We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Teddy T. "Bell Captain"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Millennium Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Durham
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Catawba, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Teddy T. "Bell Captain"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

One of the most friendly Bell Captains ever to grace a hotel property! Outgoing, energetic, happy and knows his job! Overall stay at this property Very Good! The restaurant is very good with a varied menu, the lounge bartender very friendly and professional. The rooms, very clean and beds sleep most comfortable. Draw back is phone service for mobile phones. No signal. Looking forward to next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinaCatawba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM S, Director of Sales at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
carolinaCatawba, you most definitely have met one of the best in the hospitality business. Teddy is always positive and eager to help our guests. He truly enjoys his job. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay. For whatever reason, cell towers are few in all of Durham. We have applied for the funds from our corporate office to purchase a booster to improve service. I look forward to telling you that the request has been approved soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    155
    131
    118
    94
See reviews for
202
79
80
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Teddy was extremely accommodating in my stay in Durham. He not only provided me and my friends with shuttle service in a timely fashion; but he went above and beyond and allowed us to set up specific times for airport service. He was always asking us if we were satisfied and if we needed anything else.

His enigmatic and high-spirited personality also left a great impression on the weekend, and the hotel services.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bari c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM S, Director of Sales at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Bari c, isn’t Teddy just the best? He is always outgoing and positive. He loves to help our guests.
We appreciate your rating our hotel in 6 individual categories with 3s and 4s. Hopefully, we’ll be able to be your hosts on future trips to Durham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

For some reason you will have NO SERVICE on your cell phone. Being a traveling business person it's imperative that my phone works. The restaurant served excellent food and the rooms were not bad.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruthHasBeenTold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM S, Director of Sales at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thesoupnazi88…just have to ask…you aren’t really Yev Kassem or even Larry Thomas, are you? “Seinfeld” fans will want to know! We are pleased to know that you liked our restaurant’s food. Hopefully, you tried one of chef Michael’s original soups! They are great!! As for cell phone service, for whatever reason, Durham has few cell phone towers (which is odd since we have one of the top universities in the nation here). We have requested funds from our corporate office to add a booster. Hopefully, that request will be approved and I look forward to telling you about that soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

the last time i was in durham for a conference (2008), i went the cheap route: stayed at the university inn, which was perfectly fine, nothing more or less than advertised or expected -- a sufficiently clean room, a good bed, and, importantly, walking distance to my conference at the center of the duke campus. this time, for the same conference, i decided to stay at the conference hotel in order to feel less isolated from the other participants. this was the millenium durham. the conference rate was good, given that it's a millenium, and i've stayed at the millenium new york united nations many times and found it acceptable (always a bit worn, cheap toiletries, but ok design and fabulous views of the chrysler building and empire state building).

stay away from this place! they charge $35 for a shuttle van ride from the airport, and they run shuttles to duke and elsewhere in durham (mine were free, part of the conference rate); on the side of the shuttle it advertises the hotel as being 'just blocks from duke' -- well, ok, everything on any continent is just blocks from anything else on that continent, i guess. were these city blocks, it would be 35 or 40. you can walk it, but on a warm north carolina spring day, you'll arrive at your destination sweaty and annoyed, unless you have all the time in the world, just to stroll. that said, the shuttles were more or less dependable (although on the very busiest day at the busiest time, they had only one shuttle running), though one got only gruff responses from the front desk when one called for it. indeed, the lack of politeness from front desk staff was remarkable. three times before my stay i had occasion to call and, when finished with one question and about to ask another, the staff member simply hung up, without saying goodbye. they are like this at the hotel, too: they're basically nice, i think, just very poorly educated and certainly not educated in etiquette or the finer points of customer service (or, i should say, even the basic points; forget the finer points, just get the basics down).

the rooms: i upgraded to a 'club room'; it is still unclear to me what was supposed to be special about this room. yes, it was large and had a couple of decent easy chairs. the typical hotel 'period' furniture was worn. there was a 'wet bar' with a dripping faucet, and who needs one anyway -- not exactly a space you'd want to throw a party in. one wasn't quite afraid to put one's bare feet on the carpet, but i did give it a thought, which i shouldn't have to do -- carpeting is far too dark, so you can't tell how clean or dirty it is. the bed had one of those disgusting polyester-covered foam bed spreads on it and large pillows in shams of dubious cleanliness; i folded up the spread and put it and the pillows on an easy chair; one day it was all left there, thankfully; the next, it was back on the bed. the bed itself was a bit worn and bouncy, but also too hard: in other words, not only an older, but simply a low-quality bed. i woke up with sore hips, a new experience for me and one i'd care not to repeat. the room has its own a/c/heat unit, but even at the low setting is extremely loud. i ran the a/c while i was out and turned it off while i was in the room; it was a little stuffy by morning, but at least i hadn't had to hear the noise all night. one positive: while one could hear a little through the locked connecting door to the next room, one otherwise heard almost nothing from other rooms or the hall.

the bathroom: very small. in order to use the shower and have the bathmat on the one space on the floor where there is room for it, you have to close the bathroom door before putting down the mat (i prefer to shower with the door open, because otherwise, with the weak and noisy fan, the mirror gets almost completely fogged up). water pressure was ok. it was embarrassing, but i couldn't figure out how to use the shower the first time and had to call guest services (who told me this is the most frequently asked question they get!). i had, i thought, tried everything that made any sense, short of using such brute force that i was afraid i'd break something. well, it turns out you have to pull the knob away from the wall with just such brute force, and then you have to pull up the knob on the faucet, to get the water up to the shower head, so hard to make it stick that the whole faucet moves. the nickel finish on the sink fixtures is worn off in many places, so that one sees the brass beneath (which means that at one time they actually spent the money to put in brass fixtures, but far too long ago). the toiletries are millenium: unidentifiable, drugstore generic brand quality shampoo and conditioner, decent soap. no body lotion. i had to call to get some. they said right away at 8 p.m.; it came and was hung on my outside door handle around 10:30 or 11, can't remember, when i was falling asleep.

the exterior is ugly, the lobby very wanna-be-elegant '80s, followed by a dismal bar and dining/breakfast room (with no tablecloths) and then VERY long hallways in a huge square -- about 350 rooms on only 4 floors, so you get the idea, namely terrible hotel design -- with only one elevator at the main access point, the first corner of the square one reaches. perhaps there are elevators at other corners, but i wasn't interested enough to explore. decent enough hall carpeting, but with big stains here and there.

business room (4th floor 'special' business center for club room guests): two dark-age pc's, one with a mouse that didn't work properly (i told them this, but nothing was done; my guess is they've gotten many complaints and it hasn't worked in a long time). to get a sense of age: the finish on the mouses (i don't like 'mice' for computers...) was worn down so that they were completely high-gloss black. the computers are ridiculously slow, have huge problems with opening all sorts of webpages. on the whole, i could do what i absolutely needed to do -- access my email remotely and check in for my return flight -- but that was about it.

that leaves the question: where should one stay in durham, a hotel wasteland? i would suggest the university inn: it's not better than the millenium, but it's cheaper, and it doesn't have the pretensions of being anything special; it advertises its proximity to duke and the duke hospital, which is accurate.

of course, one could stay at the washington duke, and i considered it, but it looks very much like one of those assembly-line fancy american hotels (though certainly not on the level of, say, the hotel grand america in salt lake city) -- probably high quality materials everywhere, probably good to very good service, but no real character (look at the pictures on their website). it's just too much money for something with no character, perhaps especially when one is accustomed to interesting and sometimes luxurious european hotels, which understand true luxury. plus the washington duke is a golf hotel, and the only people (i hope) who want to be surrounded by golfers are other golfers (perhaps the most insufferably uninteresting demographic out there).

back to the millenium: while there are very few alternatives if you need to be close (-ish) to duke, i'd still recommend avoiding this hotel if at all possible. better to stay, i would guess, at something with some character further away, even if there really isn't much choice -- maybe the carolina inn in chapel hill? or simply go close and cheap with the university inn and spend your money on taxis to good restaurants.

Room Tip: i doubt there is any such thing. though some may be worse than the one i had on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waehlerisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LM S, Director of Sales at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Waehlerisch, you have taken quite a bit of time to write a denigrating review of all of Durham, Duke University (“a low-level historicist epigonism” - !), golfers, and a 4-diamond hotel that you never set foot in. You do like the UNC owned hotel, University Inn, so we guess it is safe to say you are solidly in the Tarheel camp since you obviously found nothing to like about the home of the Blue Devils. Based on your comments about Duke and the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club, we count our hotel in good company. We wish you safe travels and some joy in life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Your stay at Millenium will be better if you go in with the expectation that you are being stored and transported rather than to be served like you might expect at a hotel. If you are visiting Duke or are a guest of the university, thank them for putting a roof over your head. But Millenium is in the business of shuttling people to Duke not creating a great guest experience. Stay at Millennium for the convenience and the shuttle but, remember, you're on your own. The shuttle is A1, everything else, just a place to store yourself. If you have a choice, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel was pretty nice about a decade ago. Could use some renovation. The front desk clerk allowed us to check in a little early. I wish the clerk had told us we could drive to the room as I was with my 80 yr old parents and it was quite a walk for them. Once i arrived there I could see the parking lot circled the entire hotel. Weird, maze like layout of the rooms. We were in 165 and my parents were in 150 but you could not reach our room by going down the same hallway. The bed slept well and there is a single serve coffee pot in the room. Deposit supposedly of. $25 per room per day yet I get home to find they were holding $75 and had debited an extra 40.59 they had not disclosed. After calling for 3 days and getting transferred into voicemail for accounting who never called back or responded to my fax I filed a dispute with my credit union. I spoke with one person when I called for the last time and she told me to call Priceline, though they didn't charge me again, millennium hotel did.

Room Tip: Try to stay near the pool, it looked pretty nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracebayclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I got this hotel for dirt on priceline, so I was a little worried about the quality. Although a lot of the reviews are correct - the place is outdated, worn, dirty carpet, etc., for the money, it was just fine. My 14 year old son and I stayed one night while visiting the Raleigh-Durham area and it met our needs. It doesn't have a fridge or m-wave, which would have been very helpful, but overall it wasn't that big a deal. It DID have an in-room coffee maker and coffee, and that was a big plus. We didn't use the pool or hot tub or exercise equipment so I can't comment on those. The shower temperature fluctuated a LOT, and a couple of times it got so hot I would have been burned if I hadn't jumped out of the spray. That's a problem they need to work on. The beds were fine if a little firm, the pillows were a bit tired and they only give you 2 per bed, but you can request more. The staff was very nice (I checked in and checked out with the same woman and she was super friendly and quick). We didn't eat there so can't comment on that. It was easy to find, free parking, quiet at night, but there was no free wi-fi and that was a bummer, and no free breakfast like so many other places offer now. For the price of the room though, it was still a deal.

Room Tip: They put us in one of the rooms at the end of the corridor, and it was REALLY quiet. A big bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thefitzs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.5 km away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
1.5 km away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#41 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
3.9 km away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
1.7 km away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Durham

Property: Millennium Durham
Address: 2800 Campus Walk Ave, Durham, NC 27705-4479
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing