We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Corolla Light Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Corolla
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Oats Motel(Jarvisburg)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Haven(Kitty Hawk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelers Inn(Elizabeth City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
55
17
2
4
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
17
2
4
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtscorolla lighthot tubgreat place for a family vacationplanned activitiesgreat communityawesome resortfamily rentedthe outer banksindoor poolwild horsesgated communityin seasonrented bikessports complexchairs and umbrellashomes
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 92 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2017

We spent several days at the beach and needed a break from all the sand and salt water. The pools at the Corolla Light Resort were included with our rental package and became a nice easy way to spend the afternoon. I counted four pools, an extremely small one for babies, a kiddie pool (~ 1' to 4' in depth) and two teenage/adult pools (~ 4' to 6' in depth). There were plenty of lounge chairs in which to get comfortable, to read, and to soak up the sun. If you want to head to the beach, just cross the wooden walkway and stairs and you'll be there. Showers are available to wash off the sand that's gathered between your toes.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

We vacation here with our family and this resort has it all! Oceanfront pool complex with restaurant and bar; game courts of all kinds; sound front pool; sports center with heated indoor pool; gym; courts, hot tub. Very clean and landscaped! Great options for house rentals; condos, inn. Plenty to do even in poor weather.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

Corolla light is wonderful, nothing but wonderful things to say about this "area" however, in our opinion it's best to stay far away from renting through Brindley Beach Rentals! Once upon a time they were great, but they have gone very far downhill.

I try to keep most of our reviews upbeat, but occasionally an experience is so bad the warnings need to be made. That is the case for this company.

We arranged an early check-in. When we arrive to check-in, suddenly this arrangement cannot be found. Nothing they can do, they tell us, but call us when it's ready, should be early. We leave our phone # to be called. We actually stopped to see the house right after, just to see it ... And we find the place cleaned and ready? Okay, they just have to inspect it, should be fast. 4 hours later it was now the normal check-in time, we go and let ourselves in ... Never heard from Brindley.

Next day we find the stove doesn't work. They send someone to repair it, they say they did so, and later we find the burners still not working.

Day after that, one of our party finds a dirty towel that had been made into his bed (it was not his, his was hanging). You may think it's gross to sleep with a strangers dirty towel ... But think about what else this means. The bed sheets were not changed between rentals! Now everyone in the house is wondering if their sheets were dirty.

Around this time, the actual home owner calls the house line. Turns out they call all their renters to check on the place and the service. She was shocked to hear the stories (I've left out quite a few small items to save time, missing and torn screens on the Windows, rudeness when we called, etc). She proceeded to tell us she has no idea why they didn't see the early check-in, she was even aware of it. Further, the house was not rented the previous week and had been cleaned and inspected the entire time. She was very angry and was going to reach out on her end. She was very nice and professional, unlike her rental company.

So checkout day arrives. We drive to the office. We're expecting to let them know it could have / should have been much better on their end. Here is the dialog that occurred:
Office lady 1 - hi
Office lady 2 - good morning
Us - good morning. We're checking our.
Office lady 2 - okay
Us - blinking awkwardly wondering if they will guide us through their process.
Us - so ... Here's the keys
Office lady 2 - ok (takes the keys)
Us - more blank starting
Us - is that it?
Office lady 2 - yep that's it.
Us - okay ... Thanks
We leave without another word from them.

They know people checking out are traveling ... No have a good day or drive safe, nothing. What's worse ... Not one question about how our stay was? In my opinion, there are really only 2 reasons for this, they did not care at all how it was, or they knew their service was poor and they didn't need to hear it.

We will be back to Corolla again for sure, but this was the last time we will call Brindley Beach Rentals

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
7  Thank lvnourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

Our family decided to stay in Corolla this year for the first time in about 20 years. We stayed at Sound Skies on the sound side. About a 5 minutes walk to the beach. We had access to everything in the Corolla Light Resort including multiple swimming pools, tennis courts, basketball courts, and exclusive beach access. There aren't many things to do in Corolla like there is in Duck or Kitty Hawk and its over a half hour drive to where there is alot of stuff to do. Our house was great and we had plenty of room. There were definitely alot of spiders in and outside of the house. Besides that, we had a great trip.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Kali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

I love this place. Beautiful senery. Right near the lighthouse. Nice amenities. Bay side pool was quite and ocean side was full of excitement. Plenty of activities for everyone. Beautiful bike trails. Even a indoor pool for raining days. Plenty of homes for everyone in every price range. Don't just go the obx. Go to Corolla light resort.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews