We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
276
127
48
24
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
276
127
48
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscounting housebank vaultart galleryunique hotelnespresso machinegreat artpurple lightsblack tilecool hoteloffice buildingrooms are smallchicken and wafflesthe check in deskbath productsroom servicevalet staffhotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 500 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2016

Came to this hotel on a whim when booking a one night stay while in town for work. This hotel is super cool and trendy! It is in the heart of Durham so there was many restaurants in walking distance which is always a plus. The museum that makes this hotel pop makes this hotel so fun! When you walk in you can tell it has a cool vibe from the elevators to the lobby desk there is pieces of art everywhere. The room was amazing. I have never been in a comfier bed, I wish I knew what the sheets and bedding were because it was that comfortable! You can tell the hotel makes sure the rooms are up to date with the latest technology. The bathroom was big for a hotel bathroom with a great rain shower head. We had an amazing view of the city! If you like hotels with a different vibe then the traditional ones then this is a no brainer. I wish I was able to stay in town longer because this hotel was phenomenal!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

Dear Crystal C,
Thank you for writing to share your recent experience at 21c Durham and that you consider us to be phenomenal hotel! It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the museum, the rooms, the amenities, and our central location in downtown Durham. We hope to see you back with us in Durham or at another 21c property, perhaps Louisville, Cincinnati, Bentonville or Lexington and have the opportunity to provide a excellent experience for you.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2016 via mobile

I called to book a massage and that's when I found out that they basically have their massage therapists on call. However, they were very fast in securing a time and calling with a confirmation; I booked a time within an hour of my call. If you get a massage ask for Judy, she gave a great Swedish! Overall, I highly recommend, but definitely call ahead to avoid a debacle.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Kole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2016

Dear Kole M,
We are delighted that you had an opportunity to experience one of our spa treatments here at 21c Durham. Judy is one of our very dedicated “on call” massage therapists who often receives great feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and appreciate your comments. The team here at 21c is always open to accommodating last minute appointments, so we’re thrilled everything worked in your favor. We look forward to your return here at 21c Durham.
All the Best!

Gerry


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2016

This hotel is truly one of a kind, not your traditional hotel. The room was absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. The staff was amazing and always willing to go that extra mile. Our room did not come with a refrigerator, I called to inquire about it and the front desk agent, Patrice made sure that a refrigerator was in the room upon our arrival. In fact, Patrice took very good care of us the entire weekend by making sure we had everything we needed. The parking garage is a block away and it is free on the weekends, the hotel has no parking garage of its own, Its $15 per night for the valet service. ( I was not very pleased with the parking options). However the friendliness and professionalism of the staff made me forget about the parking situation. And the Lion King Play was also amazing

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Tarshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2016

Dear Tarshell,
It is so wonderful to know that you enjoyed your recent experience at 21c. Thank you for taking time to write and share. We are thrilled to know that the Team came through for you by providing you with their genuine southern hospitality, and that our convenient location to DPAC worked well for your visit.There is an amazing season ahead at DPAC and we look forward to providing awesome experiences for you on your return to Durham, DPAC, and to 21c.
Once again, thank you.
All the Best!

Gerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

We came to Durham for a friend's birthday party. We hardly wanted to leave the hotel because of the fun art, relaxing atmosphere, bar and restaurant. It's a renovated bank building (be sure to check out the huge, emptied out vault in the basement. Rooms are comfy and nicely decorated.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ktuerff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

Dear ktuerff,
Thank you so much for your visit and review. So happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! We enjoyed your time here as well.To know that you appreciated the character of the building and the renovation along with the amenities, the art, and Counting House truly makes our day! We appreciate you taking time to write and share your experience. We look forward to your return to Durham and to 21c!

All the Best!
Gerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2016

I took my boyfriend for an overnight trip in Durham in February...we're from nearby Raleigh and had only a short time to travel. We've been several times to Durham, but have never really stayed overnight to just enjoy the downtown fully. While this hotel is probably the most expensive in the downtown area, if you want to treat yourself to a great stay, complete with the entertainment and beauty that come from this art museum/hotel...this is the one! The doormen were so friendly, telling us about the building itself upon arrival (one of the architects of the Empire State Building!?) and suggesting places to ride our bikes that we'd brought for the daytime.

Having already once before stopped for amazing cocktails at the Counting House bar, we actually didn't eat in their restaurant this time (opted to walk the downtown having a progressive dinner at some of the surrounding restaurants), but enjoying all the wall art and sculptures in their bar and restaurant still filled up some well spent time. The bar was open til 2am, so that's where we ended up with friends local to Durham.

Staying in the hotel affords you some time to explore any time, day or night. I literally went to every floor to see the art when the elevators open, got some great photos from the stairwells, which is artistic in and of itself. Our favorite part was exploring the basement "bank vault" late night. After a few drinks, it's a surreal experience. Visited in the next day to enjoy the steam room and sauna.

Art exhibits change often, so we will for sure return. We loved the welcoming feel of the place...even though there are galleries and you're in a "museum", it also felt like a relaxed hotel to explore and enjoy.

Take my advice if you want to spring for a "staycation" especially...staying at this hotel will make your friends jealous and allow you to stay and see Durham in a way you probably haven't already experienced.

Room Tip: high floors for the best view
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura4136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry L, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2016

Dear laura4136,
Thank you for making our day brighter! We are thrilled that you were here for your local getaway and that you enjoyed the property, from the amenities, the art, the location and most importantly, the Team and their welcoming spirit. We look forward to more unique and memorable stays, on your next visit to the Durham area and especially to 21c. Should your travels take you to Cincinnati, Louisville, Bentonville or to Lexington we would love to see you there as well.
All the Best!

Gerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews