We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$73
PricelineUS$73
Hotels.comUS$73
Agoda.comUS$73
TravelocityUS$73
eDreamsUS$73
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
10
21
31
20
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
21
31
20
33
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 115 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2019

We were forced to stay here after being stranded late at night on the highway due to car problems. First let me make clear that the night staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful, as was the person who was there in the morning. I have no complaints about either one of them. However, the overall feeling of the property was extremely unwelcoming and unpleasant. It seemed like this atmosphere came from the owner, not from the employees. This is not a place you want to stay if you want to feel like you are a welcome guest or a valued customer; the feeling you get is more that you better make sure you follow the rules and don't cause any trouble. i suspect that is not what most people are looking for in a hotel. As the night staff was reviewing the terms of our stay when we checked in, he stated that if we had one complaint about noise we would be kicked out. I did not feel like this was coming from him or had anything to do with me specifically, but rather that it was something he was required to say. I have stayed in many hotels with my children and have never had anyone say this to me before. Keep in mind that this was after midnight, and we had just arrived with our 3 exhausted children via sheriff cars after having to leave our disabled vehicle on the side of the highway after a frightening experience. If we had been kicked out, there would have literally been nowhere for us to go. We did not make noise or have any complaints, but the unpleasant threat hanging over us was unnerving. There were also signs everywhere making sure everyone knew that NO VISITORS were allowed. Again the overall feeling was that you better follow the rules. We were told the a/c would take awhile to work properly and that was correct - it never really cooled the room off. Our room was non-smoking but smelled strongly of smoke. It felt old and dated and unclean. I have stayed in many budget hotels and I realize that I have to have reasonable expectations but this did not meet my personal expectations for an $89 stay. The next morning while my husband was working on getting our car fixed we were hoping our children could swim in the pool. However, the pool does not open until 11AM, which, it so happens, is also check-out time. We were told that it was the owner's policy that if we had checked out, we could not swim in the pool. So if you arrive late at night hoping to be able to swim in the morning, think again. Again we were stranded in a strange town, far away from anyone we knew, and were made to feel very unwelcome. Overall a very disappointing experience.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CarolineF1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Dear Caroline,
We appreciate your candid, well thought out review of your experience with us. First and foremost, we apologize for the car troubles you encountered while on the road. Our goal was to take the hassle out of this unfortunate situation, and while we're happy our night staff was friendly, we are disheartened that the rest of your experience was not what you were expecting. It was not our intention to be threatening or frightening with our noise policy, but it is our goal to make sure that all of our guests rest comfortably. We will make sure we take a deeper look at our approach as we can understand how this would have an adverse effect on guest comfort. We also apologize for the unpleasant air quality in your room and wish you would have brought it to our attention. It is clear that we have room to improve, and we thank you for making it known. Happy and safe travels ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2019

First thing was our refrigerator was not working. Second our AC was not working. When we brought to attention of staff a lady, that we were told was the owner, came up and checked AC and said it was fine just give it some time. Never worked. Asked to be moved and she said nothing was available. Her explanation was “This is an old hotel.” We had to buy a fan to put in window for air circulation. We would have left but we were in Edenton for Cycle NC event and there was no availability anywhere. This was definitely a rip off and they are misrepresenting themselves as a working and fully operational hotel. When we asked for a late checkout on Sunday they said sure if you want to pay for another night. Also sheets would not stay on bed and were patched in several places. Do not stay here!!!

Room tip: Fix AC and get a working refrigerator.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Lenise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLResponse, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Firstly, we hope that you had an enjoyable time at the cycling event and we're grateful that it gave us the opportunity to host you. However, we sincerely apologize for the ways in which we fell short of meeting your expectations. Our maintenance team has been informed of the concerns that you noted so that we can find a solution quickly. Should your adventures bring you back to the area again, please consider giving us another chance to show you the comfortable and peaceful stay we know we can offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2018

I accidentally made the reservation for the wrong night and was unable to even cancel without paying. We are still coming to the hotel and will be giving them business so it’s not like we just cancelled for no reason

Room tip: I accidentally made the reservation for the wrong day and have yet to hear about a refund
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank abenne806021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abviedenton, Hotel Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the stay and giving us a feedback.
We understand your concerns about some areas. I deeply apologize for all the inconveniences. We are working to improve the problems areas detected in your stay to the best of our efforts.
Despite your disappointment, we hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

The TV in the room does not work. The breakfast is just silly
Place could use a good cleaning the plants in the breakfast area look like they died years ago
The outside pool looks clean. Thinking it might be best to spend a extra dollars to stay across the street at the Hampton

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank mumturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abviedenton, Hotel Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2020


Hello Esteemed Guest,

We are extremely disappointed to see your comments.
This is an unusual incidence and our apologies.
We will investigate this with the concerned department.
Actions will be taken for the closure of the grievance as well as prevention from repetition.
Request your understanding and support.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2018

We had to cancel our reservation due to car trouble. To add salt to injury, your hotel is trying to charge us for the cancellation. Your advertisements stated FREE CANCELATION FEE. We had no choice but to cancel our reservation. The guy on the phone said $50.00 We checked with the bank and they are trying to charge us over $100.00 wth? How can you go from $0. to $100.00 for a cancelation fee. WILL NOT BE MAKING ANOTHER RESERVATION WITH THIS COMPANY EVER!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abviedenton, Hotel Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2020

Dear Jennifer,

Thanks for staying at the Americas Best Value Inn- Edenton.
Our apologies for the lack of professionalism with our staff.
We understand the importance of staff hospitality and its impacts.
We will deal with the concerned staff and manage them to become guest friendly.
Nevertheless, we request you to not consider this as a benchmark of our hotel and give us another opportunity to offer you an awesome stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews