We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
220
108
37
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
108
37
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews corolla light the outer banks sound view continental breakfast pool and hot tub shared deck whalehead club took advantage of the free long pier beautiful sunset wild horse tour pedestal sink currituck sound light house beautiful room off season family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 406 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I took a quick little get away to the Outer Banks and we looked for something different. We wanted some place out of the ordinary. While doing research, we found Inn at Corolla Light! How quaint and so cozy. How out of the ordinary. There is nothing here that is cookie cutter or franchise by any stretch of the imagination. JC the evening host actually telephoned me once our reserved room was ready. We were en route to the coast, however, we still had a couple hundred miles to travel before actually getting there. Once we did arrive the check in was quick and informative. JC showed us around the grounds and then took us to our room then recommended where to eat dinner. Our room had adequate space. There was a huge jet tub in the bathroom. The sink is separate from it and the toilet. We also had a gas log fireplace, which we had never stayed at a place with a fireplace in the room. The balcony off our room faces the sound which gave us great views of the water and sky. The balcony serves 4 adjacent rooms, but there are 2 nice high seating chairs assigned to each room. The Breakfast each morning was really good! There was a large variety of breakfast items: fruit, hot and cold cereal, baked goods-bagels, danishes, etc, yogurt, link sausage and hard boiled eggs. If you went away hungry, it wasn't their fault! Also, there was indoor and outdoor seating for dining. Both evenings we stayed, we went to the gazebo at the end of the sound pier to watch the sunset. Perfect ending to a perfect day. Apparently there are pet friendly rooms available. Also there is only one ice machine, but it puts out good ice! I highly recommend this place if you, too, are looking for something out of the ordinary. We will certainly stay here again when we return to Corolla.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fansofrainforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn at Corolla. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will be back to visit us again -- and soon! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

We were so excited to arrive at the Outer Banks, We were greeted by the sweetest lady at the Inn. She upgraded us because it was my birthday trip. Our room was looking out at the Sound and the pool was right out our door. The room was charming. We did sit o the corner so if the drapes were open people walking by could see us but it was really nice to see the water right out our window. Besides we were out of the room more than in it. Everyone that worked there was very friendly. The breakfast room was bright and cheery. the location was nice too. We were right by the historical area and the lighthouse. We were at the north tip of the island so the area where the horses are was right there too. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sound.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E3679WAlindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Inn. We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experience at the Inn. We were happy that you spent your birthday with us. Thank you from the staff for you kind comments about them. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again -- you don't have to wait for another birthday! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

If you're looking for cookie cutter, go to the Hampton. But if you're looking for charm, quirkiness, local flare and a personal touch, stay here. My husband and I stayed 5 nights in a sound front room. It was clean. It had a gorgeous shared deck and sunsets. Right outside our door was a beautiful sound side hike that took us to old town and the Whalehead Club. It's shady in the mornings so it's a lovely way to start the day. Breakfasts were great as long as you're not requiring omelets or scrambled eggs. Rather they had lovely fresh fruit, all kinds of breads & muffins, teas, hot chocolate, yogurt, sausage, cereals, etc. Sitting outside on the breakfast deck was relaxing. Bikes and a club membership are part of your fare and the beach is just a few blocks away. We recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sound front room. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thank you so much for staying at the Inn. We are very glad that we were "to your taste"! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. Your comments have been shared with the team and they are looking forward to your return! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Location in Corolla is great and view from the Inn is nice (overlooks the Sound). Jc was personable when we called to book, but the overall experience when we arrived was lacking. Signage is poor and the Inn has bad curb appeal. We were disappointed in the cleanliness of the place (cobwebs and dampness in room). The outdoor deck has spider webs and bugs everywhere. This is a no frills, budget Inn that is underwhelming. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and promise to continue to try to improve. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017

The Inn at Corolla Light has a fantastic view of the sound. If you stay at this property, you must request the rooms that are on the sound. Many of the rooms face the courtyard. These rooms have a window facing the courtyard and needs the curtain drawn unless you enjoy being watched by guests and staff as they walk by your room.

The staff is friendly and will easily give you information on restaurants and activities. A cold breakfast is served daily. Staying at the Inn allows you to use the REC center and the indoor pool.

My husband and I were not happy with the facilities. Housekeeping is average. There are spiders on the outside of the building and in the room. The Inn does say the outside is sprayed to discourage the spiders. They may need to spray more often or have a staff member wipe spider webs away from door frames daily. The rooms do need to be refreshed.

Room Tip: Sound front rooms provide more light and a great view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Thank you for staying with us at the Inn. We appreciate your feedback and have passed on your comments - good and not so good, to the appropriate staff members. We hope you will change your mind and decide to stay with us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews