We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic HIE, but get a rental car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“classic HIE, but get a rental car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

This is one of the newer HIE's, which I try to use when I can find them. The rooms are nice, fairly large, and have all the extras that I find so annoying when a hotel doesn't have - like there's always a full length mirror, a hairdryer, iron/ironing board, refrigerator, free wireless, nice bedding and towels. They have the standard HIE breakfast, and there's a basic workout room (no elliptical, but does have a bike and treadmill.) It was very convenient for work, but no restaurants close by - you need a rental car. A few miles over at Briar Creek, there are several good spots to eat and a target for picking up some bottled water and extras. I was quite satisfied with this hotel because I know exactly what I'm going to get with a HIE. Its a good price, middle of the road quality - nothing special, but everything I need for business.

  • Liked — standard HIE
  • Disliked — distance from restaurants
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kkbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    29
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
11
7
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

This hotel was nice. It was simple, clean, close to my work location, and even had a shuttle to take you where you needed to go. All Holiday Inn Express hotels that I have visited have the best cinnamon rolls ever (although these kinda pushed it because they were over-cooked both days I ate breakfast there). They also have eggs and either bacon or sausage (and of course juice and coffee) to complete the meal.

The hotel staff was very helpful while I was there. Check-in was a breeze, the Tue/Wed Manager's Reception (free beer/wine appetizers) is awesome as well.

Problem (1) : Called the hotel shuttle from the airport by using one of those big boards, requested the shuttle, and 30 mins later no shuttle. So I called the hotel on my cell phone and they said they never heard anything about a shuttle request. 20 mins later shuttle comes, guy is apologetic.

Problem (2): There is nothing around this hotel in walking distance and no access to any store or food at the hotel other than vending machines which worked about 75% of the time. Also, most of the restaurants in the area (if you do have a car) close around 7pm so you had better not have a late working night if you want dinner and don't want to drive a decent distance.

Ping Pong chinese restaurant delivers and is GOOD!!!

  • Liked — Tue/Wed Manager's Reception
  • Disliked — Location for dining purposes and no little store on-site to grab things.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jagdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

This is an excellent hotel for business travel in the moderate category. Spotless rooms,spacious with comfy bed, friendly staff and good no-frills breakfast. Also has free internet access.

Good location for RTP and Southpoint Mall is only a 5 min drive.

  • Liked — spacious, clean
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kezzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2007

This was my 3rd week working in RTP and I was limited on the hotels I could stay at and still receive a corporate rate for the company I am consulting for. FINALLY I found a place that will be tolerable for the remainder of my engagement. This hotel is clean, modern, and affordable. The bed is very comfortable - complete with pillows both soft and firm (and labelled as such) and the room was rather large. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was decent. Of the moderate level places I've stayed in RTP this was by far the best.

  • Liked — big, clean, comfy room
  • Disliked — getting in and out of parking lot
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AJHubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2006

I stayed at the HIE RTP while on business in research park. This hotel was convenient to most of the triangle. The rooms were nice size, clean, and nicely decorated. There are not many restaurants in walking distance, but many within a 5-10 minute drive. This was one of the nicer Holiday Inn Express hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippin_it_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2004

I have stayed several times at the Clarion Hotel on Miami Blvd, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. This hotel is a true gem! The hotel is inexpensive and provides incredible service, far beyond that which I find at many four and five star properties around the world.
The experience begins at the airport, with a friendly shuttle bus driver. It continues with check-in: the staff goes out of their way to make you feel like you are "coming home." The hotel provides a Manager's Reception every weeknight, providing two drinks on the house. Again, the staff is friendly, talkative and accomodating. The shuttle service will take you to companies in the RTP area, and even pick you up after the meeting to return you to the airport.
This week a colleague and I were stuck at RDU airport due to weather at our destination. After repeated delays with the airline we finally decided to reschedule for a morning flight. It was after 8pm, and my colleague called the hotel: the manager held the last two rooms for us until we could get there despite a flood of calls for rooms coming from other travelers who were stuck as we were.
Despite the late hour, the staff accommodated our requests, got us some dinner, and sent us to bed. Weary travelers, we sincerely appreciated this "above and beyond" kind of service.

  • Stayed July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mdwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.1 km away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Durham Airport/RTP
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
1.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
1.1 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh Durham / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park
Address: 4912 S Miami Blvd, Durham, NC 27703-8434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located at Research Triangle Park, minutes from RDU, the Raleigh Durham International Airport. As a service to our guests, we offer free Park, Stay and Go. We jump start your day with our Express Start breakfast bar. Businesses near the hotel include IBM, Adaptec, Nortel, Cree, Cisco Systems, MCI, Verizon, BASF, EPA, Quintiles, GSK, Bayer, The Solution Center, Harris, Cardinal Health, Burts Bees, Eastman Kodak, Syngenta, Underwriters Labs and Qualix. We offer free wireless and wired HSI access and shuttle service to and from Raleigh Durham Airport. Shuttle hours are from 4 AM to midnight. Invigorate yourself in our well equipped fitness center. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites RTP has what it takes to make your trip successful. During your stay with us, you can check out some of our attractions, such as the Museum of Science, Duke Chapel, Amercian Tobacco Campus, Durham Performing Art Center, Streets of Southpoint Mall, Prime Outlets Mall at Morrisville, NCCU, Duke University and UNC at Chapel Hill, or even attend a Durham Bulls baseball game. Come and enjoy our Southern hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at RTP. *Credit card used for on-line purchase must be presented at check in for possible incidentals and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Research Triangle Park
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Durham
Durham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing