We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$318
US$284
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$174
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
218
104
36
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
104
36
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorolla lightthe outer bankssound viewcontinental breakfastwhalehead clubpool and hot tubshared decktook advantage of the freelong pierbeautiful sunsetwild horse tourpedestal sinkcurrituck soundlight housebeautiful roomoff seasonfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 398 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2017

If you're looking for cookie cutter, go to the Hampton. But if you're looking for charm, quirkiness, local flare and a personal touch, stay here. My husband and I stayed 5 nights in a sound front room. It was clean. It had a gorgeous shared deck and sunsets. Right outside our door was a beautiful sound side hike that took us to old town and the Whalehead Club. It's shady in the mornings so it's a lovely way to start the day. Breakfasts were great as long as you're not requiring omelets or scrambled eggs. Rather they had lovely fresh fruit, all kinds of breads & muffins, teas, hot chocolate, yogurt, sausage, cereals, etc. Sitting outside on the breakfast deck was relaxing. Bikes and a club membership are part of your fare and the beach is just a few blocks away. We recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sound front room. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thank you so much for staying at the Inn. We are very glad that we were "to your taste"! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. Your comments have been shared with the team and they are looking forward to your return! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Location in Corolla is great and view from the Inn is nice (overlooks the Sound). Jc was personable when we called to book, but the overall experience when we arrived was lacking. Signage is poor and the Inn has bad curb appeal. We were disappointed in the cleanliness of the place (cobwebs and dampness in room). The outdoor deck has spider webs and bugs everywhere. This is a no frills, budget Inn that is underwhelming. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and promise to continue to try to improve. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017

The Inn at Corolla Light has a fantastic view of the sound. If you stay at this property, you must request the rooms that are on the sound. Many of the rooms face the courtyard. These rooms have a window facing the courtyard and needs the curtain drawn unless you enjoy being watched by guests and staff as they walk by your room.

The staff is friendly and will easily give you information on restaurants and activities. A cold breakfast is served daily. Staying at the Inn allows you to use the REC center and the indoor pool.

My husband and I were not happy with the facilities. Housekeeping is average. There are spiders on the outside of the building and in the room. The Inn does say the outside is sprayed to discourage the spiders. They may need to spray more often or have a staff member wipe spider webs away from door frames daily. The rooms do need to be refreshed.

Room Tip: Sound front rooms provide more light and a great view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Thank you for staying with us at the Inn. We appreciate your feedback and have passed on your comments - good and not so good, to the appropriate staff members. We hope you will change your mind and decide to stay with us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017

It is very hard to reconcile our horrible experience with the reviews we scanned last year when booking this place. That there are several negative reviews for this summer convinces me that I am not just being overly picky. Take a look at the photo of the room map (in a dirty frame) I've attached before you book. I think there must be some pleasant rooms with light and air and views of the lovely sound. But many of the rooms face into the interior of the building off dark and nasty corridors or into the common area with plate glass windows that don't open and require the curtains pulled shut if you want any privacy. Perhaps once upon a time it was a quaint waterfront inn - but it has been added on to in ways that eliminates any charm or character. It looks like a rundown dump to us.

It was clear something was wrong from the moment we drove into the parking lot which is just a big open lot adjacent to a bait shop. Absolutely no character or suggestion of a "quaint inn." The first room we were assigned was dark and cave like and smelled dank. The window looked out into the common area that everyone walked by so no chance of opening windows or the curtain to let in light and air. They offered us a dehumidifier! I refused to pay over $287 + tax (Labor Day weekend rate) for a cave with a dehumidifier. They moved us to another room on the top floor. This room also smelled dank. As photos show, it was also dirty and in need of repair. A fire extinguisher and hose just outside our room had broken covers. Our views were of the parking and service lot of the bait shop. The door required a shove with a shoulder to close. Just about everything was worn out or in disrepair.

The bed was ok. The toiletries were actually good, not that I was willing to shower in the filthy bathroom. The breakfast room and deck were fine and continental breakfast offering reasonable.

I would NEVER stay here again and warn others to be real clear about what you might be getting into. Cheers

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Inn. We are very sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your short visit. We were happy to note that you did enjoy the continental breakfast. We are working very diligently with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to offer the very best accommodations possible. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly share it with the appropriate staff for further training. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

Great pet-friendly location. Susie the inn keeper went out of her way to accommodate our multi-room booking. One guest got called back for Hurricane Harvey relief services and even that last minute cancellation was graciously accommodated. Convenient to beach and Sound, as well as Lighthouse and historic Corolla Village. Continental breakfast included hard boiled eggs and sausage. Bikes available on site and other rentals.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Inn. We loved having your group stay with us and were happy to accommodate last minute changes. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews