We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carolina Motel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franklin
Certificate of Excellence
Clemson, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Clean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Our stay at the Carolina Motel in Franklin, NC was relaxing and especially clean. The lady at the front service desk was about as nice as you could ask for. It was quiet and reasonably priced. The stay included a continental breakfast consisting of muffins, french bread, bagels, orange juice, coffee and fruit. If you want a nice, clean, reasonably price place to stay, I recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    52
    11
    5
    8
See reviews for
67
83
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I just can't give this place more than 3 out of 5. It really is just a clean, non-chain motel - but that is fairly rare to find so this place is still recommended.

Pros:

* Cheap - we paid under $80/night in peak Fall season.
* Huge room with multiple chairs and some nice, if slightly tattered and mismatched accent pieces.
* Clean and well taken care of property.
* Bed was comfortable.

Cons:

* Location - you couldn't really walk to anything (but that's to be expected in these parts).
* Aloof staff - no one was there when I checked out.
* There was no parking when we checked-in so we had to park on the grass. No big deal, really, but a nuisance if the place is fully booked.

Overall this place is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jahausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
258 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

A trip to see the NC leaves changing and the prices also changed in the area. Hotel is 16+ miles off the interstate and I was hoping to find reduced prices, but no luck. The cancellation policy changed and now is 7 days before stay, I was used to 24 hrs at other locations. Hotel was clean, room nice and good hot water. Breakfast was good and if you wanted more there are restaurants close. Franklin is a nice town off the beaten path and friendly people. I was surprized to find no military discounts here, town has a National Guard unit. For the seasonal rate I paid, the larger hotel chains on the interstate would have only been a few dollars more. Always negotiate to get the best rate for your family.
If you are into small towns off the normal traveled roads, Franklin, NC is a good place.

Room Tip: Always check cancellation policy and get email confirmation on your trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed here for three days after finding great reviews on Tripadvisor. Staff Darlene and Debbie....fabulous and very attentive. Had a minor issue with their wireless which was fixed in under 10 minutes. Room very clean and just what we needed for a three day motorcycle trip based out of Franklin. There are more expensive places but not nearly as nice or as good a value. You can tell this is a good old fashioned, American owned family business. They also have one and two bedroom cabins that look great and I will try next time. Both were booked when I made reservations. We will definatley be back and recommend to all of our Harley friends.

Room Tip: We were in 18 but im pretty sure all the rooms are the same. Mine had microwave and small fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAHarleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel is a diamond in the rough! Although there are little amenities, the motel was clean, provided brand name products, awesome pillows and did I mention clean??? A great place for a quick night or two! Will be back if we ever are in the area and need a place to rest our head!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niceandcozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany,ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Good motel, very well maintained. The problem lies in the fact. That you are charged 10$ per child. The receptionist mentioned at check-in, because I booked on the internet there would an additional charge for my kids. Nothing on their website nor any of the on-line booking sites tells you of this charge. My kids are the ages 9 and 3. So a decent rate becomes down right high compared to surrounding properties. Just beware they charge for all people in a room, not just adults.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank koolfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goffstown, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

#1 it was immaculate their sanitation score which i saw posted in the lobby was 99.5.
#2 the staff is extremely professional personable they spent a of time with us going over things to do in the area.
#3 they have a great pool, which is right outside our room. water was crystal clear and pool is huge, even 11feet deep but the water was a little cool.
#4 new flat screen tvs and free wifi and the beds were even comfortable
#5 the breakfast was adequate the french toast was great
#6 the grounds on the hotel were kept beautiful with flowers everywhere
hope they keep up the good work
we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franklin
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn Franklin
Hampton Inn Franklin
#1 of 13 in Franklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franklin
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Franklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Knights Inn Franklin
Knights Inn Franklin
#6 of 13 in Franklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
28.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
18.3 km away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Motel

Property: Carolina Motel
Address: 2601 Georgia Rd, Hwy 441 South, Franklin, NC 28734-8879
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Franklin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Franklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Carolina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Franklin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing