We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
218
105
37
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
105
37
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorolla lightthe outer bankssound viewcontinental breakfastpool and hot tubshared deckwhalehead clubtook advantage of the freelong pierbeautiful sunsetwild horse tourpedestal sinkcurrituck soundlight housebeautiful roomoff seasonfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 401 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Long review notice.....
When visiting Corolla, you are limited to two hotel choices, so we chose this one. The view is great from the waterfront rooms. Stunning even. The first thing we noticed when walking to our room was the fact that the building really needed a good pressure washing. Dead bugs Galore, and pine needles in great amounts falling out of all of the gutters. Granted, the property is surrounded by pine trees, but the gutters look like they had not been cleaned out all year. The first thing we noticed when we opened the room was the very musty smell, which probably could have been helped by some kind of air freshener plug-in. But we became used to it quickly. Overall, the room was very clean. However, there were multiple cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling with spiders in them. I actually killed three spiders myself, one which was hanging from the ceiling fan. I had read reviews about the spiders being in great amounts around the outside of the property. That definitely was the case, but we noticed that the workers were doing their best to constantly keep the spiders and the cobwebs cleaned. Still, they should not be in the rooms. The second day that we were there I did ask one of the cleaning people to clean up the cobwebs inside our room, and they did. I was pleasantly surprised to find a jacuzzi tub in our room that I did not know we were going to have. I really looked forward to using it on the first night. However, the water temperature was not high enough to fill the tub. Plus, the hot water gave out before the tub was even half full. The view from our balcony was absolutely stunning, but it is a shared balcony, so be prepared for smokers and Loud conversation. We did enjoy using the free cruiser bicycles on our second day there. They were pretty Rusty, but we still enjoyed using them. The continental breakfast is exactly what you would expect from a continental breakfast... At a a Holiday Inn, not from a $200 a night Hotel. Very disappointed with that. Staff was friendly, but check in seemed to be very rushed. We were given all of the details that we needed in about 30 seconds.
If I make the trip back to Corolla again I probably would not choose this place first. I would try the only other hotel that was available. This could be a really top-notch place, but a lot of improvements need to be made for the price that they charge.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank gjslhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Inn and for sharing your opinions. We appreciate the feedback and promise to continually do our best to improve. We hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017

This was a last minute pick on our road trip. For us it was a long drive but well worth it since we have never been to the Outer Banks. Accommodations are basic, but location in my opinion is great. They have bikes that you can use for free and we took advantage of that to ride to the beach. After the beach we enjoyed the pool that is right on Whale Head Bay. Amazing views can be had here and from the pier on the property. That evening we enjoyed an spectacular east coast summer storm (wish I had pictures of that). There is a water sports concession at the pier that includes para sailing, wave runners, kayaks and etc. We'd love to come back to the outer banks, although if we came as a family for a longer stay then we'd probably look for a place that had a bit more room and our own kitchen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay and some have a common deck overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jhicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Inn. We appreciate your feedback. By the way, we do have some Sound Front Deluxe Suites that have more space and some even have kitchenettes. We would love to have you stay with us again. Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I took a quick little get away to the Outer Banks and we looked for something different. We wanted some place out of the ordinary. While doing research, we found Inn at Corolla Light! How quaint and so cozy. How out of the ordinary. There is nothing here that is cookie cutter or franchise by any stretch of the imagination. JC the evening host actually telephoned me once our reserved room was ready. We were en route to the coast, however, we still had a couple hundred miles to travel before actually getting there. Once we did arrive the check in was quick and informative. JC showed us around the grounds and then took us to our room then recommended where to eat dinner. Our room had adequate space. There was a huge jet tub in the bathroom. The sink is separate from it and the toilet. We also had a gas log fireplace, which we had never stayed at a place with a fireplace in the room. The balcony off our room faces the sound which gave us great views of the water and sky. The balcony serves 4 adjacent rooms, but there are 2 nice high seating chairs assigned to each room. The Breakfast each morning was really good! There was a large variety of breakfast items: fruit, hot and cold cereal, baked goods-bagels, danishes, etc, yogurt, link sausage and hard boiled eggs. If you went away hungry, it wasn't their fault! Also, there was indoor and outdoor seating for dining. Both evenings we stayed, we went to the gazebo at the end of the sound pier to watch the sunset. Perfect ending to a perfect day. Apparently there are pet friendly rooms available. Also there is only one ice machine, but it puts out good ice! I highly recommend this place if you, too, are looking for something out of the ordinary. We will certainly stay here again when we return to Corolla.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fansofrainforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn at Corolla. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will be back to visit us again -- and soon! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

We were so excited to arrive at the Outer Banks, We were greeted by the sweetest lady at the Inn. She upgraded us because it was my birthday trip. Our room was looking out at the Sound and the pool was right out our door. The room was charming. We did sit o the corner so if the drapes were open people walking by could see us but it was really nice to see the water right out our window. Besides we were out of the room more than in it. Everyone that worked there was very friendly. The breakfast room was bright and cheery. the location was nice too. We were right by the historical area and the lighthouse. We were at the north tip of the island so the area where the horses are was right there too. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sound.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E3679WAlindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thank you for staying at the Inn. We appreciate that you took the time to share your recent experience at the Inn. We were happy that you spent your birthday with us. Thank you from the staff for you kind comments about them. We sincerely hope that you are able to visit us again -- you don't have to wait for another birthday! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017

If you're looking for cookie cutter, go to the Hampton. But if you're looking for charm, quirkiness, local flare and a personal touch, stay here. My husband and I stayed 5 nights in a sound front room. It was clean. It had a gorgeous shared deck and sunsets. Right outside our door was a beautiful sound side hike that took us to old town and the Whalehead Club. It's shady in the mornings so it's a lovely way to start the day. Breakfasts were great as long as you're not requiring omelets or scrambled eggs. Rather they had lovely fresh fruit, all kinds of breads & muffins, teas, hot chocolate, yogurt, sausage, cereals, etc. Sitting outside on the breakfast deck was relaxing. Bikes and a club membership are part of your fare and the beach is just a few blocks away. We recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sound front room. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L, General Manager at Inn at Corolla Light, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thank you so much for staying at the Inn. We are very glad that we were "to your taste"! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. Your comments have been shared with the team and they are looking forward to your return! Warm regards, Susan (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews