We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,572)
Filter reviews
1,572 results
Traveller rating
1,018
394
107
42
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,018
394
107
42
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverduckresident catoff seasonouter banksocean frontprivate beachpartial ocean viewindoor poolvery nice hotelwild horsescomplimentary breakfastwafflesfront desk staffroom was largeshort drivethird floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,296 - 1,301 of 1,572 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Husband and I went for a get away weekend. it was exactly what we needed. The hotel staff is very friendly, breakfast was good, the grounds very clean, room excellent. Since this is not the busy season, everything was quite. Looking forward to taking another trip down.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn recently and I found it enjoyable, but lacking in a few key ways. The rooms (ours was ocean front) were relatively clean and comfortable but they seemed dated and, I don't know, shabby. Wallpaper peeling in places, what looked like mold in the shower, rust in the bathroom, screen door that didn't work and looked very dirty. Also, the vents in the bathroom need to be cleaned, because disgusting dust fell out of it and landed in my hair when I was trying to get ready. On the plus side, the breakfast was great, the beds were comfortable. I just think I'd have been pretty disappointed if I was paying $400 a night (which is how much they charge in the middle of the season) for this room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RackleJPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff T, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just stayed here Nov.9-11. Beautiful hotel. Staff, from front desk to housekeeping were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was great! Food was hot and plentiful. Saturday night cookies were put out at the front desk and coffee, tea, and hot chocolate was always available. Room was spacious and everything was very clean. Bed was so comfortable. Indoor pool and hot tub were well maintained. I would not hesitate to stay here again. If you are looking for a quiet location and a first class hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Location: GREAT. Best hotel location in all the southern shores towns and we researched a lot. 10 miles north of Duck which is a great quaint small town with great restaurants and 10 minutes south of the 4x4 beaches of Corolla.
Price: Decent. $148 for 2 queens, and full ocean view. (Now this was November - the prices we were quoted for the summer are 2.5 times this!).
Overall: Clean, more upscale than your typical Hampton Inn.
Service: VERY friendly and helpful
Breakfast: Free but pretty lame and the only thing keeping me from giving it 5-stars.
Views: Get the 3rd floor, get a full ocean view - its great. We spent each morning on the small veranda sipping cheap hotel coffee and watching dolphins jump.

Room Tip: 3rd floor - full ocean view. Go check out a couple of rooms before booking if you are unsure.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PelleasPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for a friend's wedding. Hurricane Sandy threw us a curve ball and our babysitting plans fell through. So, our 13 month old son had to come along for the trip. 1st, staff was above and beyond nice! From the moment we arrived 2 hours early and requested an early check-in; to the moment we requested a pack and play for our son (already in the room!); to breakfast time where Pat went above and beyond and cut a bib out of a towel for our son! So very nice and accommodating. Hotel was clean; beds are super comfortable; TVs have HD and lots of channels; rooms have fridges and microwaves and shower has great water pressure! Breakfast was phenomenal for being complimentary- eggs, fresh fruit, French toast sticks, a variety of cerial and bagels, muffins and toast, etc! We have absolutely nothing but positive things say! BTW, keep an eye out for Sysco, the beautiful black cat that lives on the property. Great kudos and thanks to the staff!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larrygraham13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews