We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$389
PricelineUS$389
Hotels.comUS$389
Hampton.comUS$389
CheapTicketsUS$389
Lol.travelUS$400
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,804)
Filter reviews
1,804 results
Traveller rating
1,162
436
126
58
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,162
436
126
58
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river duck off season outer banks ocean front partial ocean view complimentary breakfast wild horses indoor pool very nice hotel oatmeal short drive room was large third floor great beach beach access hot tub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 1,804 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2018

The hotel has an outstanding location, updated rooms with balconies, great accommodating staff, very good breakfasts, a fitness center, is very welcoming, great pool, and beautiful lobby with an amazing sea shell display. There is a very nice area off the lobby where guests can carry in lunches and dinners, and the free coffee/tea/hot chocolate bar is a terrific addition.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Exceeded expectations. Friendly staff, clean ocean front location, nice breakfast. Will definitely stay there when not renting a house for a week. Gorgeous ceiling in dining room. Beautiful sunsets on the ocean.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Fantastic stay. Breakfast was great. Beach was phenomenal. Luckily the water was warm and it was sunny every day. We were here in 2013. This stay was right after labor day 2018. Hotel has been updated since 2013 so everything is top notch. We checked out the suites in consideration of a future stay and they look to be really nice and very reasonable. We had a minor issue with a chair / umbrella rental on the last day of our stay and Katie, Jesse and Jeff the mgr personally took care of us. In particular Jeff was "hands on" in taking care of us. It turned out to be the best day on the beach for us thanks to them. Many expensive properties to stay at here in Corolla but this one is a gem. We'll be back for sure...

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard-AnnaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Helen is amazing and so very nice and adds a amazing touch to a already beautiful place.. our room was amazing my entire family was with us we had 4 rooms and everyone was treated with respect and given a ton of information on places to eat or where to go for fun.. Thank you Hampton staff I give u all a 100% on making my family's vacation amazing.. this was our 2nd year and hope to see y'all around the same time next year... Thanks again y'all were awesome!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Maybe our expectations were too high after reading all the positive reviews but we were disappointed with our experience at this hotel.

Positives:

The hotel is right on the beach - you just walk across a short boardwalk and you are on a gorgeous beach that is not crowded.

The lobby of the hotel is very attractive.

The room cleaning staff were really nice.

The chocolate chip cookies in the evening were delicious.

Negatives:

The biggest negatives of this hotel are the front desk staff and the size of the pools. When we arrived, we were put in a room overlooking the parking lot so we asked if there might be a room available with a better view - we were staying for several nights and were willing to move any night. The fact that they did not come through with any alternative was not really the issue so much as their attitude, which conveyed not just that they didn't have any other rooms but that they really did not care. They suggested that we check back the following morning, which I did. "Good morning!" I said to the front desk clerk the following morning "how are you?" The response? A grunt - and an unfriendly stare. And of course - certainly no alternative room. Again, I get that they were probably full and possibly really tired of tourists at the end of the summer season - but still.

The pools are tiny and very close together. The "lazy river" is a small pool that is in a circular shape with barely any current. The other pool is equally small and with gates around each pool individually, the pool area feels even smaller. The "work out facility" is a small room with some leaky ceiling tiles and four machines. The breakfast was sub par for a Hampton Inn - some of the nastiest eggs I have ever seen - and there was no one cleaning the tables between users so each morning we cleaned our own table from the previous people. On the beach, the hotel charges $25.00 to set up two very basic chairs and an umbrella.

Our room was a decent size but when you looked even remotely closely, it was obviously kind of run down. The kitchen area in particular could use some updating.

Overall, we just felt let down by our experience. While we might return the the OBX, we would not return to this hotel.

Room tip: pay the extra for a beach side room
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank em5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff T, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

We are sorry that you had a 2/5 experience here.

Nobody should rely on reviews alone. Our website includes pictures of all of the pools and the fitness center. Disappointment can be mitigated through a bit of due diligence and some simple research. One might give us a call to get the "straight scoop". We go to great pains to try to get folks' expectations in alignment with our reality. It is ironic that our success relative to our reviews is cited as a basis for your disappointment. "I wish our reviews were worse so that some folks would not feel so let down when they get here", said no general manager, ever.

We are a Hampton Inn, and our breakfast is the Hampton Inn breakfast. We can't freelance. Given the volume of egg products we go through on a daily basis in peak season, it would seem that your "eggpinion" is in the minority. The egg products come to us precooked. We simply reheat and serve them. They may not get rave reviews, but they are readily consumed! We wipe the tables when it will not impact our ability to constantly replenish food items that are being eaten by hundreds of people each morning. Our breakfast is free and participation is not mandatory. We are sorry our table wiping did not keep up with the pace while you were here.

Most folks view multiple pools as a plus (especially for a Hampton), but you feel they are too small. Fencing and gates around the pools are a safety requirement. The fitness center is standard for a Hampton.

You were assigned to the room style you reserved. Peak season at the beach usually means every room is occupied. We did not have the opportunity to move you to a room that was more to your liking, and we understand that for some guests, that leaves a residual distaste. Your comments indicate that you were aware that we didn't have any alternatives for you.

"...so much as their attitude, which conveyed not just that they didn't have any other rooms but that they really did not care".

Our clerk should have left you with no option other than to describe him/her as a caring professional. We are very sorry for that.

This hotel opened in 2002. Folks can find things that make it feel "dated" to them.

We don't rent anything on the beach. A local vendor does.

We accept that you won't be back. We are beneath your standards in multiple areas that we can do nothing about. We recommend that you avoid the Outer Banks altogether because you have already stayed at the best hotel here, and found its most unique feature (multiple pools) unsatisfactory.

We suggest you focus on larger full service hotels such as Hiltons or Hilton Grand vacations that have the real estate to feature multiple larger pools, and can cook your eggs just the way you like. None of those exist on the Outer Banks.

The Orlando Hilton has a fantastic lazy river!

We do wish you the best of luck in all of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews