We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Islander Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Staff was friendly. Our room was nice with a good sized refrigerator. The views from the large balcony were good, but we could see and hear the people next to us. The hotel is close to a bike path & rents bikes, but has no bike racks to lock them up. Nice touch to have a dehumidifier in the room, but it made terrible sounds. The carpet never got vacuumed in the 4 days we were there. We had been told there were no events planned for our stay, but there was a wedding and we were right over the reception. Thankfully, they stopped the music around 10 pm, but then there were people running down the halls in the middle of the night. I would stay here again, but consider a different part of the resort away from main building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the event room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorsnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenience of our great location right on the beach. Thank you for your detailed feedback about the bike racks, carpet cleaning, and noisiness/awareness of the event taking place. I will make sure that the manager reminds housekeeping to vacuum as well as remind the front desk to make people aware when a large event is taking place. We want all of our guests to feel informed and accommodated and I appreciate you letting me know how we can improve in those aspects. I still hope that you were able to relax in Emerald Isle and we hope we will see you again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Enjoyed our annual visit to the Flavor Fest this year we had the pleasure of staying in one of the Oceanfront Rooms - Marty and her staff are amazing - see you next year - April Pike April Pike Real Estate :)

Room Tip: Second Floor has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aprilsattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're so happy that you had a great time spending your Saturday at Islander for Flavor Fest and got to enjoy the ocean right from your room. We hope to see you again soon! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

The rooms are clean and the staff helpful. There are chairs on the beach for you to use. There are some rooms that have a great view of the beach. We enjoyed our time there. It is a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean with private balcony. There are 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're very pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us for your beach vacation. Our fantastic staff and convenient location are the perfect combination. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Emerald Isle! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Booked this hotel for 3 nights as a small last getaway beach trip/birthday trip for the BF! This is hotel was awesome! The room we got was in good condition and in a good location ! When I saw that this had access to the beach I definitely had to book it, although out room didn't have a beach view.. that wasn't a problem because we weren't in our room for most of the trip anyways ! The first night we stayed which was a Saturday, we couldn't find parking, but once Sunday, Monday and Tuesday came, there was maybe but 3 cars which was perfect ! No noises or anything during our whole trip!!

The staff was friendly and very informative about everything. Love that the hotel was in a good location; near the restaurants, shopping and other public beach access. Although the hotel had complimentary bikes to use from morning till dawn which was a plus as well!

The only down fall about the trip was that it rained, and it was windy 2 out of the 2 days we stayed, and the water in the hotel smelled like chlorine water.

I am definitely booking this hotel again same time next year ! Thank you for the pleasant stay !!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank xnunnteya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're so happy that you enjoyed our location and great facility and felt well taken care of by our staff. We love hearing that we could give you and your significant other a fantastic last taste of summer. We look forward to seeing you again next year, hopefully it won't be as windy! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Great destination wedding venue. Right on the beach with a pool. Chairs available for guest use. We were in the old rooms & they were still beautiful. Front desk was great. They let us check in when we arrived at 930 am since the room was ready. Air conditioning worked great. Would've given it a 5 but maid service was late. When we extended our stay one more day they never even showed up. Maybe there was a mixup since we were supposed to check out.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your time with us so much that you extended your stay. The Islander is a great place to host weddings and events and we're glad that you were happily satisfied with our fantastic, oceanfront venue! I apologize for the confusion with housekeeping and hope it was not too much of an inconvenience to you during your extra day with us. I will let the manager know so that the front desk and housekeeping better communicate, especially when there is a change of plans. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will join us again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend the Islander. They've really upgraded in recent years. The pool area and rooms are great. The beach area gets crowded if you don't get there early. The kitchenette is so convenient! A great stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Oliver1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're so happy to hear that you've been able to watch us grow over the years as we improve. We're glad you like all our updated or new additions and appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you again! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We don't leave until tomorrow but I couldn't wait another day to leave a review. We are here on our honeymoon and this resort has not been worth the money at all. I have stayed here for years but the recent shift in management has led to a nice renovation, and a decrease in everything else. When we arrived, there was no one at the desk for 10 minutes, and when the woman came back, we were treated as if it was an inconvenience for us to be there. We got to our room and our patio had trash and half empty beer cans on it, and because of a wedding reception happening, we had drunk people wandering outside of our room until 2am yelling (despite quiet hours at the hotel) and someone vomiting outside our patio. In addition, the phones do not work, our fridge was broken,and we were not given a package we were promised months ago. When we told the staff this, nothing was done about anything except the package, which we were told we could have after a $60 fee.

Midway through the week, we had staff decide to power wash the patio beside ours, and in the process spray our belongings on our patio. Later on, we had a staff member on a ladder hammering for part of the afternoon in front of our patio as well. This area of the hotel costs more than other rooms, we paid extra to make our honeymoon special and we could hardly use it. Our ceiling has spots on it and is cracking, and our couch has stains all over it.

Finally, the housekeeping staff broke my curling iron and tried to make it seem like nothing happened. We got home from a nice evening out to find things moved around and the perfectly fine curling iron we left was now on its side and the top broken off laying on the counter.

Also keep in mind if you stay when there is a wedding, the chairs and arch stay up until late afternoon the next day leaving trash blowing and blocking the view- a minor inconvenience compared to everything else.

I love Emerald Isle, and in the past I've loved the Islander, but this has been bad enough that we will not come back here. We will find a different place to stay when we visit. The only thing that didn't go wrong is that we didn't have anything stolen.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your revview. I wanted to personally apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your honeymoon. I was disappointed to read some of our mishaps during your stay. It is my understanding that our General Manager has spoken to you and offered you concessions and a personal apology. Please know that we truly care about our guests and want each of them to have a great experience, especially for a honeymoon. I hope she was able to satisfy your concerns and if not, please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally at the corporate office 910-509-1707. We will use your review as a training tool with our staff to work through the mishaps you experienced. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope you will give us a second change so we can provide you with a much better experience. Best Regards, Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emerald Isle
19.7 km away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
447 reviews
25.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
25 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Swansboro / near Camp Lejeune at Bear Creek Gate
32.1 km away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
230 reviews
29.2 km away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Hotel & Resort

Address: 102 Islander Dr, Emerald Isle, NC 28594-2428
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Emerald Isle
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Price Range: $107 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Hotel & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the adventure begin at our Emerald Isle North Carolina Hotel and Resort! The Islander Hotel & Resort provides an array of activities under the sun. Our oceanfront resort is full of energy and experiences that will create a lifetime of memories for all ages. Whether you want to soak up the beach or lounge by the pool, the Islander Hotel and Resort provides an atmosphere of relaxation and fun for all who visit. Please note that we are currently undergoing renovations to our property, creating the possibility of noises and visual disruptions due to construction. Issues with television and phone services have also been reported as a result of the construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Islander Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Inn And Suites
Islander Hotel Emerald Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing