We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, Just Wow! What a Wonderful Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Acorn Inn of Elon
Ranked #1 of 1 Elon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed here while touring Elon. Unbelievably nice accommodations. There was a glass of wine to greet us, as well as snacks! Our corner suite was huge with seating areas, king beds, a modern bathroom. Campus is right across the street, and the Elon restaurants and shops are steps away.

Breakfast was lovely, with a great variety of frittata, yogurts, cereals, fruit, juices, breads, coffee and teas. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests both inside and in their outdoor seating areas.

The price is very reasonable, the place is cozy, and I cannot think of one negative. Just delightful! Absolutely delightful!

Room Tip: There are 12 rooms. Not sure if there is an elevator for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MySheWasYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week for this year's parents weekend. My daughter was sick and spent several nights with me while we nursed her back to health. I can't say enough about how accommodating the entire staff were. They were always very attentive and went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of.

We have stayed here a couple of times and have had the large LT suite and a regular suite. The LT suite is a 2 bedroom suite with two king size beds. The beds are extremely comfortable and the room is very well appointed. There is also a seating area. The regular size suite is larger than most other hotels' suites. There is a very nice living room with TV and pull out sofa. The king size bed is very comfortable as is the large bathroom. The rooms have a fridge and microwave oven as well.

The Inn has an excellent breakfast with the highlight being freshly made waffles. They also have a great happy hour with wine, cheese, and crackers. My favorite though are the early evening cookies that are set-out near your room. These are freshly baked every evening. Throughout the day, they have fresh fruits available for the guests.

Please note, this Inn only has 12 rooms. So book early if you are coming for an event at the university.

This is a great place and I will always stay here while visiting Elon.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank agg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Great place to stay for a visit to Elon college student. This is within walking distance of campus. The staff are friendly ; the mattress is extremely comfortable. There is a very nice patio with several chairs and tables that are great for eating the included breakfast out-side or relaxing.Everything is clean and working. All of the staff are friendly and helpful. the breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: I have stayed upstairs and down; both were nice. Book early for college events.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbshelton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had returned to Elon with our daughter who is a senior. She was to do an overnite at Elon with one of her friends. Unfortunately she has torn her ACL 2 days before our visit. She needed to stay with us. The manager changed us to a 2 bedroom suite (the LT Suite). It was spacious, comfortable and gorgeous. What a comfortable INN. Every attention to detail was taken care of. Breakfast was delicious. Thank you!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank SueKYgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Sorry for the bad pun but this is a great little bed and breakfast. The rooms are actually suites with a separate bedroom. Very nicely furnished with a super comfortable bed. There is a small lobby area where you check-in and where they serve breakfast but the best part is the large front patio where you can sit in the morning with your coffee or in the evening with a relaxing beverage and watch the comings and goings of Elon. It is the most convenient place to stay if you are visiting Elon. It's a short walk to downtown Elon which has a couple of fun casual restaurants or to campus. The people at the Acorn are very friendly especially Mary S who served breakfast and a very pleasant breakfast conversation. The place is small so make your reservations early. Popular event weekends at Elon fill up well in advance.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Drove quite a distance to move our daughter into her apartment at Elon, only to find out that the compressor on the air conditioner was out at her apartment and couldn't be fixed over the weekend. It was August and HOT, so the move-in was rough. When I spoke to them about having my daughter stay with us in the room at Acorn Inn, since it was too hot to stay in her apartment, they kindly offered to let her stay there with us at no additional charge until the AC was fixed. They were unbelievably kind and helpful throughout the weekend, and our room was a respite from the heat. They went out of their way to make our stay pleasant, and every staff member we met was friendly, kind, and willing to help. The breakfast was not fancy, but quite good (especially the frittatas). Sitting on the porch in the morning for breakfast was lovely. It was also quite pleasant in the evenings after a hot day of moving. I enjoyed chatting with the other Elon parents. The room size was more than sufficient for our needs and everything was clean and in good working order. I was more than pleased with the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Another_Elon_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

This place is absolutely incredible! I have stayed there twice with my dad, both times we were visiting Elon University. First of all, the pull out couch is actually comfortable, and the room is gorgeous and spacious. The cookies and popcorn in the hallway are delicious, and don't get me started on the mints provided. They are so amazing, I ate them all. The bikes were an excellent resource for touring the campus, and everyone there is so friendly! Would definitely go again!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank galindarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elon
3.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Burlington (Elon)
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
3.9 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Courtyard Burlington
Courtyard Burlington
#4 of 15 in Burlington
264 reviews
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Burlington
Best Western Plus Burlington
#5 of 15 in Burlington
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acorn Inn of Elon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acorn Inn of Elon

Address: 301 W Haggard Ave, Elon, NC 27244-7664
Region: United States > North Carolina > Elon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elon
Price Range: $195 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Acorn Inn of Elon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury inn located beside the prestigious Elon University, The Acorn Inn offers suites with a side of southern charm, all at a reasonable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Acorn Inn of Elon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Acorn Inn Of Elon Hotel Elon College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing