We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Islander Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We only stayed here one night, for just a quick getaway. The rooms were nice and clean, but the one we stayed in definitely needed some updates! Our mattress was not very comfortable, it felt a little lumpy. I was not happy that there was no cooking capacity there , just a teeny microwave. All in all, our stay was pleasant and we really enjoyed the ocean view.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you had a great overall stay with us during your time at the Islander. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions on certain room amenities. I will be letting the manager know of these so we can see what can be done to update and improve our overall room quality. We hope that you enjoyed your time on Emerald Isle and wish to see you back in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We were there in October just about the turn of the season. The hotel is at the southern end of the island. The hotel is very nice with amenities like microwave and refrigerator included. There are two buildings in a Tee arrangement. The top of the T is furthest from the beach but there are many rooms with water view. It’s a bit longer to to the beach but there are fewer rooms in that building than the main building. Since it was October, we had only two couples on the top floor with us.
The staff is ever present and ever pleasant. They took their time explaining everything about the place and how it works. It really is worth the visit.
Why only 4 stars? Well they don’t serve breakfast do you can walk to a couple of places or a short 5 minute drive will get you to coffee shops and a real breakfast place. Dinner is off campus too but The Caribesea Restaurant is a short (10min) walk and it s fabulous restaurant. I’ll review that separately.
The night we got there there was a wine and beer tasting event in a tent on the beach side. This was a ticketed event so the parking lot filled up quickly. We did not attend but from what we saw it was a nice event and looked like fun.
It’s a get away so not much to do within walking distance but the island has some great tours and activities if you are willing to explore.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review! We're so pleased to hear that our friendly staff, great facility, and convenient location made for such a great beach stay for you while in Emerald Isle. I'm so happy to hear that so much of your experience with us had such a positive impact on you and we look forward to hopefully seeing you back with us again in the future. Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon. We had an oceanfront room with an amazing view! We loved the fact that we could just walk right out our slider and walk down to the beautiful ocean! One question we did ask ourselves was why no screen slider? That would be perfect for the ocean view rooms!
The staff was very helpful. Housekeeping tended to all our needs. Even supplying us with plasticware when asked if they had any!
Our room was great except for a minor smell of mildew. We believe it came from the sofa. The only other issue in the room was a rusted towel rack!
We really did enjoy The islander and will be back for our anniversary next year. We recommend it and loved all that emerald isle had to offer! Amazing beach!
We left with one mire question Islander! Why no outdoor Jacuzzi?

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Frenchlicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm beyond glad to hear that we could help accommodate you for part of your honeymoon. Congratulations! I appreciate so much of your feedback on the sofa smell, towel rack, screen doors, as well as an outdoor jacuzzi. I will discuss this all with the manager to see how we can address the issues and talk about possibly what it would take to put a hot tub in, as it is a great idea. Thank you again for your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in a year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Staff was friendly. Our room was nice with a good sized refrigerator. The views from the large balcony were good, but we could see and hear the people next to us. The hotel is close to a bike path & rents bikes, but has no bike racks to lock them up. Nice touch to have a dehumidifier in the room, but it made terrible sounds. The carpet never got vacuumed in the 4 days we were there. We had been told there were no events planned for our stay, but there was a wedding and we were right over the reception. Thankfully, they stopped the music around 10 pm, but then there were people running down the halls in the middle of the night. I would stay here again, but consider a different part of the resort away from main building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the event room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorsnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenience of our great location right on the beach. Thank you for your detailed feedback about the bike racks, carpet cleaning, and noisiness/awareness of the event taking place. I will make sure that the manager reminds housekeeping to vacuum as well as remind the front desk to make people aware when a large event is taking place. We want all of our guests to feel informed and accommodated and I appreciate you letting me know how we can improve in those aspects. I still hope that you were able to relax in Emerald Isle and we hope we will see you again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Enjoyed our annual visit to the Flavor Fest this year we had the pleasure of staying in one of the Oceanfront Rooms - Marty and her staff are amazing - see you next year - April Pike April Pike Real Estate :)

Room Tip: Second Floor has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aprilsattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're so happy that you had a great time spending your Saturday at Islander for Flavor Fest and got to enjoy the ocean right from your room. We hope to see you again soon! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

The rooms are clean and the staff helpful. There are chairs on the beach for you to use. There are some rooms that have a great view of the beach. We enjoyed our time there. It is a short walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the ocean with private balcony. There are 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're very pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us for your beach vacation. Our fantastic staff and convenient location are the perfect combination. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Emerald Isle! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Booked this hotel for 3 nights as a small last getaway beach trip/birthday trip for the BF! This is hotel was awesome! The room we got was in good condition and in a good location ! When I saw that this had access to the beach I definitely had to book it, although out room didn't have a beach view.. that wasn't a problem because we weren't in our room for most of the trip anyways ! The first night we stayed which was a Saturday, we couldn't find parking, but once Sunday, Monday and Tuesday came, there was maybe but 3 cars which was perfect ! No noises or anything during our whole trip!!

The staff was friendly and very informative about everything. Love that the hotel was in a good location; near the restaurants, shopping and other public beach access. Although the hotel had complimentary bikes to use from morning till dawn which was a plus as well!

The only down fall about the trip was that it rained, and it was windy 2 out of the 2 days we stayed, and the water in the hotel smelled like chlorine water.

I am definitely booking this hotel again same time next year ! Thank you for the pleasant stay !!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank xnunnteya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're so happy that you enjoyed our location and great facility and felt well taken care of by our staff. We love hearing that we could give you and your significant other a fantastic last taste of summer. We look forward to seeing you again next year, hopefully it won't be as windy! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emerald Isle
19.7 km away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
447 reviews
25.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
25 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Swansboro / near Camp Lejeune at Bear Creek Gate
32.1 km away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
230 reviews
27.5 km away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Hotel & Resort

Address: 102 Islander Dr, Emerald Isle, NC 28594-2428
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Emerald Isle
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Emerald Isle
Price Range: $106 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islander Hotel & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the adventure begin at our Emerald Isle North Carolina Hotel and Resort! The Islander Hotel & Resort provides an array of activities under the sun. Our oceanfront resort is full of energy and experiences that will create a lifetime of memories for all ages. Whether you want to soak up the beach or lounge by the pool, the Islander Hotel and Resort provides an atmosphere of relaxation and fun for all who visit. Please note that we are currently undergoing renovations to our property, creating the possibility of noises and visual disruptions due to construction. Issues with television and phone services have also been reported as a result of the construction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Islander Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Inn And Suites
Islander Hotel Emerald Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing