We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
276
23
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
276
23
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast campusturn down servicesun roomgranolatrinity suiteport wineduke universitysmall glass of portmade to order breakfastlemon curdmodern amenitiesbed and breakfastwhole foodssitting roomfamily eventfirst floorwater pressure in the shower
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 306 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

What a great place. A very friendly welcome set the scene and our room was wonderfully decorated and so comfortable. The addition of an iPad in the room was a great touch - it really helped us with planning our time and our dirving routes. Have to give special mention to the home-cooked breakfast. It was our first proper experience of Southern cooking, and boy, was it good!

Room Tip: The Trinity Suite has a separate sun room. Highly recommended if it's available!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w1zb4ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I've stayed at The King's Daughter's Inn several times over the past few years and just booked a night this month. Located on a quiet corner of Duke's East Campus, walking distance to Amtrak station and many great dining options. The KD is a former residence for the widow's of Durham's elite and was grandly restored by Deanne and Colin, the owners. Every guest room is appointed with the most amazing furnishings and fabrics, all new but not cookie cutter....wonderful amenities, top tech Mac tv's, and of course a delicious breakfast in the elegant sea foam green dining room. It's a perfect place for a small wedding party or event.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the place. I prefer to stay in the older part of the Inn and there is a charming room on the 2nd floor that has a private sun porch that is my favorite but you could sleep in the laundry room and still have a better nite's sleep than at a chain!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We recently hosted a small wedding at this wonderful venue. The hosts went out of their way to make sure all the details of our weekend long event went off without a problem. They can only seat fifty for the ceremony and reception, but that worked perfectly for us. There are three event spaces: parlour for ceremony, dining room for reception, conference hall for dancing but also a large sunroom for between event relaxing and huge hall spaces for cocktail hour. The set-up is wonderful for allowing guests to mingle. Everyone liked the fact that some could be dancing with a bar set up close by, while others could sit and enjoy coffee, tea and dessert and good conversation. Because you have to rent the entire Inn for a wedding (at a most reasonable price), many of the guests stayed overnight in the seventeen rooms and suites. A tour of all the rooms was an event in itself, admiring all the period details and unique touches. The rooms are all different sizes and prices, so carefully check out the details. Do you want a suite, pull-out couch, bathtub or shower, large areas for hosting between event bars, extra space for a dressing room, etc? Just remember it is an Inn, not a hotel, and do not expect microwaves and fridges in the room, coffee makers, vending machines or ice makers in the hall. Instead what you get is requests met and a sunroom that makes you feel like you are in the tropics while you sip raspberry tea and eat scones. We brought a cooler and ice, but there is a small fridge for juices and ice downstairs. The breakfasts are perfect, and they were willing to accomodate our gluten-free family. I chose the fresh fruit salad with yogurt and home-made granola. Yum!
Other things you can expect are fluffy towels, bathrobes to lounge in, unique bathrooms, the best comfy mattresses and large pillows, quiet areas, cleanliness beyond fault.

The host couple are young but have done a marvellous job of restoring a landmark. Deanna is everywhere during the day, cooking and helping her staff see to your needs. Colin is more behind the scene, a quiet worker who supports his more outgoing partner, and whose reticence should not be mistaken for disinterest. Together Deanna and Colin are a team in which each has found a role that makes this beauty of an Inn work.

Room Tip: Every room is different. There are no rooms to avoid, just ones with different colours and amenities.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlutenfreeOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A lovely setting across from the Duke campus. Intimate, nice spacious rooms, tastefully decorated. Wonderful service and great breakfast. I will recommend this establishment to all my friends and colleagues. Well worth the $.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrRWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the King’s Daughter Inn last week during our visit to North Carolina. It was our second visit, and it will certainly not be our last. We have travelled to many places in the United States, and this is by far our favorite place to visit. Our son is a student at Duke, and we will most definitely stay here the next time we are in the Raleigh-Durham area. The rooms look they are right out of a designer magazine, each uniquely and tastefully decorated. All the rooms have modern amenities including an iPad in each room. Once we entered the King’s Daughter Inn, we felt a sense of peace and calmness – maybe it’s the beautiful sitting rooms with all the sunlight and the warm and gracious staff. I am still dreaming about that made-to-order breakfast that featured chocolate chip pancakes! As we have returned home to Texas, we are already planning our return trip to the King Daughter’s Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews