We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Georgia
1 review
“Terrible”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

My family and I stayed at the Comfort Inn for one night of our 4 night vacation! We booked non-smoking rooms, but the moment we got off the elevator on the third floor to go to our room I had to cover my nose because of the horrible smell of smoke. We booked joining rooms and one of them was a handicap room which none of us are the shower in that room was horrible and in the bathroom there was nowhere to place any of our toiletries. The beds were itchy and we ended up using are own sheets and blankets. In the other room the shower had holes in it and the water never got hot. The refrigerator was broken and made a horrible noise all night. The TV in one of the rooms did not work. The pool was not heated and the hot tub did not work. Trying to check out early we called the front desk to ask what time check out was only to have the clerk yelling into the phone that we have to dial 9 to call out and then hang up on us. After check out I checked my bank statement to find that they were charging us 202 twice when we only stayed one night. I went back in to ask the clerk about it, she was very rude and got in my face and then while I was trying to talk to her about this she just kept being rude. I will NEVER stay here again and would NOT recommend it to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNC373, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thank you for your review, Im sorry you didnt like your rooms on the 3rd floor, our 3rd floor is partially smoking and non smokling. If you had come to us and told her about your smoking preference I am sure we could have accomodated 2 rooms on a totally non smoking floor. Our pool is heated all the time. It is kept at 80 degrees per county requirements. For all tripadvisor readers please real all reviews about our hotel. The good review outweigh the bad. Also this reviewer only has 1 review. Just something to think about. Thanks GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    47
    27
    16
    16
See reviews for
80
60
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
zanesville OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We loved it at the Comfort Inn in Franklin NC we were close to walmart and places to eat also it is quiet little town not much to do but go hiking, fishing , swimming, and gem mineing but it is beautful and i would love to go back there sometime my wife and my son and I came to the comfort inn for a weekend and it was so fun not only out of the hotel but in it also my son had a blast swimming in there pool. and the beds were comfortible and the room smeled gerat as if the housekeeper was in it cleaning it it had new carpet and fee wifi also when we checked in the front desk clurck was very sweet she helped us to a nice resterant and was very nice to my son he seamed to like it there also when we came to check in the girl at the front desk was very bussy but she was very fast and she got everyone that was standing there in to there rooms very quickly . I would love to come back to Franklin NC sometime soon and i will stay at the Comfort INN for sure it was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNC373, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thanks for the positive review
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

my family and I stayed at the comfort inn it was the best that i have stayed in in a while the staff was very nice and helpful she gave us good place to eat and was very nice about it she made us a map and everything she was sweet to ower baby and she helped us with what ever we needed and you could tell hat she liked her job and that she was fomiller with the area i like that there is some one there that is not lost when you ask them were to find something . was

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brentadenbridget01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNC373, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh nc
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stopped in for a night on a detour through the mountains on the way back from Atlanta. We arrived without reservations around dinner, we're well treated by the front desk clerk, checked into our rooms, and sent out with several good dinner recommendations. While this property is a bit older than the one we stayed at in GA last week, it is still well maintained and run. It met all of my expectations for a mid-range corporate chain hotel in a tourist area. We normally stay at inns and B&B's when traveling in this area, but we needed 3 rooms and none of them could accommodate our needs this trip. I would stay here again if I needed to.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt5217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bessemer, Alabama
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My stay was 10/21/11. I was not impressed. I checked in around 6 pm with a reservation and was told to wait to see if they had the room ready. Front desk attendant not very friendly or personable. I was very dissatisfied to find that it is a pet friendly hotel because the Choice Privileges website says they don't accept pets. Nothing against folks that want to take their pets with them, but I have had a bad experience with pet friendly hotels smelling like wet dogs on the linens. Anyway, I never book pet friendly hotels. By the time I found out this was pet friendly, it was too late to find other accomodations. I was given a handicap room which I did not request. I don't know how someone handicapped could have gotten in that tub, but nevertheless it had all the hand rails, etc. That would have been okay, but the shower was only the hand held kind & not much of a shower at that. The bathroom was large but no vanity at all to put all your stuff. Only a sink. Definitely not the kind of room I was expecting & I heard they were booked when I checked in so I didn't even bother to try to change rooms. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dixiehdrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNC373, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thanks for the review
October is our busiest time of the year all hotels in the region are very pricey and are more pricey on the weekends. We are a seasonal business so our prices do reflect. When a customer books online at choice hotels and picks a handicap room that is what they reserved.
The hotel only goes by what the guest books. To me, credibility of a tripadvisor review is linked to how many reviews the poster has. More postings perhaps means a broader hotel experience than someone who has just a few experiences.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

When planning a trip to go gem mining in a small, rural town in the mountains of North Carolina you just don't know what to expect and I was most concerned about finding a good hotel - I thought it may be so far from civilization I'd be stuck in some little hunting cabin with spiders in it!

I will say I found the town, the people and this hotel all great - there's a Walmart and grocery store and several fast food places right by this hotel, and every person we met were very pleasant and friendly. This hotel was a short drive to the Mason Mountain Mine & Cowee Gift Shop that we went gem mining at every day, and it was close to the business district of Franklin and the main highways.

The staff were all very efficient and competent but could use just a little training in being more gracious...you know the whole "ladies and gentlemen serving ladies and gentlemen" attitude that hotel staff everywhere should adopt? Instead of short yes or no answers, management should train them to chat and smile just a bit more.

The hotel itself was pretty clean and modern and our smoking room I got for my husband did not "reek" at all - the smoking area had more of a smoky wood smell then any dirty ashtray smell...they obviously keep the hotel clean and the air filtering system up because I have smelled stinky hotels before and this wasn't one of them. Die hard militant non-smokers will of course hate this or any hotel with smoking rooms, but I don't smoke and found it fine.

There is almost no internet/data service in this mountain area and often no cell service, so the fact this hotel had wi-fi was great so at the end of the day we could check our emails and go online. The lobby and public areas are clean and well-lit and there was a nice seperate room for the breakfast.

I was so glad to have a decent hotel that I found our 4-day stay here very good, but here are a few things I found needing improvement besides the staff training mentioned above:
1. No bananas on the breakfast bar - really not many people eat whole apples or peaches for breakfast. It was great for my husband that they had eggs and sausage, but as a vegetarian/healthy eater I only had a couple things I could eat so I missed bananas.
2. They need to improve the in-room and breakfast bar coffee - in this day and age of Starbucks addicts most businesses are vamping up their coffee quality. The coffee at this hotel was really bland and watery so I had to stop at McDonald's every morning for good coffee.
3. The bath towels were TINY!!! Unless you're an anorexic Hollywood starlet, you will find these tiny towels don't wrap around you and they're not very soft either.

Other than that though, the overall stay was very acceptable and I would stay there again!

Room Tip: We had a king suite and it was very roomy for our 4-day stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manchulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNC373, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thanks for your review
We appreciate comments and will do our best to serve guest needs everyday
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrenceville,ga
Level Contributor
310 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I am a gold level with Choice, Holiday Inn and Hilton...I stay quite a few nights per year in hotels. This location was just perfect for the area it serves. A low keyed and restful environment. The check in was very smooth, the room was comfortable and the rate was acceptable. I do not think the taxes charged are up to the individual hotels to negotiate. They are determined by the area and would apply to any lodging establishment. Perhaps those who do not travel are unaware. The front desk manager was very cordial and we actually had a lengthy conversation with him about his area and our area of Atlanta. He was pleasant and considerate of our needs. We would certainly stay here again! To me, credibility of a tripadvisor review is linked to how many reviews the poster has. More postings perhaps means a broader hotel experience than someone who has just a few experiences.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherjanegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNC373, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
thanks you for your positive review the managers and the whole staff work very hard everyday
we appreciate your positive feedback, please come see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
3.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
1.2 km away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#7 of 12 in Franklin
36 reviews
28.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
20.4 km away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
191 reviews
24.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 313 Cunningham Rd, Franklin, NC 28734-1445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is the newest hotel in Franklin NC, all our rooms are equipped with microwaves and mini fridges, we also feature an Indoor Pool and Fitness Room, for breakfast we have many items to choose from as we feature a Full Hot Breakfast. We are located near the Appalachian Trail, Harrahs Cherokee Casino, Local Gem Mines, Blue Ridge Parkway, Highlands NC, White Water Rafting, Smokey Mountain Railroad, Biltmore Estate, Dillard House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Choice Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Franklin
Comfort Inn Franklin
Franklin Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing