We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had Brain Surgery last week.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Jared in Guest Services has been absolutely wonderful. So has James Brooks and the rest of the Staff here. They have gone out of their way to help my Children and myself. Like when we used up our towels, we just mentioned it and we had clean ones within minutes. I have not wanted Maid Service so that I can rest more after the Surgery. I will definitely be recommending this place to everyone I know. They have a wonderful Breakfast Bar in the mornings and 3 nights a week they serve a wonderful light Dinner.

Room Tip: Just let them know what you need when you book your room. Like if you need a Handicapped Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Linda M,

Thank you so much for giving special recognition to our Guest Services standout Jared and our General Manager James Brooks in your thoughtful review! With our close proximity to Duke, UNC and the VA hospitals, not all of our guests are here by choice, but out of medical necessity. So we do strive to be an extension of the care you need during treatments or while supporting a loved one as caregiver. We hope for your continued full recovery, and thank you again for not only staying with us, but also for sharing your family's experience with others.

Gratefully yours,
Leanne Tripp, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 219 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
287
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Very near UNC, which we went to go visit. Rooms are clean and big. We had a kitchenette which is convenient if you are staying for longer than we did. It's near downtown Chapel Hill. They also offer a decent breakfast buffet and during the week a light dinner. They had a couple of draft beers on tap for you to help yourself too, never seen this before. We are going back for a basketball game at UNC and will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Not only do we want to thank you for your recent stay with us, but also share our appreciation for posting such a helpful review. Our Staybridge Suites hotel is definitely in a coveted location, just 3 blocks off the famed "Tobacco Road" connecting UNC and Duke universities. If you're fortunate enough to secure tickets to see reigning NCAA Champion UNC Tar Heels Men's Basketball in action at home this fall, we'll be delighted to welcome you back as our guest!

Gratefully yours,
Leanne Tripp, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Not many places you go and get this kind of view in the City. Best place to stay in Durham NC. Friendly staff, convenient to many restaurants within walking distance. Home Depot right across the street, grocery stores, Menchies Frozen yogurt, can't ask for much more.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Jeff W,

This gracious review of your recent stay is so appreciated. It's great to hear that you not only enjoyed our hotel, but also took full advantage of our close proximity to so many dining and shopping options. We do hope you'll stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Durham!

Gratefully yours,
Leanne Tripp, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

I got a good price ($174, incl tax) for a large bedroom, plus kitchenette and a TV hangout area. Lots of outlets for electronic devices too.
I was alone on a business trip in a space suitable for a family -- which is when I noticed it was right before graduation weekend for Duke and UNC, which they were advertising in the lobby.
This is a nicely priced budget hotel with no surprises, for business or tourist travelers.
There's a free breakfast bar and something called dinner, all included.
But the food isn't a reason to stay here. The large bedroom alone is worth it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank dropmealine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear dropmealine,

Thank you so much for your kind review following your recent stay. Yes, UNC and Duke graduation weekend is our busiest of the year, and all of our larger one and two bedroom suites were booked solid, so we're delighted to learn you had the opportunity to experience one of our apartment-sized suites before things got crazy around here! Along with breakfast, we do serve a light meal on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday evenings that not every culture calls "dinner," but suffice it to say we always include a salad bar and light entree as well as complimentary beverages. Some call it supper, and around here we refer to it as our Manager's Social. Should your travels bring you back to the area, we hope you'll have the opportunity to experience more of our Staybridge Suites-style hospitality, and thank you again for sharing your opinions with our team and your fellow travelers.

Gratefully yours,
Leanne Tripp, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for both short and extended stays in the Triangle area. It is in a great location, near l-40 and Highway 15-501, close to both Durham and Chapel Hill and only 20 minutes from Raleigh. It is also within walking distance of several stores and restaurants.

Suites are clean, spacious and fully furnished, with beautiful decor, comfortable furniture and a well-equipped kitchen. The complimentary hot breakfast includes a wide array of delicious choices and the breakfast area is large. Three days a week there is a complimentary evening "Social" with food and drinks.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Dogs are allowed (max of two per suite) but there is a $75 pet fee which is not clearly stated on the web site. Laundry facilities are free and laundry supplies can be purchased from the"Pantry".

The hotel is not a smoke-free facility but all 1st floor suites are non-smoking, and there are non-smoking rooms on the other three floors, though some are next to smoking rooms.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank AndieCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear AndieCMC,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about our Staybridge Suites following your recent stay. While we do cater to International travelers by offering a limited number of smoking suites on our top floor, we work overtime to keep this "plus" for them from becoming a minus for our non-smoking guests. As an incredibly pet-friendly hotel, we similarly charge a $75 fee per stay (not per day) pet fee, which covers the cost of deep cleaning the suite upon departure so others who may be sensitive to animals will not be inconvenienced. It's often a balancing act to please every guest in all 99 suites, so we are delighted to hear that while walking that tightrope, we found ways to make you feel comfortable and at home with your four-legged family. We gauge our success based on guest opinions, so we can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your feedback.

Gratefully yours,
Leanne Tripp, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

The attached pic says it all. This hotel is run with a lack of attention to detail. This sign was in the men's restroom in the lobby. A $5 frame could have made it neat AND straight.

There were dirty Kleenex behind the nightstand in our room. The splash guards were knocked away from the downspouts. Eggs in the breakfast buffet were rubbery. Worn carpet. Cosmetic blemishes. I could on.

On the positive side, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a good, central location.

Hotels that get 5 stars "sweep the corners." I have no idea why this hotel has so many 5 star reviews. As others have said, I've stayed in much nicer Staybridge Suites. Our group had 4 hotel rooms and all agreed this one needed some work.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank LivingLifeBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear LivingLifeBarefoot,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit. We are so sorry that your stay did not live up to expectations, which is quite atypical of what our guests have come to expect from us. Trust that we appreciate your constructive criticism and will use it in our ongoing efforts to enhance our guest experience. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to wow you on a future trip, and thank you again for providing a unique perspective on ways to polish our presentation.

Sincerely,
James Brooks, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

HANDS DOWN best hotel! I travel for work for months at a time and stay at numerous hotels and this one is by far the most accommodating! First, The staff is extremely courteous
Second, they have brand new washer and dryers AND they are Free!
Third, they serve free dinner 3 nights a week and tonight is chicken kabobs and the staff is out here at the pool grilling the kabobs on the bbq grills !!!
No other hotel does this .....for free !
The rooms are perfectly set up and stocked with the essentials .
I couldn't be more pleased!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank wleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaybridgeDurham, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Dear wleigh,

After reading your review to our staff, we're not sure how to compose a response worthy of your phenomenal review! But for inquiring minds, Chef Fernando grills-out, by the pool, for every Wednesday night Manager's Social. There's also a salad bar and plenty of vegetables and gluten-free options as well. Since most of our travelers are like you, on the road for long periods of time, we've discovered that little things, like breakfasts and dinners included, every room being a true "suite," and offering a complimentary laundry, can make a big difference when we're trying to have every guest feel at home. So thank you so much for sharing your experience and letting us know we nailed your great stay! We'd love to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to the Durham/Chapel Hill area.

Gratefully yours,
Leanne Tripp, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durham-Chapel Hill / I-40
0.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
6.2 km away
Hyatt Place Durham / Southpoint
9.6 km away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP

Address: 3704 Mount Moriah Rd, Durham, NC 27707-9029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#9 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $135 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the Staybridge Suites Chapel Hill-Durham , a new, all-suite extended-stay hotel. We re located a few miles from Duke Medical Center, UNC Chapel Hill, Dupont, IBM, Motorola, Nortel, and GlaxoSmithKline. Guarantee the success of your next event in our smartly decorated meeting rooms, with professional planners to assist you. Take care of business in our 24-hour business center with copying and faxing services. Our spacious fitness facility and swimming pool will allow you to relax during your stay and work off the stress after a busy day of meetings. Each of our delightfully appointed suites will have you feeling like you are vacation, even if you re not. Each has a fully equipped kitchen with all the tools you ll need to whip up your favorite meals. Enjoy thoughtful amenities such as cable TV, free high-speed Internet access, and voicemail-enabled phones. Staybridge Suites is moments from all the unique, interesting attractions of the Chapel Hill/Durham area. We are convenient to the Morehead Planetarium, Studio 91, Ackland Art Museum, Triangle Theatre Festival, Wallace Wade Stadium, and the Carolina Brewery. Get comfortable it s Staybridge Suites Chapel Hill Durham! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-Rtp Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing