squirrels until the second night they were on our beds when we came in for the night.The second night we slept in the car. I would stay here in a tent, Not in the cabins, which are actually like backyard sheds. Not worth the money, when I went to report it the office was closed and they don't open till 9 ,we left at daybreak.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank grd148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Camp here several times a year and this trip was great! The views from the camp sites are beyond compare, each trip i have stayed on a different site and have enjoyed all of them. Its so relaxing when the clouds roll into your site. The staff is so friendly and helpful overall great place.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank db64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

My kids and I camped here this past weekend and had a great time! The campsites are very nice and most have beautiful views! We saw elk at our campsite the first night, which was awesome! Although the bathrooms were made out of plywood and don't have electricity, they were very clean ( one of the first things my kids commented on).... Just be sure to take your flashlight/headlamp at night. Nice hot showers available too. However, if you're expecting amenities like the Four Seasons, you probably need to stay at the Four Seasons. If you enjoy primitive camping , beautiful views, and like to have clean restrooms as well, this is the place for you!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank hlahla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews