We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,572)
Filter reviews
1,572 results
Traveller rating
1,018
394
107
42
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,018
394
107
42
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverduckresident catoff seasonouter banksocean frontprivate beachpartial ocean viewvery nice hotelindoor poolwild horsescomplimentary breakfastwafflesfront desk staffroom was largeshort drivethird floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,360 - 1,365 of 1,572 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012

FROM Derek David Gollan, Charlottesville Va...My wife and I enjoyed the beach access via a boardwalk with steps from behind the hotel. We were there April 15-21 and often had the beach to ourselves for brisk walking. When the surf was up we could sit on our balcony of room 301 and watch and hear the waves pound in. The hot breakfast (only meal of the day) was nicely presented with ample choices. Coffee was available in the lobby round the clock. While there.s a diner adjacent to the property, guests may prefer to try the numerous excellent restaurants within a short car ride away. We found the Hampton Inn a nice addition to our travel portfolio and were impressed with the responsive and friendly staff. One suggestion: bring your own towels for showers. We had to ask housekeepers to find us thicker ones as many had seen better days. Another suggestion: front rooms generally face the swimming pools and could be noisy when school holidays arise and there are young,exuberant teenagers in evidence. Our 301 still had an excellent view and was shielded from the pools. The property has guest laundries and free internet

Room Tip: see report above
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huntcountry6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The rooms are obviously older, the snacks and drinks at the snack shop were all expired. We chose not to eat breakfast there so I cannot review that. We have stayed at LOTS of Hampton Inns and this is by far the worst experience I have had with one. Having said that...it was still much better than experiences with some other hotel chains.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We visited over Easter weekend and had a standard room, 2nd floor facing south. The room itself was nice and had a small balcony to step out and gaze 180 degrees across the island. You could see and hear the ocean well and it was very comfy. The bathroom was very large, as was the room for a standard sized room. The a/c-heater made a few odd clunks as it went on and off, but nothing to really be concerned about...typical hotel a/c unit.

The lobby is immaculate with a great display case in the entryway. The breakfast area was fine and breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare. On Easter morning, they had an egg hunt for all the kids. That was unexpected and nice. The pool, though small, was fine for an indoor pool...as was the hot tub. The outdoor pools looked nice, but it was just too cool to take a dip in them...maybe later in summer.

The boardwalk to the beach was great and a fine way to enjoy the beach and collect shells without all the bother of all the typical beach-combing public crawling all over. I don't think I could have asked for a nicer place to stay in the Outer Banks unless I had a private house on the beach. We used Hilton Honors points...and they were well worth using here versus in the Kitty Hawk area for the Hilton Garden there. I'd take this any day.

The staff was friendly as well. A+ all the way.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor south side or ocean view...anything but east facing is fine for a view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This hotel was exactly what we wanted. We had an oceanfront room. The breakfasts were very good with more choices than many places. You can walk out of the hotel, up the stairs over the dunes and right out to the beach. Deer were grazing on the dunes right in front of our room one morning! Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful and we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brbpollock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This hotel has one of the best beach locations on the Outer Banks if you are interested in being away from the touristy beaches of Nags Head/Kitty Hawk. It is literally the only hotel for miles and is surrounded by upscale beach homes. The main lobby and public spaces are lovely and well kept. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms, however, do reflect a decade of the kind of wear and tear that only beach hotels have. The door to our top floor ocean view room was loose enough that the gusts of wind from the ocean made it vibrate and as a result kept us awake at night. The room was fairly clean but had a slightly musty smell, and we did find a hair in the sheets. The bathroom was also clean but the shower head had red mold and the tub caulking needed replacing. Breakfast is standard Hampton -- not great but edible. These issues should not keep you away from this property if you plan to spend most of your time outside exploring the lovely and quaint town of Corolla and walking on the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarheel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews