We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!!”

Tobacco Road Sports Cafe
Ranked #39 of 856 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Tobacco Road is not a sports bar. Brothers Brian, Alex and Rommie Amra share a passion for both sports and good food. Unfortunately, they found that their favorite places to watch the game were never the same as their favorite places to eat, and decided to remedy this for the people of the Triangle. As a result, the Amras are unwavering in their insistence that as much emphasis be placed on the menu as what’s on the 40+ HDTVs that surround guests in the Tobacco Road bar. For a quieter and more formal dining experience, guests can enjoy their meal in the main dining room or reserve Tobacco Road's private dining room for special events. Tobacco Road strives to provide its guests with: 1. Fresh, delicious food. 2. Exceptional service. 3. All that the sports fan could ask for.
Reviewed February 28, 2016

My husband and I read several of the reviews and decided to give Tobacco Road a try. It far exceeded our expectations!! We got the crab cakes appetizer- they were some of the best I've ever had. I got cornmeal crusted catfish with garlic mashed potatoes and cole slaw. The cole slaw was very good. The garlic mashed potatoes were seasoned perfectly and it was a very generous portion- I couldn't eat all of them! The catfish was just one piece but it was a very large and thick piece. It was fabulous- and I'm a catfish snob! My husband had the Arrogant burger and modified several things about the burger. The waiter told us right off that they can customize any dish to suit our needs. And so they did! We will definitely go back! Also, the menu was so diverse that we certainly had a tough time picking our selections.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 366 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2016

So disappointing from the get go. We had used "call ahead" service they offer to get our names on the list 30 minutes prior to our arrival. When we got to the restaurant there were quite a few parties who had walked in waiting, but we were told we were third on the list. They also said they were out of pagers and to check back in a few minutes.
After 25 minutes of trying to find a seat at the bar we saw all the other parties who were there after us get seated. We saw multiple empty tables and asked how much longer the wait would be. Again told "a few minutes". We finally found a seat at the bar and after sitting there for 8 minutes the bar tender finally acknowledged us. He said he thought we were the couple who had been sitting there all along. When we told him we were not and that we were rather bothered to have not even been greeted, he muttered under his breath, "it is what it is". When we politely called him on his rude and disrespectful comment he got angry at us. When my wife asked for his name he refused to give it and walked away. Then suddenly there was a manager and another bartender rushing over to finally want to take care of us and apologize for the other bartenders behavior. At that point we had been in the restaurant for 40 minutes and we were done. Absolute horrible service and lack of direction in seating and timely customer service.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2016

Came here after a show at DPAC and their was a wait for a table. It was a quick wait, barely got through half a beer at the bar and the table was ready. The food was outstanding (I got the shrimp and grits) and the service was great. Would absolutely love to come back during a Durham Bulls games as the patio overlooks the stadium.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sioux4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2016

The restaurant is centrally located between the Durham Athletic park and the Durham Performing Art Center (DPAC) . They gave great tasting food at an affordable price. Excellent for pre game meal when going to watch the Durham Bull or catch a play at the DPAC.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2016

This restaurant and bar overlooks the Durham Bulls Athletic Park. There is great outdoor seating and ample indoor space as well. They have a nice happy hour menu and feature daily drink specials. It's a good choice for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tobacco Road Sports Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tobacco Road Sports Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing