We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Staff was extremely helpful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Concord
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff was extremely helpful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I was part of a small group of older women who were touring the NASCAR facilities, and we stayed at this hotel. The staff was very nice to us and were very helpful in giving us suggestions on the best places to go, best times, etc.
One staff member, Paula Rowe, even told us a NASCAR driver that would be appearing across the street & what time he would there. She even made sure that we were at the appearance and took our pictures with him. When our picture appeared on his Facebook wall, she even showed that to us. She was a wealth of information.
We plan to go back to Charlotte next year and definitely plan to stay at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    47
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
61
39
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

My wife and I were visiting the Charlotte/Rock Hill area to conduct genealogical research and decided on this hotel as a base of operations based on TripAdvisor reviews. We moved after a single night to another Holiday Inn Express (in nearby Kannapolis).

This hotel: Check in was polite and efficient. Parking and access from the parking lot were inconvenient. The 'manager's reception' (a HIE feature) was so-so and marred at the end by extremely noisy clean-up begun early by a clearly disgruntled employee; I felt she was trying to drive out the last few guests to have the room to herself. Breakfast was typical of HIE, not bad but nothing special, but once again the person tending the breakfast was surly and obviously unhappy. Cleanliness: carpeting in the stairwells and hallways very much need shampooing; the rooms needed some attention to scars inflicted on walls and furniture; the bathroom floor had an indelible stain on the tile floor near the shower. The room was pretty quiet, and we slept well; bed was comfortable. But we knew we could do better and so moved to the much superior HIE in Kannapolis for a longer stay at a lower rate. I'll post a review of that hotel in a few days.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

This was our first trip to the area - our honeymoon!~ Went down from upstate NY to see the All Star NASCAR race - the hotel offered a pre-race party which ROCKED! Free food from area restaurants, drinks and door prizes! 50/50 raffle to benefit a great children's charity - we ended up winning the 50/50 and donated back to the cause. The management is absolutely awesome - very accomodating, generous and efficient.

We have already booked our trip down next year to start our anniversary tradition!

Very happy with this entire hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allstar-chaity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Paula is the hostess and greets every guest and makes sure all of your needs are taken care of. She remembers your name and greets you by name on repeat visits to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade is available at check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrior28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed for 2 nights as part of our spring break trip from Oklahoma to North Carolina and back. Hotel was coveniently located to speedway, restaurants,the mall and highway but sits off the main road just enough to be in a quiet area. Hotel lobby was basic HI Express and our room was nice and clean. Prior to our trip I called the hotel regarding a question I had about my reservation and spoke with a man that was very talkative and friendly, telling me about the recent renovations toward a more contemporary look and wanted me to let them know what I thought of it etc. I was looking forward to arriving as his attitude seemed to indicate a high level of customer service that I could look forward to during my stay. I now regret that I did not get his name, as he was by far the most positive customer service experience I encountered with regard to this hotel.
Upon arrival I was immediately told that I was too early to check in and my room may not be ready, although I am a platinum member and my rooms are always ready upon arrival & I checked in providing my priority club card. Mildly irritating for a moment, but fortunately that was found to not be the case and we were able to check in. Room was a 2 Q bed with kitchen and was nice and clean. I later told the front desk clerk that I would be requesting a late check out (1pm) for our second day and he noted it someplace indicating it wouldn't be a problem. The next day my husband confirmed the late check out (just in case) and was told it was not noted any place and that we couldn't have until 1pm but they would give us an hour at best! Not sure what would have happened had we not followed up on this request and had instead remained until 1pm, but possibly an extra charge?? Went down for breakfast our second day and 45 minutes prior to breakfast ending the hot food was gone so had nothing that morning. As we were leaving the manager seemed to be having a "discussion" with someone in the lobby that was checking in and it wasn't about something pleasant.
In summary, had high hopes for this property but customer service fell short upon arrival. I can forgive many things if level of service is high, but in this case it happened to be the only shortfall.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edmondtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

I have stayed here many times. The staff is extremely nice, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are basic (as you would expect for a hotel in this type of location) but extremely clean. The beds are comfortable. The area is safe. The main things I look for in a hotel when traveling for business are cleanliness and a worry-free stay, and this HIE fits the bill. It is a little bit overpriced considering the location (Kannapolis is a dump; the rooms generally start around $100 but I think occasionally you can get one for around $80) but I think most or all of the Concord/Kannapolis hotels are a little more expensive than one would think.

If you end up with a room facing the backside of the hotel, sometimes highway traffic is a bit noticeable when trying to sleep.

Oh, and there is a free happy hour (beer, wine, appetizers, usually catered by one of the local restaurants like Ruby Tuesday's I think) at least once a week (Thurs?) which is great.

The wireless internet signal is free but is a little bit slow and weak.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williemetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

The staff members at the Holiday Inn Express in Charlotte-Concord were very friendly. They made my stay as pleasant as they possibily could.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Concord hotels
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte/Concord
0.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Concord/Charlotte Area
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites Concord Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Concord Charlotte
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Charlotte - Concord / Golf  Resort & Spa
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Concord Mills/Speedway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85
Address: 7772 Gateway Ln NW, Concord, NC 28027-4418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Concord
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlotte Concord Area is the closest IHG hotel to the Lowe's Motor Speedway/Concord Mills Mall. We are conveniently located at exit 49 off I-85 and offer free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access in every room. We also have free wireless Internet access in the lobby, great room & meeting rooms. Additional amenities include Express Start Breakfast and free local phone calls. All guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, irons, ironing boards and desks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, IHG, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / i-85 Hotel Concord
Holiday Inn Concord
Concord Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing