We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Texas BBQ ”
Review of Double J Texas BBQ

Double J Texas BBQ
Ranked #1 of 4 Quick Bites in Havelock
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 22, 2018 via mobile

A family favorite spot. Food is excellent. Brisket is tender and juicy. They slow cook it over night for 14 hours. Pepper Jac Mac is homemade and the most popular side they sell.

Their food is consistently excellent. The prices have gone up because the cost of proteins has increased. It's over $10 now for the small brisket plate, but it comes with 2 sides and toast. If you want quality ingredients, it's worth it. If you want frozen junk deep fried that's cheap, there's plenty of that down the street. This is real beef brisket and pork, and homemade sides.

So 5 stars!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank 43JJ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

I love just walking in the door of
JJ's Texas BBQ, the smell of smoked BBQ makes you stop and close your eyes and breath deeply, again.

The food is outstanding! The sides; Potato salad, Cole slaw and Baked beans all come from one of the owner's Grandma's recipes and are
out of this world great!

Brisket, Chicken, Sausage and Ribs are available, other sides, Texas Toast, Pepsi products and beer are available. Casual dinning and drive thru make this restaurant a must try.
Prices seem a little high, as I have been eating at JJ's since they opened, but the food is worth the cost.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

After driving by this place all week I decided I would give it a try on my last day in town. I should have stopped by sooner! Fantastic pulled pork sandwich and awesome baked beans all for under $7. Order was ready quickly. I will definitely add this place to my list of favorite eateries!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

We had the all meat sampler for two. The brisket was very good. The sausage was a bit greasy. Pulled pork was good especially with the barbecue sauce they give you on the side. Chicken & Ribs were also good. Got a sample of the pepper jack mac and cheese cuz the gentleman said it wasn't spicy but it's got a kick. The baked beans were fresh and good. We were just driving by on the way to the beach and stopped. The crew is friendly and they'll give you samples of just about anything you want.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank jonicross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

This is a great way to get a good lunch when you can't leave the office. Love the pulled pork and coleslaw!! My teammates adore the mac and cheese.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Authordixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Double J Texas BBQ also viewed

Havelock, North Carolina Coast
Havelock, North Carolina Coast
 
Havelock, North Carolina Coast
Havelock, North Carolina Coast
 
Havelock, North Carolina Coast
Havelock, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Double J Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing