We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$169
FindHotelUS$169
eDreamsUS$169
Trip.comUS$169
Agoda.comUS$169
ZenHotels.comUS$180
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,828)
Filter reviews
1,828 results
Traveller rating
1,171
440
129
64
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,171
440
129
64
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river duck off season outer banks ocean front partial ocean view complimentary breakfast wild horses indoor pool very nice hotel oatmeal short drive room was large third floor great beach beach access hot tub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,828 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2021

First time staying here and was excellent and clean very close to attractions and restaurants the staff was very friendly and was quick to respond if needed something made me and family feel welcomed.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank baldeagle2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2021

That is what it is all about! Thank you for your positive and kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2021

Family wedding. Will actually be repeated in May next year. Have already made the reservation. Liebeskind / Waller wedding this year. Liebeskind / Ruby next year. Both events take place at the Black Stallion, Corolla

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank cdb1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2021

Thank you for the 5/5 rating and for your continued business! We are gratified by the understanding that we are often a key player in major family events. To know that we have succeeded in your case is very rewarding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2021

Nice location, pools and beach area. Great breakfast. Outdoor area needs a hose down/power washing. Our room #223 was in need of repairs. The dresser drawers were all broken and missing a knob, I couldn’t put my children’s clothes away. There was mold in the shower and the cabinets were worn. I was definitely let down for the money we paid. The man at the front desk couldn’t care less about my feedback.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 690melinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2021

Thank you for your feedback! We are gratified to see that our newly reinitiated hot breakfast was a winner during your two night stay.

We have reviewed our maintenance records and found that the only maintenance ticket relating to the room you occupied was completed by the guest services representative who you spoke with. No guests in the weeks prior to your arrival reported issues with the room.

Our executive housekeeper inspects every room before certifying it as ready to occupy. Our room attendants are expected to
leave all drawers open in each room so that the inspection can include verifying that the drawers are empty, clean, and that they work. We expect that our executive housekeeper would notice that the drawers did not work when she attempted to close them, and that a knob was missing. We are sorry that she apparently missed the mold in the shower as well, along with the room attendant who cleaned your room.

Your comments indicate that you were inconvenienced by the broken dresser drawers. We wish we had been given a chance to repair them. You could have told us when you would be out of the room to ensure that you were not disturbed. Unfortunately for us, you notified us of the issue for the first time as you were leaving.

Departing guests sometimes mention discrepancies at our front desk on their way out. Many say it was not worth reporting during their stay because it did not affect them, but they pass it along to help us correct things for the next guest. Some guests mention things at checkout anticipating a refund. But, if they don't communicate that, the guest services representative may be under the impression that they are just communicating information to help us improve. We apologize that our guest services representative did not react to your representation of the issues you experienced in a way that satisfied you. But, he did care enough to get those issues documented and corrected.

We are sorry that we failed, and that your experience here did not live up to your expectations. We will be sending you a certificate good for a free night at any Hampton Inn, in recognition of our failings during your visit.

We wish you the best of luck in all of your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2021

Let's start with the Pros... The location and beach couldn't be better. The staff is friendly and welcoming, Helen and Ashley at the front desk truly epitomize hospitality. Unfortunately, the pros stop there. I stay at Hilton brands on a weekly basis and have utilized Hamptons many times and find them to be consistently clean, economical, no frills properties. This was not the case here. The studio suite I reserved was $350/nt which is a truly obscene cost for a Hampton. That said, I was willing to pay the inflated rate for a quality beachfront hotel. This was far from quality. The room I was assigned was tired and dirty. The carpet was FILTHY to the point it turned white socks brown! The bathroom fixtures were rusted and moldy (pictures attached). The sofabed was so worn that the springs poked through the paper thin mattress to such an extreme that my children had to share a bed. There were hundreds of bugs outside the entrance to the room (not the patio). The conditions were brought to the attention of the front desk and they were unable to change my room due to the property being sold out, but there was also never an attempt to have the issues resolved by housekeeping or engineering. Even something so simple as sweeping up the bugs did not occur until 3 days later after 5 requests. This could be an absolutely amazing property, they have great staff, now they just need some major renovations. On a side note, they have reinstated full breakfast and removed mask requirements, but for some reason still aren't offering housekeeping.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Rwarrior72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2021

Thank you for your feedback via our internal guest survey, the Hilton Guest Assistance venue, and here on TripAdvisor as well. We are sorry that we did not measure up to your high standards for a beach hotel. Your concerns relate to several entities, one of which is the hotel. The others are the ownership, Mother Nature, and Hilton Worldwide.

The hotel was renovated by ownership to the satisfaction of, and under the guidelines of Hilton Worldwide in 2014. That you perceive the rooms as being tired would indicate that in your opinion the renovation has not held up well. The style chosen for the renovation was somewhat "retro" and we did have guests commenting that the rooms were dated when they were in fact freshly renovated. We would love to mention the name of the manufacturer of the sleeper sofas, who opted not to stand behind their product when confronted with the issues we had with their sofas. Needless to say we would not purchase from that manufacturer again and we have already replaced all of them in our standard rooms. This upcoming off season we may be able to replace the balance of the renovation-era sleeper sofas in the hotel. Franchise hotels such as ours typically renovate every ten years, so we probably have a couple of years to go before a general renovation will occur.

Shortly after this hotel renovated, the Hampton brand rolled out an entirely new guestroom package that left us behind, with a look that does not conform with hotels that have been built or renovated since 2014. So, folks that stay in a lot of Hamptons tend to note that our rooms are more traditional and seem more dated than many or most of those they are familiar with. This is nobody's fault. It is simply a fact that due to timing, our hotel was dated in comparison to others, not long after our renovation completed.

Mother Nature is responsible for the outdoor flying insects. Lately, since the wind direction has changed, we have not had that problem. Your room was located next to an exterior entrance where the overhead light attracted the midges. We are sorry that we did not sweep that entrance the day you reported the issue, but we are sure it was not due to lack of care. We are long on care, and periodically short on staff and time.

Hilton Worldwide establishes our operational rules, and we conform with those rules. Our housekeeping policy, as stated on the welcome letter in every room, is to clean stayover rooms upon request, but to not enter any guest rooms during a stay unless asked otherwise. We provide fresh towels and amenities daily by placing them in a bag outside the guest room door. Some folks really appreciate this, and others think everything should go back to normal immediately. Hilton also provided guidelines for breakfast. While we were being criticized for continuing with the approved Covid era breakfast, we got updated information from the Hampton brand in late May as to how and when to return to the hot breakfast, which we have accomplished with a couple of weeks to spare. A major consideration in these areas has been whether or not hotels have been able to get adequately staffed as their occupancy grows.

We appreciate your positive comments about our staff. Unfortunately they are incentivized by our survey scores, which were not enhanced by your rating. We are currently about ten people down from ideal peak season staffing. Things happen. Employees quit without notice, their relatives die or get sick, accidents occur, and then managers and other employees are filling in, exhausting themselves - sometimes for weeks or months, while we attempt to fill positions and to perform our own jobs to the best of our abilities. A guest services manager who is working desk shifts has less time for management related work (for example). Thank you for recognizing Helen and Ashley. Helen was filling a shift on the front desk due to lack of staff when you interacted with her. She is our awesome guest services manager. You did not mention that Helen extended you a full refund of your first night's charges based on your concerns. So you were able to enjoy four nights here for the price of three!

Most every employer on the Outer Banks (and in the entire country) is having staffing issues. Most of our employees have to travel from Elizabeth City (an hour drive away) to get here. Almost nobody who works here can afford to live near the hotel, even if they could find a place. Consider that the room attendant who is cleaning your room has an hour commute on each end of his/her day. So, all of this is being communicated in order to state that we are sacrificing mightily all around to do for our guests what we can, often in the face of criticisms that we know are mainly generated by our high peak season at the beach rates. When our rates go up, our survey scores get worse. When our rates go down, our survey scores get better.

The fact that we had no room to move you to indicates that our rates are within the realm of what people are willing to pay. The hotel to our South charges quite a bit more than we do, and you have to pay for your breakfast there.

This is a very harsh environment in which to maintain a hotel. We are almost empty in the off season for that reason. Empty hotels are not profitable, and our summer profits are what keeps the hotel open and the year around staff employed through the winter. The weather can be very inhospitable and we suffer frequent hurricanes, tropical storms, and nor'easters. We don't know what the mortgage payment is on this hotel, but we can guess it is a good bit higher than many or most of the Hamptons you are satisfied with. Destination hotels such as ours do endure a greater amount of wear and tear in the rooms as the guests do not leave early every morning and then reappear in the evening. They are here throughout each day and night, enjoying the beach and the pools.

The issues you noted in your room are our responsibility, and should have been noted by the room attendant and room inspector, and then reported to maintenance for action. You should not have been checked into that room unless those situations had been rectified. But, you were extended a refund for that night on the basis of those discrepancies, and the general rule is that we don't enter guest rooms without a specific request. So, we may have assumed you were satisfied with the refund and we deferred action on your room until you departed and we could spend some time in there between guests, which we did. Our chief engineer removed and reinstalled the caulk in that tub when you departed, because we had the time and opportunity to let the fresh caulk cure before the next guest arrived. In some cases, the refund is a gesture that is much appreciated and which helps tamp down any remaining animosity between a guest and the hotel, in others the refund is inadequate and the guest continues to feel exploited. In many cases our worst reviews stem from the expectation on the part of some of our more elite travelers that they were not provided multiple tier upgrades to an oceanfront suite, at no charge. When twenty or thirty rooms are occupied by those elite travelers, we can be faced with hostility and outrage over such maltreatment as actually placing those folks in the rooms that they reserved rather than the rooms they feel they deserve, whether those rooms are already reserved by others and the hotel is full, or not.

We are very sorry that we let you down and that your recommendation is for folks to avoid staying here. We are grateful to have an opportunity to provide our perspective and to attempt to offset the harm that would come to us should folks follow your advice. Not mentioning your refund tends to imply a level of indifference on our part, which we see as misleading and unfair.

Good luck to you in all of your future travels. We hope to see you again someday - after we have renovated!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2021 via mobile

Note: ocean view rooms are only on the top floor. All other ocean views are views of a large dune. Midges everywhere, so the balcony is a no go. I get limited options to stay in OBX but the price for value is skewed. This is a Hampton Inn, not an Embassy Suites or decent hotel. Cannot recommend!

Room tip: Rent a house. Limited options for restaurants and the ability to handle crowds. If you stay and want an “oven view” select the top floor.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TPuyleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2021

We are sorry you can't recommend us on the basis of our peak summer rates. We do not claim to be a Waldorf Astoria. The prevailing positive comment about this hotel is its outstanding location. Oceanfront locations are not inexpensive, especially when they are rare. Our rates are based on our demand, and our occupancy is higher than ever so far this year. We don't think you intended to imply that Hampton Inns are not decent hotels, but we appreciate your plug for Hilton brands! Good luck to you in all of your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews