We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Corolla Light
Ranked #1 of 2 Corolla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We were so excited to arrive at the Outer Banks, We were greeted by the sweetest lady at the Inn. She upgraded us because it was my birthday trip. Our room was looking out at the Sound and the pool was right out our door. The room was charming. We did sit o the corner so if the drapes were open people walking by could see us but it was really nice to see the water right out our window. Besides we were out of the room more than in it. Everyone that worked there was very friendly. The breakfast room was bright and cheery. the location was nice too. We were right by the historical area and the lighthouse. We were at the north tip of the island so the area where the horses are was right there too. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E3679WAlindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for staying at the Inn. We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experience at the Inn. We were happy that you spent your birthday with us. Thank you from the staff for you kind comments about them. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again -- you don't have to wait for another birthday! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

If you're looking for cookie cutter, go to the Hampton. But if you're looking for charm, quirkiness, local flare and a personal touch, stay here. My husband and I stayed 5 nights in a sound front room. It was clean. It had a gorgeous shared deck and sunsets. Right outside our door was a beautiful sound side hike that took us to old town and the Whalehead Club. It's shady in the mornings so it's a lovely way to start the day. Breakfasts were great as long as you're not requiring omelets or scrambled eggs. Rather they had lovely fresh fruit, all kinds of breads & muffins, teas, hot chocolate, yogurt, sausage, cereals, etc. Sitting outside on the breakfast deck was relaxing. Bikes and a club membership are part of your fare and the beach is just a few blocks away. We recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sound front room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you so much for staying at the Inn. We are very glad that we were "to your taste"! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. Your comments have been shared with the team and they are looking forward to your return! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Location in Corolla is great and view from the Inn is nice (overlooks the Sound). Jc was personable when we called to book, but the overall experience when we arrived was lacking. Signage is poor and the Inn has bad curb appeal. We were disappointed in the cleanliness of the place (cobwebs and dampness in room). The outdoor deck has spider webs and bugs everywhere. This is a no frills, budget Inn that is underwhelming. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and promise to continue to try to improve. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The Inn at Corolla Light has a fantastic view of the sound. If you stay at this property, you must request the rooms that are on the sound. Many of the rooms face the courtyard. These rooms have a window facing the courtyard and needs the curtain drawn unless you enjoy being watched by guests and staff as they walk by your room.

The staff is friendly and will easily give you information on restaurants and activities. A cold breakfast is served daily. Staying at the Inn allows you to use the REC center and the indoor pool.

My husband and I were not happy with the facilities. Housekeeping is average. There are spiders on the outside of the building and in the room. The Inn does say the outside is sprayed to discourage the spiders. They may need to spray more often or have a staff member wipe spider webs away from door frames daily. The rooms do need to be refreshed.

Room Tip: Sound front rooms provide more light and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us at the Inn. We appreciate your feedback and have passed on your comments - good and not so good, to the appropriate staff members. We hope you will change your mind and decide to stay with us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

It is very hard to reconcile our horrible experience with the reviews we scanned last year when booking this place. That there are several negative reviews for this summer convinces me that I am not just being overly picky. Take a look at the photo of the room map (in a dirty frame) I've attached before you book. I think there must be some pleasant rooms with light and air and views of the lovely sound. But many of the rooms face into the interior of the building off dark and nasty corridors or into the common area with plate glass windows that don't open and require the curtains pulled shut if you want any privacy. Perhaps once upon a time it was a quaint waterfront inn - but it has been added on to in ways that eliminates any charm or character. It looks like a rundown dump to us.

It was clear something was wrong from the moment we drove into the parking lot which is just a big open lot adjacent to a bait shop. Absolutely no character or suggestion of a "quaint inn." The first room we were assigned was dark and cave like and smelled dank. The window looked out into the common area that everyone walked by so no chance of opening windows or the curtain to let in light and air. They offered us a dehumidifier! I refused to pay over $287 + tax (Labor Day weekend rate) for a cave with a dehumidifier. They moved us to another room on the top floor. This room also smelled dank. As photos show, it was also dirty and in need of repair. A fire extinguisher and hose just outside our room had broken covers. Our views were of the parking and service lot of the bait shop. The door required a shove with a shoulder to close. Just about everything was worn out or in disrepair.

The bed was ok. The toiletries were actually good, not that I was willing to shower in the filthy bathroom. The breakfast room and deck were fine and continental breakfast offering reasonable.

I would NEVER stay here again and warn others to be real clear about what you might be getting into. Cheers

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank diane_marie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for staying at the Inn. We are very sorry that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your short visit. We were happy to note that you did enjoy the continental breakfast. We are working very diligently with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to offer the very best accommodations possible. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly share it with the appropriate staff for further training. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Great pet-friendly location. Susie the inn keeper went out of her way to accommodate our multi-room booking. One guest got called back for Hurricane Harvey relief services and even that last minute cancellation was graciously accommodated. Convenient to beach and Sound, as well as Lighthouse and historic Corolla Village. Continental breakfast included hard boiled eggs and sausage. Bikes available on site and other rentals.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for staying at the Inn. We loved having your group stay with us and were happy to accommodate last minute changes. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Before arriving at the Inn at Corolla Light my wife and I had just spent several days visiting the Southern beaches of the Outer Banks. For those in the know, Corolla and Duck are catering to a much higher clientele, generally speaking. So, I was excited to take a nice shower and change out of the beach attire and into a nicer set of clothing to go see what the area had to offer. The Inn at Corolla Light is on par with just about anything you'll find in Waves, Rodanthe, Hatteras, Salvo ... and that's not a compliment! In dire need of TLC and a fresh look, rooms and infrastructure (parking lot, decking, staircase, railings, etc.) are outdated and in some cases in ill repair (specifically referencing the stair treads and stringers from first to second floor). When I awoke early the next morning two unkempt maintenance guys were sitting on the deck just outside my room smoking cigarettes and drinking their coffee. While this is not in-and-of-itself wrong or even unusual it is a bit unprofessional when those same guys are still smoking cigs in that same spot on the deck nearly two hours later. Perhaps they could grab a hammer and fix the staircase before someone gets hurt?

For the price I paid, you can find a much better deal at one of the competitor's properties.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your opinions. The maintenance worker you described in your review is no longer employed by the Inn. We apologize for any offense his actions caused you. The railings and stairs were all replaced this past winter. We have had them re-inspected and no deficiencies or issues were found.

The Inn is an older Bed and Breakfast style accommodation not designed to compete with other more modern chain accommodations. Our pricing strategies have always placed us as a better, less expensive value with our local competitors.

Each winter we work very hard to make positive changes to the Inn both outside in in the rooms. We appreciate your feedback and will use it in determining our priorities for this off-season.

We hope you will have the opportunity to visit again and see the continuous improvements we are making.

Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corolla
12.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
31.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
39.4 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
39.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hills-Mariner
Days Inn & Suites Kill Devil Hil...
#8 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
936 reviews
16.6 km away
Sanderling Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Corolla Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Corolla Light

Address: 1066 Ocean Trl, Corolla Light Resort, Corolla, NC 27927-9606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Corolla
Price Range: $169 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Corolla Light 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! Charming waterfront inn on the Currituck Sound featuring classic Outer Banks wrap-around porches, gas fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and breathtaking views, located in the renowned Corolla Light Resort. To access the amenities of the resort, a fee is added to the room cost each night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Corolla Light reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Inn Corolla
Inn At Corolla Light Outer Banks, NC

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing